We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent quality sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tori No Su

Tori No Su
Ranked #49 of 2,040 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nothing excites the taste buds more than the subtleties employed in the arrangement of fresh seasonal produce to create Japanese cuisine. Like fine Japanese calligraphy, where the strokes can be bold and emphatic, and then delicate and refined, Chef Ando applies decades of mastery and skill as a kaiseki - trained chef, and takes all who visit on a culinary journey in Tori No Su. With a mood setting bar, teppan yaki counter and a dim lit lounge style set up, Tori No Su's atmospherics perfectly suit the cuisine and Japanese beverages on offer.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
462 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Excellent quality sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Tori No Su has a very special authentic vibe to it, the interior and decorations remind me of a traditional japanese sushi restaurant, just in a larger scale. The place makes you feel at home and relaxed, the only thing which kind of spoiled the settings was the staff "running" around due to the place being busy (only half full) Anyhow, that was the only minus to an otherwise very nice evening with excellent quality of sushi - it is amazing how difficult it is these days to find proper sushi with high quality ingredients and fresh fish - however Tori No So delivered this made by all Japanese chefs that were all doing a very good job. The preparing area is open for the guests to watch while the create their master pieces. One comment to mention - we had the sushi / sashimi platter for two persons which comes with all together 20 pieces of sushi/sashimi, 6 maki, 6 nigiri and 8 sashimi. This platters is far from being good value for money. you pay 240 AED for this, which in my eyes is too much. At least make it look a little more special when presenting it. The two maki rolls we ordered on the side were much better looking and cost a fraction of the price.
To summ it all up, Tori No Su is definitely a place we will visit again as we are both sushi lovers and haven't found a place in Abu Dhabi that live up to our standards before visiting TNS.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, General Manager at Tori No Su, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear JeLundgren,
Thank you for your wonderful and constructive feedback of our Tori No Su restaurant; your opinions are highly appreciated.
All of our ingredients are of the freshest kind and many with of them with Japanese origin; no expense is spared on quality and we’re glad to know that this hasn’t gone unnoticed. We have also taken on board your feedback relating to my colleagues at the restaurant and this will be addressed internally.
We very much hope to be seeing you again soon and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Jumeirah at Etihad Towers.
Best regards, Doris Greif, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    67
    21
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best sushi in Abu Dhabi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This restaurant is one of my favorites in Abu Dhabi. The atmosphere is wonderful and the food is scrumptious. The wait staff is attentive, but doesn't smother you. The hostess remembered my name (I know this because I didn't make a reservation this time and just walked in and she called me by my name). They have a varied menu and you can even sit at a teppanyaki grill. If you like Japanese food consider Tori No Su. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onehrgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, General Manager at Tori No Su, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear onehrgal,
Thank you for posting a fantastic review of Tori No Su. Your continued patronage to us is highly flattering and something we do not take for granted.
I’m elated to hear that your dining experience with us more than lived up to your previous expectations. Your comments have been shared with the team at Tori No Su who were truly thankful for your positive feedback.
We very much look forward to having you dine with us again at Jumeirah at Etihad Towers, and hopefully sustain if not improve on your previous dining experiences with us.
Best regards, Doris Greif, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Excellent quality of Japanese Authentic foods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have visited with my wife. The servise was good and food was excellent. Staff explained that they imported fresh fish, vegetables, and fruits every week!! I will introduce my friends and come back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank camaro_masato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, General Manager at Tori No Su, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear camaro_masato,
Thank you for your wonderful review and praise of Tori No Su. We’re glad to hear that the food and various aspects of the service were to liking and that you and your wife enjoyed the overall dining experience. Your words of praise have been distributed to the Tori No Su team, they were delighted to hear your comments. We’re very much looking forward to welcoming you and your friends back to Tori No Su in the near future.
Best regards, Doris Greif, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Splendid Japenese and sushi restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

One of the best Sushi experiences I have ever had.
My favorite Japenese place in town. Fresh and high quality sashimi and sushi. So tasty! Fresh and delicious. Good service. Ecellent chef
I have been there last week and I will definitely go there many other times.
Highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reemissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, General Manager at Tori No Su, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Reemissa
Thank you for another glowing review, this time of our signature Japanese restaurant, Tori No Su.
We’re delighted to hear that all aspects of your dining experience with us was to your liking. We have again shared your feedback with the Tori No Su team who were delighted to hear of your review and are very grateful for it.
We are eagerly awaiting your next visit and look forward to seeing you back at Jumeirah at Etihad Towers, where you are always welcomed and fondly remembered.
Best regards, Doris Greif, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant for our last night in Abu Dhabi for the first time. We had the special anniversary course to share and it was delightful! We loved every dish they served us. We're originally from Indonesia, when we told the waiter he immediately introduced us to his Indonesian colleague. It was very welcoming and we will definitely come here again for the next time we're in Abu Dhabi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadhira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, General Manager at Tori No Su, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Nadhira A,
Thank you for comments and review of your experience at Tori No Su restaurant. I’m happy to hear that our personalised service by Tori No Su team was a memorable experience for you.
We hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again at Jumeirah at Etihad Towers.
Best regards, Doris Greif, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tori No Su also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Tori No Su? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing