We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upset..not to have known this place earlier!”
Review of Tori No Su

Tori No Su
Ranked #51 of 2,087 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nothing excites the taste buds more than the subtleties employed in the arrangement of fresh seasonal produce to create Japanese cuisine. Like fine Japanese calligraphy, where the strokes can be bold and emphatic, and then delicate and refined, Chef Ando applies decades of mastery and skill as a kaiseki - trained chef, and takes all who visit on a culinary journey in Tori No Su. With a mood setting bar, teppan yaki counter and a dim lit lounge style set up, Tori No Su's atmospherics perfectly suit the cuisine and Japanese beverages on offer.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Upset..not to have known this place earlier!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited this restaurant for an early dinner time on Aug 14 both my wife and I. We were greeted by a warm welcoming staff and were shown to a table by the window. Each dish we ordered had an exquisite taste about it that we never experienced before. A must try for all Japanese food enthusiasts. The highlight of the evening was the amazingly refreshing Tei-En drink (photo included in TripAdvisor) which we were not so keen on trying at first but all thanks to Ms Elena who convinced us to try it and for her great hospitality. Price wise speaking the restaurant is affordable. (400-500AED for 2 people)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khalidalredha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, General Manager at Tori No Su, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Khalidalredha,
Thank you for your comments, sincerely appreciated.
Your message has been shared internally and sent to Culinary and Tori No Su team, especially to Elena and all were overjoyed. On behalf of the entire team we do hope to see you back with us sometime in the hopefully not too distant future and look forward to that day.
Best regards, Doris Greif, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    69
    23
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Dining”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Fresh Sushi and Sashimi platters and other fine dining courses. More over excellent prepared food and calm, friendly atmosphere and service thanks to Lusia.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, General Manager at Tori No Su, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Natalie B,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, it’s greatly appreciated. Your comments have been shared with the entire Tori No Su team, specifically Luisa and she was just thrilled.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Jumeirah at Etihad Towers at some point tin the not too distant future.
Best regards, Doris Greif, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Visited the restaurant for the set 3 course meal ... I was thrilled when I saw this deal and bought 2 vouchers ... And what is my take? Very ordinary !

The deco and service were great! But the details were ordinary. Food quality is just like what you would get in any sushi joint, what I am trying to say is, it does not live up to its name/reputation. I prefer the maki in Teatro or Benihana.

We had to wait a long time for our dessert; which a waitress came by to apologise. When it arrived, I was disappointed as the chocolate mousse/lava was not well cooked.

Prices on the menu is not bad at all. Very affordable.

I am not keen on using my second voucher - so anyone???

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheriza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, General Manager at Tori No Su, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I’m sorry to hear that your dining experience with us was not to your liking.

Your concern raised have been taken on board and are currently being looked into internally. Extensive consideration is also undertaken by our team to ensure that we can provide luxury experiences at great value.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jumeirah at Etihad Towers in the future and confident an updated and fresh critique and review of our services will prove more positive.

Yours sincerely,

Doris Greif
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Why no weekend lunch?”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Tried to have lunch here on the weekend, but unable to as restaurant is dinner-only over the weekend, which was disappointing and seemed to be the trend at the Jumeirah Etihad Towers, where during the day on the weekends many establishments are closed despite the fact that the hotel is full of guests. Thus, it was dinner we had at Torinosu. The food and service were of the highest standard, and we can’t deny that we enjoyed our meal. But be warned that the prices here are extremely high. Too high, really.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaiwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, General Manager at Tori No Su, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Jaiwana,

Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated.

We are not always perfect but we do strive for excellence, so the points you have raised regarding the operating hours on weekend will be closely considered and revisited to ensure we continue to meet our guest’s satisfaction. It should be toward year and completed.

I am glad to read that you largely enjoyed your dinner experience at Tori No Su. We take great pride in providing authentic gourmet experiences with a focus on quality, care and moments of flair with our cuisine, extensive fine beverage selections and personal service and delighted that much of your recent experience reflected that. While we pride ourselves on providing luxury experiences at great value, our focus remains with offering quality and this does naturally reflect somewhat on pricing. Rest assured we stand behind both the quality and value of all we offer.


Yours sincerely,

Doris Greif
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Restaurant and great service !”
Reviewed June 16, 2013


Gorgeous restaurant with fresh and delicious sushi and sashimi. Yuyu was our waitress and she was amazing and great smile ! Best service. For sure I will be back.  So if you are in Abu Dhabi and looking for a Japanese food go to Tori No Su !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jcmario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, General Manager at Tori No Su, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for such a positive comment and review of your experience at Jumeirah at Etihad Towers.

I’m extremely happy to hear that our personalised service by Yuyu was both enjoyable and memorable. To receive such words of appreciation and thanks does mean a lot to us and we appreciate the time you have taken to share these comments

On behalf of the entire team we do hope to see you back with us very soon.

Best regards,

Doris Greif
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tori No Su also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Tori No Su? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing