We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great”
Review of Nautilus - CLOSED

Nautilus
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Description: Located in the Marina wing of Yas Viceroy, Nautilus offers a breathtaking contemporary setting combined with a menu that is defined by fresh, organic ingredients and their pure, whole flavors. Influenced by the design of Nautilus and Yas Viceroy, the chef vibrantly integrates the natural yet refined setting of the restaurant into the menu which embodies the bounty of each season with subtle seasoning to enhance the inherent flavor of every ingredient, thoughtfully chosen to mirror a particular ambiance.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not Great”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Starter first choice from the menu was unavailable, so I went for the asparagus. Very nice, but far too much truffle oil was too strong against taste of the main ingredient.

Main course was the steak, which I asked to be prepared medium. The waiter (Scottish, suit too small) gave the game away by apologizing for out wait and that the food was being plated. Another further delay of perhaps ten minutes for the food to arrive. The steak was indeed medium, but had clearly been sat under the hot lamp while other food was being prepared suck that it was dry and tough on the outside. French fries were cremated and could not be eaten.

Cheese course was very good. Surprisingly, the waiter could identify the cheeses when we asked him.

Total meal for two including wine came to AED 1,100, which is more than double the amount we would normally pay. Admittedly, I rarely have steak (as described, preparation is a lottery) and that pushed up the cost of the meal. However, this was not a good meal and I wont be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dubaidickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroyFBManager, Manager at Nautilus, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Dubaidickie,

thank you for taking the time to review Nautilus.
I would appreciate if you could email dining@viceroyhotelsandresorts.com to discuss your experience in further detail and help us resolve the issues you face upon your visit.
We value our guests feedback and would like to discuss this with Nautilus and yourself in more detail.
Our waiters are very knowledgable of all our dishes and wines and I will pass on your positive feedback.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards
Food & Beverage Marketing, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best Oysters in town”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I really loved this restaurant. the design of the place is very modern, and they have an amazing terrace over looking the Yas Marina and the Race Circuit.

This seafood restaurant serves a variety of oysters, all delicious. I've come here many times and every time the food was great. And the service is amazing.

Caution though that the restaurant is very expensive, but worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ASRomar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroyFBManager, Manager at Nautilus, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Omar A,
Thank you very much for the great review of Nautilus, It it lovely to hear your comments and we are glad you enjoy your experience everytime you visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Food & Beverage Marketing Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Visited Nautilus this weekend and even though it was a bit quiet . . . the service, staff and food were impeccable.

Wine list is moderately priced with good selections of both white and red . . . the food menu is broken down in to bar bites (oysters - YUMM) starters, mains and sides.

We were seated outside and the view was peaceful and the restaurant is right next to the Yas Marina.

My partner and I tried the Oysters to start with which were fresh and served at the perfect temperature. I went for the scallops with truffle oil and for my main we both went for the Miso black cod. Both dishes were cooked to perfection.

Our waiter (sorry cant remember his name) was extremely helpful and knowledgable of the menu. For those non seafood eaters - they do have a steak option.

Enjoy

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank devourk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroyFBManager, Manager at Nautilus, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear devourk,
Thank you for taking the time to review Nautilus, it is great to hear you and your husband has such an enjoyable dining experience. I will pass your kind feedback on to the staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Kind Regards
Food & Beverage Marketing Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have been staying on Yas for about a week - Nautilus has provided our best dining experience to date.
Set in what seems to be a white submarine, the restaurant, which overlooks the water, has a futuristic feel. The food was of a good quality and beautifully presented. We started with a delicious amuse bouche. It has to be said that the portions are not large - this is nouvelle cuisine - but this suited us as we are not big eaters. The service provided was friendly, attentive and snappy.

This is not a cheap option but this is not unusual in this part of the world. Nonetheless, I have no hesitation in recommending the Nautillus - the food, service and ambiance are worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDL2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasViceroyFBManager, Manager at Nautilus, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear CDL2264
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review Nautilus, it is lovely to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us and we hope that we see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Food & Beverage Marketing Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nautilus also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing