We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some issues for management to fix”
Review of Hilton Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Ranked #39 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Some issues for management to fix”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here to split up our journey home from Australia. Arrived at 8am and were delighted to be given an upgrade, allowing us to get a room immediately. This was typical of the general level of service which was excellent.
The hotel is one of the oldest in Abu dhabi and the rooms were a little dated though they were clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.
The pool area was accessed via an underpass - this was not an issue and this area was very good.
I ate at a couple of the restaurants which were ok, nothing brilliant but pricey for the standard. And this is where my issues begin:-
A 750ml bottle of water was over 30 dirhams when adding service charge and tourist tax.
Service charge - a personal pet hate no matter where I am in the world. As previously stated service could not be faulted, therefore, I don't mind it being added but why do they then ask for a tip on top.
On my first night I went to Hemingways, a bar in the hotel which shows live football. The bar was busy, mostly with Brits working in AD. The majority were friendly but one acted as if he owned the place, deciding what match should be shown on his 'personal' tv. I happened to be watching the game on said tv and objected to the changing of channel. Both the barman and myself were subjected to a foul mouthed tirade of abuse - ' who the f.. Was I and he spends f...... Money here every day. This language was repeated on several occasions - something which may be expected down the 'local' but not in a five star hotel. Why does management allow such an ignoramus in their property, I'm pretty sure he wasn't a resident.
Generally this hotel is best suited to the business traveller but I would look for an alternative if on holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExiledSc0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAbuDhabiDO, Director of Operations at Hilton Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for posting your review about your stay at Hilton Abu Dhabi. I am happy to read about your positive service encounter during the arrival and the overall pleasant dining experience.

I am sorry to read about the inconveniences you experienced during your visit in the Hemingways Bar. First of all such kind of behavior should not be tolerated in any of our establishments and action from our team should be more assertive in such situations.

I have discussed this matter with the concerned head of the department and we are in the process of training our team members on how to deal with such delicate situations in the future.

Once again, my apologies for the negative impression and if you have further feedback please do not hesitate to contact me through my details below.

We hope to welcome you again during your future visits and we will do our best to make them as enjoyable as you would have expected.



Sincerely

Christian Hoehn
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,528
    936
    261
    84
    52
See reviews for
723
935
207
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Easy enjoyable experience from start to finish. Hilton is predictable and reliable. What sets this one apart is the staff and it's history. We are members of the loyalty programme but not the upper tier. This didn't stop us being very well treated, upgraded and very well looked after. There is plenty of construction work going nearby but don't let that put you off. The executive lounge is an absolute treasure, good drinks and snacks all day long, and outstanding staff, including Nina, & Herman. The room was a good standard and very well maintained. That said it looks a little dated, and had a cracked toilet, which just left you thinking.. Hmmm.. Unhygienic, Maintenance should have picked that up. That said, we didn't complain - it wasn't that big a deal as in every other respect the room was spotless and well looked after by housekeeping.

So the place has umpteen restaurants some of which are a little so so, but worthy of a mention are the Royal orchid and vascos. Above all you must get to the jazz bar in the hotel on a Friday or Saturday night to see the excellent house band cover everything from stevie wonder to Jay Cee.!

The pools are across the road but really, it's a 2 min walk... Easy. Get to the swim up bar and seek out Chandra who is one of the worlds nice people.


The beach club is also home to a small water sports provider. This let me down. I love jet skiing and really looked forward to that as part of my holiday. When we tried to book we were told that they had stopped providing the facility due to accidents. I applaud such a prqgamatic decision if appropriate however this change isn't mentioned anywhere in the hotel guide and the signs are still up in the watersports centre offering jet sking! Moreover what I guess are local private providers pitch Up every day and noisily race around the shallow water before beaching their craft on the private beach. I steer well clear of this kind of outfit, but really, if it's a private beach should they be allowed to 'tout" for business in this way? Hmmmmmm.. Needs sorting.

Check out was clunky.... Dme problems with historic card numbers. Im sure I'll need to check the bank statement... Needs a little tidy up...

So... Back to the good stuff.

This hotel excels in delivering a recognised brand and standard of care to its guests by being sympathetic to local traditions and customs, and by carefully choosing it's staff. As with any organisation there are some who do their job, and their are some that do more than their job. This Hilton has more than its fair share of the latter. We are strongly considering returning to both the UAE and the Abu Dhabi Hilton next year.


Oh yes.... Abu Dhabi the place...friendly, welcoming, not overbearing. We tried very hard to "blend in" and that effort was well rewarded with engaging people and friendly smiles. Don't forget the weekend starts on Thursday night so expect any pool, beach or public place o seriously fill up on Friday and Saturday. Temps right now are around 37 Celsius with moderate humidity. A week or two later might be preferential if you feel the effects of high humidity or burn easily... Just my opinion!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hackett29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAbuDhabiDO, Director of Operations at Hilton Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for being one of our loyal guests at the Hilton Abu Dhabi and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your appreciative comments about our team members Nina and Herman. Regarding the cracked toilet I have discussed this issue with the concerned head of department, and we already resolved this issue.

I am sorry about your negative encounter on our jet skis. The unfortunate situations in the past made us rethink this offer and we decided to quit from the jet skis hire.

We hope to welcome you again during your future visits to Hilton Abu Dhabi.

Yours sincerely

Christian Hoehn
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Nice hotel with a great location near the Emirates Palace and the Marina mall.

Hemingways is one of their restaurants with a very fun pub quiz on Sunday night at 8pm (done by 10pm). The service here is excellent particularly during the quiz night.

One time I had a burger not done to my liking so I sent it back to get it re-cooked. Instead I got a completely fresh burger (pleasant surprise) and a free pint of beer. This might be common in other countries but usually you dont get service like this in Abu Dhabi. I was really impressed and will be back.

Cheers to the management.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrstling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAbuDhabiDO, Director of Operations at Hilton Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and for complimenting our Hemmingway’ restaurant. Our location is indeed convenient to points of interest such as Emirates Palace hotel and Marina mall. We are delighted to welcome returning guests back to our hotel!

Glad to have contributed to make your stay enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back during your future visits to the capital!


Yours sincerely

Christian Hoehn
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed 4 days in April during a quiet period at the hotel.

Prior to our stay, I got in touch to organize some excursions. Concierge team was very helpful and willing to accommodate our wishes. We got exactly what we wanted, even though it was out of the usual tours.
They also confirmed our upgrade to executive floor before our arrival and arranged transfer from the airport at a very decent rate.


Room was clean and featuring an average size, with a nice view on the Corniche. Good and silent A/C, nice amenities.

Executive lounge was rather small but nice, especially the staff, which was friendly and very useful with all requests.
We could eat decently at breakfast and during the happy hour in both quantity and quality (including alcohol).

Beach club is quite nice, just take the tunnel under the road and here you are.

We ate at one of the restaurant and had in-room dinner, tasty and correct value in both cases.

We're really looking forward to coming back there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fereke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAbuDhabiDO, Director of Operations at Hilton Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you very much for being our guest at the Hilton Abu Dhabi and for posting your reviews on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for you appreciative comments about our team members and their services.

I am glad to know that you will return and look forward to welcoming you back as our guest sometime soon!

Yours sincerely

Christian Hoehn
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globalflyereal
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I selected this propoerty as I am loyal to Hilton. The property looks a bit faded on the outside and the rooms could take a bit of a refurbishment however the service was excellent and I really have no complaints. I was upgraded to the Executive level which has its own check in facility on the top (10th) floor. The staff were quite accomodating and very friendly. The Executive Lounge offers a nice Breakfast and a light lunch in the afternoon as well as a cocktail hour (wellI think it was more like three hours in length but I did not attend). Still a wonderful experience. The hotel is located on the infamous Corniche Road so this busy road is between the hotel and its beach location. The Hiltonia beach Club and Spa are located via a quick underground walkway. Also there is the Vasco's restaurant which was excellent. The Healthy Steamed over Sole hit the spot. I ordered room service twice and had the Pasta Carbonara and the Vegetarian Pizza. Both were VERY high quality and not your normal "hotel room service food"! Excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globalflyereal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAbuDhabiDO, Director of Operations at Hilton Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for being one of our loyal guests and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
I am very pleased to read that you find our services and facilities excellent, not to mention our very central location! Thank you as well for your kind comments about our team members. I am happy you enjoyed your meal at the Vasco’s restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest
Yours sincerely
Christian Hoehn
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The executive lounge staff are to be commended at this hotel. They are always helpful and knowledgable. We stayed for a week after a hectic month of travelling. The poolside gets busier at the weekends but at other times it is nice and quiet. They have the best sunbeds I have ever lay on. The poolbar staff work hard to get the food and drinks out; the Escape restaurant serves a lovely lunch. We had a lovely meal at Bocca and returned on our last night as we enjoyed it so much. the staff were nice and friedly and it was very relaxing, the piano player added to the mood. It is well placed to access the Cornich shopping mall, the Emirates palace for afternoon tea and also Yas Island and Ferrari world are only a taxi ride away. There are not many restaurants around the hotel but the promenade walk is nice to do on cooler evenings. It was a real tonic for us to have this oasis of calm in an otherwise hectic life.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor so the traffic noise is less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAbuDhabiDO, Director of Operations at Hilton Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for posting this brief review on Trip Advisor and for complimenting our restaurants and facilities

We look forward to welcoming you back should you visit Abu Dhabi again.

Yours sincerely

Christian Hoehn
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel, We were there at the end of Ramadan (religious festival) so it was very busy. Excellent hotel located on The Corniche. Friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was included and great value, large choice. We had and early flight so staff arrange a breakfast delivered to our room at 5.30 (breakfast is usually 6am). Very hot when we were there (42deg) so we didn't do much but go to a shopping centre which was very close to the hotel.

Hotel has a private beach and pool located across the road accessible via a tunnel under the road

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAbuDhabiDO, Director of Operations at Hilton Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for being our guest at the Hilton Abu Dhabi and for posting your reviews on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you again.


Yours sincerely

Christian Hoehn
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#21 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Abu Dhabi

Property: Hilton Abu Dhabi
Address: Corniche Rd | PO Box 877, Abu Dhabi 877, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#19 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#27 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#36 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the vibrant Corniche, Abu Dhabi's prime beach location, the stylish Hilton Abu Dhabi hotel places you at the heart of the capital. Hiltonia, our beach club, fitness center and spa offers a spectacular beach, featuring 11,000 square meters of pristine white sand, three swimming pools, water slides, a relaxing spa, an indoor and outdoor whirlpool, a sauna, steam room, modern fitness center and a variety of water activities ranging from paddle boarding to power boat trips. The relaxing guest rooms at Hilton Abu Dhabi feature air conditioning, satellite TV, a seating area, work desk, mini-bar and tea- and coffee-making facilities. Select a Guest Room Sea View for spectacular views of the Arabian Gulf. Stay in an Executive Room for access to the Executive Lounge, which provides an exclusive check-in desk, complimentary in-room internet, breakfast and refreshments. Discover a selection of award-winning restaurants, lounges and bars at Hilton Abu Dhabi. Experience Italian dining at Bocca, international flavors at Vasco's, authentic Japanese cuisine at Toki, and soulful jazz at Jazz Bar and Dining. Hilton Abu Dhabi is a 10-minute drive from the city centre, 5-minute drive from Marina Mall, 7-minute drive from the Heritage Village and 20-minute drive from Sheikh Zayed Mosque. The hotel offers 24-hour room service, front desk service and complimentary on-site private parking. Complimentary WiFi is available in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Hilton
Hilton Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing