We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Continental Flamingo Hotel
Ranked #83 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for business”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for a duration of over three weeks over the last few years.
The rooms are clean with lots of modern amenities involved.
I wouldn't class it's location as bad but not good either. You'll definitely need taxis to get around.
Breakfast is ok, although I wouldn't eat at the restaurant for lunch or dinner when there are so many better options in the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alkis_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    49
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
5
18
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
MUMBAI
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed there for 5 nights on my business trip and found the place good, not so great but not bad at all. Breaffast was nice in a small cozy restauranton 1st floor.

Hotel is neat and tidy. It was all vacant but while booking we booked it they charged 20% extra amount siting some conference in Abu Dhabi and non availability.

Recommend this place .. Enjoy travelling!!!

Room Tip: Good place at Hamdan with lot of fooding options around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAKARWANKAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

It was in 2008 i guess. My company booked my accommodation in Flamingo Hotel Apartments in Al Fala Road. With the confusion in name with this hotel i reached to this hotel around 2 am in after midnight to get the surprise that it is not the hotel which i was looking for. However the staff was so courteous and generous to give me a suit room for that night to rest and to proceed the next day to the designated apartment hotel of my booking. This hotel is awesome. Huge rooms, max to the comfort... I loved everything abt it

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeevkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I was concerned about the other reviews on this site, but booked anyway considering the low price and location. Very pleasantly surprised overall. I could care less how big the lobby is, if it saves me money, I'd rather it be small. The primary concern is the room - is it clean, comfortable and do I feel safe here? YES to all three. The bathroom was all in marble tile, and very clean. The bed was really comfortable and the room was large. The staff was very nice; when I needed a western power plug adapter they immediately sent one to my room. The only complaint I had was that the water temperature for my shower wasn't as hot as I would prefer, but no big deal.

The location of the hotel is decent - about 1-2 blocks from Corniche Road, an excellent stretch for a morning or evening jog along the water. You are about 8km from the western end of the Corniche (the Heritage Villa, the Marine Mall, sports complex) and can get there either by the lovely walk, by taking a 1AED bus ride, or via taxi. There are a number of good restaurants in the area, and I found a number of great Lebanese food restaurants there. I would definitely stay here again, considering the value for the room. I did have a fridge/minibar in my room as well. The hotel hosts 2 restaurants and a spa as well; I didn't eat at the restaurants because I didn't come to UAE to eat Italian food. The spa was out of my budget - with prices equivalent to something in the US.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

It was on 9th March when we had our post Valentines Party with 120 organized attendees from different part of the emirates. A family of people who happen to group for a common cause of unit.

We booked the ballroom from 6pm until midnight for dinner buffet and a programmed party.
The venue has an ample space for 120 pax complete with stage and round tables complimented with the sound system and visual projectors.
The whole venue is well carpeted and the adjacent room is serving the buffet convenient enough for the party attendees.
Staffs were very well briefs and efficient. Though the food were tasted average on superb servings.

Located at the 2nd level of the building the two elevators are not conducive for massive attendees.

However the location of the hotel itself is in the middle of the city where they positioned away from the hassle streets of main road Hamdan. The parking is just across the building and entourage foyer is just so private that I personally loved.

I never thought Abu Dhabi has this settings which is really a value for money. I would definitely recommend this place once again compare to the previous venue we has used on some of our events considering the number of attendees and the packages it offers.

Room Tip: Make sure to know the nearby landmarks and exact location map of the hotel as it is not facing in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnlyChatru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The staff here were friendly as are most staff in the UAE. I did not want to take my frustrations out on the mild mannered staff, but I made my complaints as soon as I arrived. However, perhaps this tact did not work, being softly spoken to make a complaint does not get you anywhere. I made the complaint about the room upon arrival about the mould in my room and nothing happened.

To begin, the lobby is small and tatty. Whatever the case might have been in the past with the hotel in terms of looks, it has now faded away. The stair case is a remnant of what it once was.

The hallways are dark and dingy, the carpet looks dirty and stained.

The bedroom is big, but the windows have not been cleaned in sometime, neither have the curtains been washed. The carpet was clean enough to walk on bare foot in the bed room. The furniture was old, knocked and chipped.

However, the bathroom was something else. There was a small shower head with lime scale, rusty nails in the wall. The sealant, I could have done a better job and I am not a plumber, it was cracking and peeling. There was mould in the bathroom too.

I have stayed in various places from hostels, to premier inns, to five star, so I know what to expect for my money. In fact, many hostels and premiers inns offer cleanliness that far surpasses that offered by the Grand continental. I thought perhaps my expectations of hotels in the UAE was wrong, but I checked out the Mercure across the road. It was cleaner, brighter with more facilities at £10 cheaper a night. I might have thought there was some value to the hotel at half the £96 I paid, but I still would have been rather shocked at the condition of the bathroom. There are also five star hotels available for the fee charged by this hotel. I am still rather surprised given that I went twice to the desk to point out my complaint that nothing happened. This hotel is in severe need of refurbishment.

I booked this room with Quick rooms. Quick rooms provide three numbers to call if you have a problem, I believe the 24 hour hotline is not directly linked with them. I called that number with Skype on the Sunday night to complain and ask for a change of hotel. That number could not be reached, therefore I called first thing on Monday morning at 9pm.

Quick rooms have a policy that cancelling hotels, you are charged two nights stay. I booked another hotel via the same booking system to prove I was not simply changing my mind, but that the hotel simply was so terrible. They do not take into account situations where the hotel is not to standard that a second night should not be paid for. I had no other way to make my complaint until 9am GMT. I am going to contest Quick rooms charges with my credit card company. I will also point out that their hotel search facility is faulty, because the Grand Continental continues to come in the 4 star search and then you find it is 3 star once you get to the page. Avoid this hotel if you book with them, it represents the lowest quality for money. I should know as I checked out other hotels which were cheaper in the same area. Plus five stars which were of a similar price with good locations. E.g not Yas Island.

Room Tip: Get a room without mould and shout about it too. Don't book without a cancellation policy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abu Dhabi hotels

Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I come back in Grand Continental Flamingo after almost 8 months; same quick check-in, nice personnel, similar room as previous time. Was pleasant to see that the staff still remembers my last time visit. As news I noticed that the hotel has goth wi-fi and lan connections to internet (as far as I know last time was only lan). As was paid by company, I don't know if is for free or against payment.
Was offered a welcome drink and also a complementary basket with apples and orange.
Overall, the services and the climate is the same as last time, maybe better as I started to get used with this location (just only this time no more English newspapers were provided in the morning)
What is important: I noticed that next year should be opened a new hotel in the Grand Continental network. This one will have more facilities and hopefully, being more than 3 star hotel (as the existing one), will have in menu and alcoholic beverages.
If you are in business trip and looking for a good-location hotel, where not to spend to much time inside, this is a perfect one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Abu Dhabi
Kingsgate Hotel Abu Dhabi
#96 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Diar Mina Hotel
Al Diar Mina Hotel
#92 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Abu Dhabi City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Abu Dhabi Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Al Jazira Royal Hotel
#108 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
12 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
#86 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Continental Flamingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Continental Flamingo Hotel

Property: Grand Continental Flamingo Hotel
Address: Grand Continental Flamingo Hotel Hamdan Bin Mohamed St | PO Box 28080, Abu Dhabi 28080, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Continental Flamingo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Continental Flamingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing