We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas in UAE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Ranked #50 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Christmas in UAE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is a good choise to spend your holiday if you want to have extremely good variety of food at breakfast, very very nice bed and fantastic gym.

As we are a family with 8 and 16 years old children, we chose to have connected rooms. Rooms are big enough and we had a sea view. Bathrooms are well maintained and clean. I suffer from migraine and I am very light sleeper, so I was a bit worried about how would I sleep in the hotel because the is lot of construnctions going on just opposite the hotel. With my earplugs I had no problem, and my family could sleep well also. Keep in mind if you choose this hotel that the consturction goes on and on even up to 2 o´clock at night like it did on Chitstmas Eve... but of course all that will stop one day when they are finished. It is funny, if you decide it does not bother that much - it doesn`t.

The only absoluytely low point is that smoking was allowed in the breakfast room and at the cafeteria. Lot of locals came in to smoke for hours at the cafe. In Dubai there is not such a problem anywhere in the hotels. So I suggest to the hotel management you should stop allowing the smoking inside of your nice hotel.

I had spa maicure and spa pedicure once, and a shoter pedicuce once, and I must say I was very very good choise in both times. Thank you girsl! So nice service and good work. Really.

Also went to Atristic Yoga once. Wow, what an experience. I was kind of a mix of youga and aerobic class. My abs where a bit tense afterwards, but that is what I came for. So thank you teacher!

So all in all we had a very nice holiday with having a good time with my family. No need to cook and bake for the Christmas at home.
My housband and our son went to Ferrari World, and liked it a lot. From what I understood, it is worth of going I you don`t mind for standing in a queue for a long time. We visited two times in Dubai as our friends stayed at Atlantis The Palm hotel ( wow).

Would I come back? Sorry, I`d probably choose Dubai for the next Christmas. But you can always make me a good offer :)

Happy New Year to you all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninav_fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasVanOpstal, General Manager at Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Nina_fin,

Thank you very much for posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I enjoyed reading your review and am delighted that we were able to meet your expectations and that your family and you enjoyed your Christmas vacation at our hotel. We look very much forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the coming year and for now, I wish you all the very best for 2013 and remain with kind regards

Yours sincerely,

J. Thomas C. van Opstal
General Manager

thomasvan.opstal@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    446
    159
    60
    38
See reviews for
310
447
121
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We are staying in the hotel when I wrote the review. The hotel is okay. Not more than that. The rooms are fine. The pool and fitness are reasonable. And we don't mind the construction next to the hotel. A couple of recommwnsations: make internet freely available for guests, upgrade the restaurants (e.g beach rotana) and increase the general feeling of service. The hotel seems to manage on revenue improvement (paid internet and general price level) and on coat (staffing). But for a 5 star hotel SERVICE is the key. That creates loyalty.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgiezenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasVanOpstal, General Manager at Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Wgiezenaar,

I hope this message finds you well.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your experience with us on tripadvisor.

I have carefully reviewed your feedback both positive and negative and feel mostly concerned about your comments on the service levels you have received as we normally take pride in the way we care for our customers.

Since you do not share much details on your experience we will ensure that we get in touch with you directly to understand where you feel we could make improvements and ensure that you find the rest of your stay more pleasant.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Warm regards

Yves

Yves Tarabout
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have nothing except this hotel is amazing, I did stay there for Club room, Royal Suite and classic rooms, it's just lovely, stuff is amazing, breakfast is totally awesome :)

Also for the dinner, coffee shops, restaurants, were trully lovely, bathroom is just amazing, beach is nice for children, also for value of service as a whole is just pretty amazing

Room Tip: Club Room, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omar_elkerdany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasVanOpstal, General Manager at Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Omar_elkerdany,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! I am delighted that you are enjoying your stays at our hotel and that you are content with the service and the attention you receive from my colleagues. Thank you very much for being our guest – we look very much forward to welcome you back to our hotel and I remain with kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

J. Thomas C. van Opstal
General Manager

thomasvan.opstal@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is well located and more importantly very comfortable. The staff are very hospitable and food in the restautrants v good. The rooms are well maintained and is uptyo the expectations from a 5 star

Room Tip: Do stay in the Club rooms - the lounge is perfect for business meetings
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venkumurthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasVanOpstal, General Manager at Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Venkumurthi,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities and particular the service of my colleagues met your expectations. We look very much forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon and if there is ever anything I can do to assist you, please do let me know. Until then, I remain with the Compliments of the Season,

Yours sincerely,

J. Thomas C. van Opstal
General Manager

thomasvan.opstal@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during the second week of December 2012. If you are coming here for a holiday be aware that in the grounds of the hotel it is anything but peaceful. Construction work on the three tower blocks to the rear of the hotel continue and it is so so noisy! I estimate that it will continue for a few months yet.
Our first nights sleep at the hotel was disrupted by a party in the grounds that went on to the early hours of the morning. Thereafter we experienced renovations to some nearby rooms that involved drilling and banging during the day. Our complaint was resolved satisfactorily but had we known about the construction/renovation work beforehand, we would not have chosen this hotel.
On the positive side the housekeeping and restaurant staff were hospitable, friendly and polite. The breakfast buffet was amazing but then it had to be to justify the cost of AED Dirham 110 per person. Alternative and cheaper options are available through room service.
One hours free wifi was provided each day but in this day and age it ought to be free all day.
Meals in the restaurant were of average quality but we did experience a pool bar meal that was terrible. Again a complaint was remedied quickly and satisfactorily.
I would advise against using the hotel taxi service as a local metered taxi is cheaper and just as efficient.
Housekeeping was efficient and the level of cleanliness was very good.
You should also be aware that smoking is tolerated in sections of the hotel restaurants and the tavern and is particularly prevalent in the latter.

Room Tip: Currently I would avoid a room that overlooks the construction work to the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasVanOpstal, General Manager at Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Martyn F,

Thank you very much for posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am sorry that your stay with us was disturbed by the noise from the nearby construction site as well as from an event which took place at the resort – please accept my apologies for this inconvenience. On a more positive note, I was pleased that my colleagues in the various departments you dealt with were able to meet your expectations and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon again and make amends for your disappointing stay. Please contact me directly on he below email address once your next visit to Abu Dhabi has been finalized and I will personally ensure that your stay with us will be a completely satisfactory one. I look forward to meeting you personally and until then, remain with the Compliments of the Season,

Yours sincerely,


J. Thomas C. van Opstal
General Manager

thomasvan.opstal@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We updraded to a club room and enjoyed the excellent buffet breakfast - even pork sausuages and bacon tucked away in a corner - first for us visiting a Muslim country. The room was very good and the staf really helpful.
|However, in our opinion this is more of a business hotel rather than a vacation destination.
On the other side of the lagoon shown in pictures of the hotel there are currently three high rise apartment blocks being built. This is of course not the responsibility or fault of the hotel but the constant hammering, roar of plant and droped scaffold poles that goes on from dawn to dusk does spoil relaxing in the hotel pool and gardens. On another note, the hotel does little to promote tourism. Theres is no library of leafllets or dedicated tourism desk on things to do and enquiry at the Concierge only provided a single leaflet on tours & outings.

Room Tip: Choose a club room if the budget allows - free wifi, drinks & snacks in the club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterthepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasVanOpstal, General Manager at Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Peterthepanda,

Thank you very much for posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! I was pleased to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us even so you were at times disturbed by the construction site opposite to the hotel. We have been assured by the construction company that the most noisy work has already been completed and that in the near future, almost all the loud construction work will be finished. Thank you as well for commenting on our breakfast selection. We strongly believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and hence, we have decided to present to our guests a very extensive selection of breakfast items which is much appreciated as you can see from several reviews on this site. I have also taken note of your comment with regard to the information on tourism activities and I am sorry that you felt that we were did not promote this area enough. We actually have a vast collection of tourist information available at our Concierge Desk and I must apologize if we were not providing you with this information – I will ensure that the Department Head concerned is aware of your comment and takes the necessary, corrective action to ensure that all our guests are provided with the appropriate information.

We look very much forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon again and in the meantime, I remain with the Compliments of the Season,

Yours sincerely,

J. Thomas C. van Opstal
General Manager

thomasvan.opstal@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Sheraton with my boyfriend for one night as a stop over before flying back to Sydney. Very impressed from the get go, we were greeted upon arrival at 7am. Usually check in is at 3pm however the man at check in advised he did not wish to keep us waiting so we could check in right away without having to pay an additional night! The lobby is beautiful as are the rooms! We booked a club room most comfortable bed ever! Beautiful marble bathroom with a big bathtub and shower. As we booked the club room we were entitled to complimentary snacks and alcoholic beverages from 6-8pm , there was cheese, crackers, sweets, fresh gourmet sandwiches. Great deal when booking the club room! The private beach and pool areas are also beautiful! Lots of room to kick back & relax!
The english tavern serves great meals and nice atmosphere to kick up your heels and have a drink/dance!
The breakfast was awesome I have never seen so many options for brekky! The ladies are very friendly and always come over to you and refill your orange juice up :-)
The staff were the most polite, friendly & helpful hotel staff I've ever met !
This hotel may be 5* but the service was above & beyond my expectations! We will definitely be coming back to The Sheraton :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasVanOpstal, General Manager at Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear brookey87,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed the facilities and restaurants within the hotel. Of course I was particularly happy to read your kind comments about my colleagues who served you and looked after you during yoru stay – we believe that it is our associates that make the difference and I was very pleased that you were able to connect with them during your stay. I am delighted that you will return to stay with us again and I look very much forward to meet you personally on your next visit to Abu Dhabi.
Until then, I remain with the Compliments of the Season,

Yours sincerely,

J. Thomas C. van Opstal
General Manager

thomasvan.opstal@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
3.8 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#41 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
4.4 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
3.6 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#19 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#34 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort

Property: Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Address: Corniche Road | P.O. Box 640, Abu Dhabi 640, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#30 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#34 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#45 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Abu Dhabi's shopping and business district, the Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort combines the best of business and leisure. Enjoy our private lagoon and resort on the Arabian gulf or try one of the 11 restaurants and bars to choose from. The Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort has everything needed for a perfect stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel And Resort
Abu Dhabi Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing