We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place! Except for..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Ranked #50 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Philly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place! Except for..”
Reviewed December 19, 2007

The only thing we didn’t like was how much they charged for phone calls. My advice is buy one of those prepaid phone calls and keep them with you. You can get them really cheap at:

[--]

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillyTraveller1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    458
    162
    60
    39
See reviews for
316
458
123
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

I am in the middle of a 3-night stay at the hotel, in October, 2007. I have stayed at several properties in Abu Dhabi, and would rate the Sheraton slightly below the Beach Rotana but above the Hilton. My room is on the small side, but it is very tastefully decorated and super-comfortable. I have access the the club lounge, and have found the food quality and service to be excellent, although the lounge is also small and full of smokers.

The pool area seems to be very nice, but the beach area is really just a man-made lagoon and is not very special. The food at the Italian restaurant (Mammas) is above average. So far, all staff have been helpful and friendly. This hotel is a recommended property in Abu Dhabi, especially for business travelers due to the location in the city.

  • Liked — Room quality
  • Disliked — Expensive food options
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

I've just spent three days at this hotel. It is VERY hot there in July so not as many guests as I think there would normally be but still quite busy. Lovely poolside areas and waterslide for the kids. Clean sandy private beach on the hotel's lagoon, with reasonable service at the beach. As others have said, the rooms are not large, but on the club level the bathrooms seem to be almost as large as the bedroom/desk area. The balcony is only big enough to stand two people on without any chair. Our bags were delayed, and the concierges did a great job of sorting it out and chasing the luggage up. I'd booked an extra night because or flight out left at about 8pm and I wanted to have the use of the room all day. Although it was not requested, we were not charged for that night's accommodation at checkout, which was very good of them. The parking valets at the front were very helpful and efficient. The El Sombrero restaurant was good, as was the english pub (did have a good atmosphere). All in all, I'd certainly come back to this hotel again, no problems.

  • Liked — Cleaniliness
  • Disliked — Rooms are not very large and the balconies are tiny
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank hardpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with my husband and we were both very impresed. We had only booked the hotel the night before so were expecting a very average room but we were pleasantly suprised as we were upgraded to the club floor with a nice room overlooking the pool and sea. The room wasn't huge but had an excellent bathroom with a huge walk-in shower and big deep bath.
The pool area was lovely, there are 2 pools - one for the adults with a swim-up pool bar and the second for kids with a water slide. The beach was slightly disapointing, the sand was nice but the water was very dirty with bottles and other debris floating in it.
The location is very central so you can easily walk to the shops or restaurants but I would recommend getting a taxi as they are so cheap and the air conditioning is a god send in the summer months.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ab1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

This hotel is less than 5 star..i'd give it maybe 3, well for service on the beach 2-
Unbelievable, if you can GET service at all!!! the beach staff if around at all, keep their heads down so not to make eye contact. A couple of times I arrived and ordered bottle of water right away before even making way to beach, waited 45 minutes in hottter than hell water...after chasing staff down three times, one guy told me no service ti 12 noon! uhhhhhhhh hello!!!!!!
The was a manager there named Scott, think Aussie..he was great..the staff were happy, he gave good discounts, and kept the staff on their toes...i was there a cuple of months ago, wondered why everyone was just standing round staring into water without going in. I checked it out..was disgusting!!!!! so dirty!!! things floating in the Gulf, from toilet paper to plastic cups, etc..i had to tell the guys myself to clean it up! how bad is THAT!!!! it's overpriced and i'd gotten a room, wanted my friends who live in Abu Dhabi to join me..they weren't allowed in on weekends! open to hotel guests and members only, these are people who are resident of Abu Dhabi! NOt allowed to use the facilities, and memberships are outrageoiusly expensve...
the view..well, there is none, unless you like to look at a newly built overpass from the beach and listen to noise from the traffic, there are better places to stay for sure, in any case, try Sri Lanka or Thailand..Abu dhabi, dubai nothing at all to write home about!

  • Liked — Hmmmmmmm, beer was ok...lol
  • Disliked — Service at beach is horrible!!! as is the food! and way overpriced!
Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Just me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights on business 11-15 June. City view room was reasonably sized - nice bathroom, very nice bed and the usual overpriced internet connection. Food in the Fusions restaurant was part of the deal and was OK for 4 nights although it would have been boring for much longer. Staff all very attentive and polite. Conference facilities were efficient and pleasant. Pool was good and I enjoyed swimming in the conctrete "lagoon".

All in all quite pleasant but not outstanding.

The highlight was the pianist in the bar who played some lovely classical music when she wasn't playing requests for Andrew Lloyd Webber.

I'd stay again on business.

  • Liked — The huge and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — It was rather impersonal
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

Me and my husband have just come back from Abu Dhabi I went to celebrate my birthday there but I didnt find it was all that special.The size of the balcony was ridiculous.we got upgraded from a city view to beach view but all you can see is the pool and harbour.I have stayed in many Sheraton and I would say for the price we payed it was the most expensive and less adorable hotel.Even the private beach was kind of enclosed you cant see the whole ocean there is a bridge right infront of you so forget it if you want a scenic view theres no point to take any photo because there is no view.the bed itself was very comfortable and the showe/bath room was lovely,but overall even the size of the room was small and had a massive corner desk which is ideal for maybe people on business trip but what use is it to a family on couple on honeymoon/holiday.Im very dissapointed.

  • Liked — relaxing as the hotel was quiet and not really many people around/close to both marina mall and madinat zayed/also taxi service outsuide hotel was very reliable and the staff friendly and very helpful
  • Disliked — the view of the sea there wasnt really one and small size of all the balconies
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tutu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
3.8 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#39 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,861 reviews
4.4 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
3.6 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#21 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#29 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort

Property: Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Address: Corniche Road | P.O. Box 640, Abu Dhabi 640, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#29 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#33 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#45 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Abu Dhabi's shopping and business district, the Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort combines the best of business and leisure. Enjoy our private lagoon and resort on the Arabian gulf or try one of the 11 restaurants and bars to choose from. The Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort has everything needed for a perfect stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel And Resort
Abu Dhabi Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing