We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #64 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Reviewed January 2, 2014

As one of the original 5* Hotels in the City, the Hotel still retains it's original charm and indeed some of its original features eg wood panelled lifts. This Hotel does not have the over the top decor of some of its neighbours but still retains the charm of a top class Hotel. Superb food outlets along with a couple of bars all serving the best quality in town means you don't have to go far if you don't want to. The Hotels location alongside its private beach is also a huge plus, with the pristine Abu Dhabi Mall just down the road. If you want gaudy over the top glitz this is not the Hotel for you, but if you want old fashioned class then book it.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Austin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Austin G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed our facilities and location.
Our commitment is to offer the best service as possible and your review is a great testimony that shows that we are succeeding in our mission. We will keep on offering this highest quality service.
It will truly be a pleasure for us to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

If the food is generally good, the beach though small is clean and comfortable, the spa area is impressive though not always clean the outside noise and all-smoking area do spoil the overall impression. The rooms and furniture are not new but acceptable. It does look as if it used to be a luxurious place, but not anymore.

Room Tip: Both sides are noisy, it is hard to suggest anything.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Tanya Y,

Thank you very much for sharing your views and kind comments of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed our facilities and location. Our hotel was indeed one of the first built in town, however we strive hard to upkeep its appearance in order for it to be appealing for our discerning guests. We believe it is a comfortable hotel with a lot of character and facilities in the offering. You will be pleased to hear that improvement plans for the hotel are currently underway
We would like to stress that your observations will definitely taken into consideration in order to improve our level of services.
It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights in month of December. Hotel on one side is located on a busy street close to a Mall and shopping area ,on the other has a nice beach area with several restaurants on premises. It has private beach area where you can relax and enjoy sun shine. Reception area is well decorated.Rooms are in a long corridor with lift in center of two wings. Rooms are comfortable and well furnished. You can ask for a beach facing room . Ask for a room on 4th/5th floor for a good view. Toiletries was at minimum. Hotel provides option for no room service for credit of AED 25 coupons which can be used in a limited number of restaurants. We could not use the coupons as most of these restaurants are open only in afternoon. Service was OK .

Room Tip: 4th/5th floor Beach facing
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashok M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Ashok M,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel during your visit in Abu Dhabi. Your feedback is very valuable for us and we would like to thank you for writing a review. We are glad that you found the room, the beach and reception area at your liking.

Indeed we are proposing to our guests to participate to the program “Make a Green Choice” . This program permits to reward directly the guests whenever they decline housekeeping services in order to help us conserve natural resources. The guests receive a choice of rewards: $5 at participating food and beverage venues, 500 SPG Starpoints or donate these points to UNICEF’s environmental work for children. Regarding the $5 voucher they can be redeemed in all our venues at any time except for breakfast.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I've been staying here for a number of years and gotten to know the staff and location very well. They do pull out all the stops and compared to some others in the region they make a point of employing very well spoken and well mannered staff. I had a few small problems here and they were all sorted out very promptly. In particular Ibrahim on check in was helpful in a number of matters during my visits. Would very much recommend for business and families.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank andymcivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear andymcivor,

Thank you for your review and for visiting Le Méridien Abu Dhabi so often.
I’m happy to learn that the service of our staff met your expectations and that the facilities made your stay pleasant. Our commitment is to offer the best service as possible and your review is a great testimony that shows that we are succeeding in our mission. We will be more than happy to welcome you for your next visit to Abu Dhabi.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed 5 days in this hotel and felt very happy and comfortable there. Although it is not the newest one, everything is clean and cozy and it is a place, where you can feel a little bit home away from home. We got an upgrade to a suite which was very big and comfortable. Service was excellent and they tried to do everything for us to feel well. There is a big variety of restaurants with high quality. Prices are moderate. The beach is not the biggest, but there are enough sunbeds for all guests and the atmosphere is totally relaxed. The Meridien Abu Dhabi is really a little gem between all this big hotels made from steel and glass and when you sit outside on your balcony in the evening, you can feel the difference. I am sure, that I will come back soon.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank justsun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear justsun67,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time and our associates looked after you well. Sincerely hope that your son is well, look forward to welcome you all back soon!

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

As others report the hotel is one of the regions first and is somewhat retro and is unlike the new build hotels in the region with over the top decor.
Some areas are in need of refurbishment however it does have positive points.
The location is near the business district and is close to shoping malls and restaurants.
It has a small beach with the hotel location being what looks like a large harbour so the water is very calm.
Facilities are excellent with a spa .outdoor pools ,and a wide range of restaurants on site ranging from a British pub to a Thai restaurant.
Its abour a 10 min walk to the Corniche where you can walk and take in the sights.
The staff were exellent with a special mention to Annabelle at the Thai restaurant who was most helpfull in telling us that the portions we were ordering would be too much.
Also Gerald and staff at the Club lounge.

Room Tip: Rooms to the left may be quieter
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RandBCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear RandBCheshire,

First I would like to thank you for your very positive review of Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
It is such a pleasure to know that our guests feel good at our hotel. We are delighted to read that you liked the beach, food and location of the hotel. Our restaurants offer a diversity of cuisines and flavours. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the food in Talay, this restaurant has been awarded for the second time in a row as the best Thai restaurant in Abu Dhabi by What’s On Awards.
Please be sure that your good words will be shared with our associates.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the Thai food at Talay Restaurant at the Le Meridien Hotel in the Tourist Club area of Abu Dhabi. Everything - and I mean everything - was perfectly seasoned and prepared. Our lovely table on the outside porch overlooking the water just made the whole evening very special. Attentive staff offered great advice on the menu and the manager on duty was very cordial. Only two suggestions - since we were eating outside it would have been nice to have covers for the food so they would stay warm for the second helping. Also, my noodles with seafood was a little short on the seafood but the seasoning was perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katiefoster46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Katiefoster46,

First I would like to thank you for your very positive review of Le Méridien Abu Dhabi and specially our Thai restaurant: Talay.
This year Talay has been awarded for the second time in a row as the best Thai restaurant in Abu Dhabi by What’s On Awards.
Talay is a Thai-food heaven with plenty of traditional and creative dishes. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the food and the service.
Thank you very much for your suggestions, we truly appreciate your feedback and be sure that your comments have been shared internally.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#29 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#25 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#44 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,007 reviews
9.1 mi away
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
5.0 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Address: Al meena 2nd St | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#36 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#37 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#37 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#46 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#56 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $64 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien provides you with the comfort of your home. The lush gardens and private ‎beach make it an ideal destination for business travellers & tourists. ‎The famed Méridien Village brings the world to your plate, with a unique mix of 14 ‎restaurants and bars. Let Le Méridien spoil you with its recreation & rejuvenation facilities - ‎a blend of health, fitness and fun at Eden Spa & Health Club. Special Ayurveda and Litho ‎therapies available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing