We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUtstanding Thai Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #64 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OUtstanding Thai Restaurant”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the Thai food at Talay Restaurant at the Le Meridien Hotel in the Tourist Club area of Abu Dhabi. Everything - and I mean everything - was perfectly seasoned and prepared. Our lovely table on the outside porch overlooking the water just made the whole evening very special. Attentive staff offered great advice on the menu and the manager on duty was very cordial. Only two suggestions - since we were eating outside it would have been nice to have covers for the food so they would stay warm for the second helping. Also, my noodles with seafood was a little short on the seafood but the seasoning was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiefoster46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Katiefoster46,

First I would like to thank you for your very positive review of Le Méridien Abu Dhabi and specially our Thai restaurant: Talay.
This year Talay has been awarded for the second time in a row as the best Thai restaurant in Abu Dhabi by What’s On Awards.
Talay is a Thai-food heaven with plenty of traditional and creative dishes. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the food and the service.
Thank you very much for your suggestions, we truly appreciate your feedback and be sure that your comments have been shared internally.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    434
    196
    71
    86
See reviews for
248
368
110
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

stayed at Le Meridien in September 2013. Yes it is one of the oldest hotels in Abu Dhabi but with that comes a certain charm. The staff were very efficient and friendly. We stayed in a club room on the 5th floor, the room was good, clean and all the usual facilities. We had access to the club lounge which was great and a real bonus. coffee and tea and soft drinks all day complimentary and in the evening a complimentary bar service with canapés all served beautifully by Gani, he is a credit to the hotel. all in all a great stay and yes there are building works all around but this did not spoil our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandbanks00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear sandbanks00,

My colleagues and I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel.
I’m happy to learn that the service of our staff met your expectations and that the facilities made your stay pleasant.
Our commitment is to offer the best service as possible and your review is a great testimony that shows that we are succeeding in our mission.
We will be more than happy to welcome you for your next visit to Abu Dhabi.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed for AD Grand Prix.

Arrived Friday morning 9 am after an overnight flight from UK. Rooms were not yet ready...no problem so thought I would go and freshen up in the washrooms off the reception area, when I entered I felt physically sick, they were smelly, dirty and somebody's previous "business" was in the toilet...yuk!! Don't they inspect every hour or two in a public area?

The appearance of the reception area is what the public will see if the toilets are dirty it creates a very poor impression.

I would echo what other users have said in that the hotel is quite old and in need of some paintwork. Rooms were ok but again smelt old. Breakfast was very good lots of variety and well presented.

Would not stay again unfortunately.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tddentx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear tddentx,

Thank you for your observations and comments. We strive hard to provide our guests a comfortable and memorable stay. We regret to learn you did not have the experience you were expecting at our hotel.
Normally we endeavor to provide exceptional guest care and would like to mention the difficulties experienced are not a normal reflection of our usual high standard of customer service. However, please know that the issues you have raised have been addressed and appropriate action have been taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in future.
I am glad however, that you enjoyed the breakfast at La Brasserie.
We hope that we would have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and ensure you of our best services.

Yours Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I was really dissappointed with this hotel. It really doesn't represents the name of Le Meridien...its dirty, smelly toilet, old furniture's, small rooms and bad service(seems staffs were not happy with their job)... paying like a five-star hotel rate is unacceptable... We've been to different hotels in Dubai but never I encountered a restaurant asking me to remove my hijab in order for us to sit there. I felt really sad that even we were in a Muslim country they we're putting such condition...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliyah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Aliyah d,

We appreciate you leaving a feedback following your stay with us. Our main aim at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi is to provide an excellent service and to make our guests feel like at home. I am deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our property may be deemed as aged, however we have guests who still admire the charm and the character of the hotel.
We are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you encountered at the restaurant but most probably this restaurant was a pub or a bar (NRG sports café, Captain’s Arms or Opus bar). Please be informed that access to bars, discotheques and pubs are forbidden for people wearing traditional GCC attire and hijab as per the local law. In the meantime, I hope that you give us the chance to welcome you back to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel keeps its high and Professional service that make this hotel a great choice in Abu Dhabi.

Plus the excellent service provided by all its employees

The hotel has everything you could wish for Good quality and great location,in the very centre of the town, next to Abu Dhabi shopping mall.

And with some of the best staff that the Starwood family Worldwide has to offer !

Many thanks Le Méridien Abu Dhabi it's been pleasure to stay with you .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear 99Peter,

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi. We appreciate your kind comments on the facilities and are happy that you found the location convenient. We are glad that you enjoyed the services and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for recommending our home.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a very good hotel. There is an excellent Spa and wellness center and a park (Meridien Village) with restaurants and bars just next to the hotel but belonging to the same complex.

The room was nice and spacious, with a great bed, TV, Fully stocked minibar (at reasonable prices for a hotel minibar). Next time I would however spend the extra money and get a sea view room.

The bathroom was oke, but felt somewhat out dated.

You can still see that this was a high class luxury hotel when it was build, but we are just so spoiled now a days that this felt a little old.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxed vacation especially if you can get a nice deal (less than €100,- p.n.)

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Daniel S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to read that you had a great time while staying with us. Indeed Le Méridien Abu Dhabi may appear aged in comparison to the newer hotels, those that have come to reside side by side with us, however our hotel has its own charm and tranquility enjoyed by many of our guests. You will be pleased to hear that improvement plans for the hotel are currently underway.
We sincerely hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to look after you in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just returned from 4 day break at le meridien. We are keen water skiers and chose the hotel because of it position on a calm inlet with a beach we were not disappointed. It's rare nowadays to find good waterskiing conditions with boat drivers that know what they are doing. Thanks fanny mikey and lucky we had such fun and enjoyed our skiing on calm water and for good prices. They were so friendly. The tennis courts are also very good and no charge if you bring your racquets.

The hotel is a little old but not being high rise and shiny adds to its character. The rooms have all you need. The atmosphere I the courtyard restaurant area is buzzing and the food especially in the themed buffet is fab. Seafood in abundance.

We got exactly what we wanted from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Beverley L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us. I am delighted that you found your stay enjoyable and relaxing. Indeed Eden spa and Health Club started to offer a wide selection of water sports activities including water skiing, knee boarding, wake boarding, tube riding, stand up paddle, kayak and boat ride. We are happy to read that you had a good time.
Be assured that your comments will be passed on to our associates. We do hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future at our hotel.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#28 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#25 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#41 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
2,966 reviews
4.4 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#17 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
2,237 reviews
5.0 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Property: Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Address: Al meena 2nd St | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#36 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#37 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#37 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#46 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#56 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien provides you with the comfort of your home. The lush gardens and private ‎beach make it an ideal destination for business travellers & tourists. ‎The famed Méridien Village brings the world to your plate, with a unique mix of 14 ‎restaurants and bars. Let Le Méridien spoil you with its recreation & rejuvenation facilities - ‎a blend of health, fitness and fun at Eden Spa & Health Club. Special Ayurveda and Litho ‎therapies available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing