We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, but feels a little out of date”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #60 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, but feels a little out of date”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a very good hotel. There is an excellent Spa and wellness center and a park (Meridien Village) with restaurants and bars just next to the hotel but belonging to the same complex.

The room was nice and spacious, with a great bed, TV, Fully stocked minibar (at reasonable prices for a hotel minibar). Next time I would however spend the extra money and get a sea view room.

The bathroom was oke, but felt somewhat out dated.

You can still see that this was a high class luxury hotel when it was build, but we are just so spoiled now a days that this felt a little old.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxed vacation especially if you can get a nice deal (less than €100,- p.n.)

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Daniel S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to read that you had a great time while staying with us. Indeed Le Méridien Abu Dhabi may appear aged in comparison to the newer hotels, those that have come to reside side by side with us, however our hotel has its own charm and tranquility enjoyed by many of our guests. You will be pleased to hear that improvement plans for the hotel are currently underway.
We sincerely hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to look after you in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    405
    182
    64
    78
See reviews for
226
344
106
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just returned from 4 day break at le meridien. We are keen water skiers and chose the hotel because of it position on a calm inlet with a beach we were not disappointed. It's rare nowadays to find good waterskiing conditions with boat drivers that know what they are doing. Thanks fanny mikey and lucky we had such fun and enjoyed our skiing on calm water and for good prices. They were so friendly. The tennis courts are also very good and no charge if you bring your racquets.

The hotel is a little old but not being high rise and shiny adds to its character. The rooms have all you need. The atmosphere I the courtyard restaurant area is buzzing and the food especially in the themed buffet is fab. Seafood in abundance.

We got exactly what we wanted from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Beverley L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us. I am delighted that you found your stay enjoyable and relaxing. Indeed Eden spa and Health Club started to offer a wide selection of water sports activities including water skiing, knee boarding, wake boarding, tube riding, stand up paddle, kayak and boat ride. We are happy to read that you had a good time.
Be assured that your comments will be passed on to our associates. We do hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future at our hotel.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you heard about the huge rooms, overdone decorations, golden toilets etc. on UAE hotels (or you watched Sex and the City II which was actually filmed in Morocco) this is not the hotel you go to. But I have stayed with them for 26 years now.

Here you come for the atmosphere of a grand hotel that was one of the first first class international hotels to be built in the emirate. Intimate, classic and friendly staff. The Meridien Village garden is one of the more lively dining and bar areas in town. It is also one of the few city hotels with a beach, and has a classic spa. The village and garden can be quite crowded in weekends when the weather is not to hot.

Due to developent across the channel, this hotel was going to be demolished to build a new bridge, and so the rooms are getting a bit overdue for refurbishment. By rumour it has now been spared, as a "recent cultural heritage" so some upgrades have started first on LCD tvs and wireless.

Room Tip: There are a few city side rooms without balcony on the right side (low numbers) which is not as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear haade,

Thank you very much! we are humbled by your kind comments and hope you grant us the liberty for thanking you “for being an ambassador for Le Méridien Abu Dhabi”.
We would like to thank you for choosing Le Méridien Abu Dhabi to stay. Our commitment is to offer the best service as possible and your review is a great testimony that shows that we are succeeding in our mission. You will also be happy to hear that plans of refurbishment are under way to improve the offering.
We will be more than happy to welcome you for your next visit to Abu Dhabi.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Probably like a lot of readers, I wondered just how realistic the reviews were. It was pleasant to find find out on arrival they were pretty accurate. Sure, this is an older hotel but with a very warm friendly feel to it. The rooms are fine (non smoking floor) with modern bathrooms, very comfy beds, free wifi etc. There is a green courtyard off the lobby leading to the beach. This is surrounded mainly on one side by a 'village' of bars and restaurants. Books of vouchers are free giving 2 for 1 meals and drinks. Good value. Surprisingly quiet, no building sites yet, but looks like future development on each side. The Abu Dhabi Mall is 5 min walk away with an option of cheap eats on the top floor.A bit dusty at the extremes of the building and a coat of paint would help here and there. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudarshani p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear sudarshani p,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to share your experiences. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are happy that you found the room, the village and other facilities to your liking. Indeed the entertainment guide is offering coupons with interesting food and beverage discounts, we are happy to know that you have used them.
We sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you once again to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.


Sincerely,
Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Fantastic hotel - great amenities. The beach and pool areas were lovely and relaxing. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of choice and I recommend the fish and chips at the Captains Arms!! The room was clean, comfortable and ideally equipped, although the bathroom could do with a bit of an update. Room service was prompt too! The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. I found the location great - within walking distance of Abu Dhabi mall and from there other sights to see. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the sea/garden area are very quiet and you get a good view from the balcony on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SazdeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear SazdeP,

Sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. We are delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable and the facilities were to your liking. Furthermore it is great to hear that the location was convenient and the fish and chips at Captain’s Arms were to your satisfaction!

We shall pass on all your kind comments to our associates who will be delighted to hear them. We look forward to welcome you in the not too distant future!
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Yes, granted, the hotel needs a makeover, and has a dated feel to it. However, hotels are not just about their looks, but mainly about service, food, location, amenities, staff attention, and in all these areas, Le Meridien excels: In our four nights stay, attention of staff at the buffet breakfast, at the reception counter, quality of food in all the outlets we tried was outstanding.

The internal gardens with the variety of restaurants and bars is an added bonus, you don't even need to leave the hotel in the evening if you want to try something different.

Add to this the beach which, in the centre of Ab Dhabi, and at the price, few hotels can match, and you have yourself a winner.
One wish: If Meridien could match what some other hotels are doing, and offer access to Yas Waterworld or Ferrari World at discounted prices, that would make the deal irresistible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Ziad N,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your good impressions of our hotel. We would like to thank you for taking the time to pen down your experiences at Le Méridien Abu Dhabi.
We are delighted to hear that our restaurants, food and rooms were to your liking as well as the hotel was conveniently located. We will pass on your kind comments to our associates who will be delighted to hear them.
Thank you for your suggestion regarding Yas Waterworld and Ferrari World access, we used to propose discounted prices to our guests during promotional time and will take on board your comments. We look forward to welcome you back to Le Méridien Abu Dhabi in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel is situated on a busy main road but inside the hotel the traffic can't be heard if you have a room overlooking the rear of the property. Rooms on the 5th floor have been refurbished and are clean and tidy, they also give access to a club lounge with complimentary soft drinks all day and alcoholic at night. Near the hotel is a mall with numerous restaurants, mcdonalds, kfc, baskin robbins etc aand opposite there is a TGI Fridays and Pizza hut so a good choice of places to eat. The pool area is lovely, with two seperate pools, the smaller is quieter so nice for relaxing. A taxi from the airport costs around 80 AED so save by not booking transfers. Breakfast has a good selection with crepes and omlettes freshly made.
There is a very well appointed and air conditioned gym as well as a spa with thermal suite which is included if you have a club room, also included is towel hire.
A very relaxing break for the money, this hotel is absolutely fine as long as you get it for significantly cheaper than a comparable hotel in Abu Dhabi

Room Tip: It is well worth paying the upgrade for the club room, garden view is also worth the money as the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwanolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourya M, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Kwanolds,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your good impressions of our hotel. I am happy that you had a good time at our facilities and restaurants. It is our responsibility to make our guests feel at home in our hotel. Please be sure that your good words will be shared with our associates.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,

Nemo ACIMOVIC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#22 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,176 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#40 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#32 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,659 reviews
5.0 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
4.4 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#21 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Abu Dhabi

Property: Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Address: Al meena 2nd St | Tourist Club Area, Abu Dhabi 46066, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#35 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#36 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#37 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#46 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#52 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien provides you with the comfort of your home. The lush gardens and private ‎beach make it an ideal destination for business travellers & tourists. ‎The famed Méridien Village brings the world to your plate, with a unique mix of 14 ‎restaurants and bars. Let Le Méridien spoil you with its recreation & rejuvenation facilities - ‎a blend of health, fitness and fun at Eden Spa & Health Club. Special Ayurveda and Litho ‎therapies available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing