We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #24 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have stayed already many times in Le Royal Meridien and I will still return to stay there.The location is one of the best in abu Dhabi.Close to
the Corniche .From the spacious rooms you have a wonderfull view over
the sea.The new decoration updraded the hotel even more.And the staff
is really the friendliest you can find.My stay was always perfect in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herman l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Hermen,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and appreciate the continued patronage towards Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi.
Team Royale stay committed to provide you with world class hospitality products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    324
    102
    28
    18
See reviews for
163
227
105
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night in this hotel with my wife and little daughter. We were placed in the 20th floor with a sea view. The room was clean and well lit. The bed was spacious and the view was amazing. The bathroom was big with a nice shower and tub. The breakfast was well served with varieties. The price was excellent for the hotel's class. If I am ever coming to Abu Dhabi again, I would definitely come back here. The only thing that I can pick on this hotel is the sliding door of the bathroom, if they can install a handle so we can slide the door more easily it would be great!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank xtrailer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your inspiring feedback and we are glad that we could keep up with your expectation.
Your comments on the bathroom sliding door is well received and corrective action will be taken accordingly.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the New Year holidays. The hotel is undergoing renovation and you often hear construction noise in the lobby area. Even though most rooms have already been renovated, including the one we stayed in, the air con unit was making too much noise. We turned it off to be able to sleep but don't know how we could have coped if it had been summer.

The service was hit and miss and generally poor for a 5-star hotel. The highlight of the hotel was its breakfast. Perhaps worth another visit after the construction ends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We have noticed your concerns about construction noise, AC disturbance and services. Kindly be assured that these points are discussed for actions with the concerned department heads to rectify to avoid any recurrence. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and please consider this as a one off incident which does not reflect the usual high standard we maintain in serving our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to a renewed experience at a transformed Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I want to give it 4.5 not 5, but i will round up as this hotel was fab!

ok the plus points:
Fantastic location. Lots of shops nearby, including KFC/Mcdonalds/Pizza Hut etc (fab when u take young children to a foregin country). Was able to walk to corniche from hotel as well. but with taxis so cheap its probably an option to walk in the 'cooler' months

Amazing Breakfast - designed by a three start michelin chef and it shows. unlike atlantis in dubai there was never a line when u went down for breakfast and things were quickly replenished. Staff were friendly, helpful and quick at attending to and clearing ur table. Omelets were a little runny but we told them to do them properly and they obliged. In house baker is baking in front of u, friendly guy as well. Was busy on the last few days (around new years) but still managed to find a table by opting to sit outside - most of the nationals find it too cold outside in december in the morning, but for us brits it was lovely and pleasent!

Modern clean Rooms - we booked two rooms (have young kids) and they managed to get us adjoining rooms. Great sea views. no balcony but the windows are floor to ceiling and give a nice spacious feeling. rooms arent huge to be honest so was nice to get that airy feeling

Staff: helpful. especially the ones outside. would go the extra mile to get taxis for u. as soon as u pull up to the hotel they would rush over to open ur door. treated u 5 star. always smiling and happy to be there.

Lobby: lovely entrance, clean and modern. they have water infused with different fruits near reception. was so refreshing and delicious. also plums and nectarines when at recpetion. really nice and yummy after a long day out/long flight. and they didnt go mad when my 7 year old smashed three of their glasses next to the water dispenser (cringe!!!)

negatives:

The swimming pool: was too cold to use outdoor pool, so we used the indoor pool. which was nice and open till late (its on floor 4 adjacent to the gym which i didnt use but i went in and it looked good with fab sea views and treadmills with tvs). So the indoor pool isnt huge.it is open till late, however the biggest issue we had was the fact that non hotel residents use this pool to teach their kids to swim with an instructor. so the small pool will get quite busy and this is annoying.

The concierge: they are a lovely bunch of people face to face but a bit of a nightmare on the phone!! We spoke to them before we went to the emirates zoo as a review on here told us that taxis back from there are a real headache and was advised to call ur hotel to sort a taxi for you. we informed concierge about this and he gave us the hotel number to call when we had finished and they would sort our taxi for us. However, when we called they gave us the name of the taxi firm and washed their hands clean of us. We couldnt get through to the taxi firm (didnt know which numbers to put in when were dialling -ie which 0s to leave out etc!!) and had to wait outside in the heat and luckily flagged a taxi down after a wait. Quite dissapointed really that they didnt stick to their word here.

Fruit Platter: when you are in the room there is a little thing that says u got complimentary sliced fruit/choc/arabic sweets. we asked concierge about this and for the next few days we did get out fruit. an apple, banana and a orange. on the last day we got a plum and kiwi as well. when we asked about the sliced platter we were informed this was as it came! so not as good as advertised.

Shower: terrible design...its like a wet room but the screen between the shower and toilet isnt big enough so when u shower all the water floods into the toilet area. nightmare unless u learn to strategically place towels to stop this flow. bless the cleaners who had to pick up soggy towels.

Pillows - horrible!

So yep, its a fab hotel and i would recommend it. the rennovation works wont disturb u and the hotel is coming along really well. go for it, u wont regret it!

Room Tip: 807 and 808 we had. close to lifts. fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faiza333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this detailed feedback which is very valuable for us to improve our services. We are glad that you have liked the recent experience over all and thank you for recommending us to the other reviewers. We have noticed your concerns on the indoor and outdoor pool, Concierge, room service and shower en-suite. Concerned department heads are briefed on these and necessary actions are taken to rectify the same. The outdoor pool is generally temperature controlled according to the weather conditions.
We look forward to welcoming you back to a renewed experience soon.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stopovers in the middle of the night between Europe and Asia is really backwards (when planes had to refuel en route 30 years ago) so we decided to stopover 1 day/2 nights in Abu Dhabi (1 hour by bus) before continuing from Dubai. Early check in was available despite high occupancy (local holiday) which was a good start and we booked higher room category that included executive lounge. As Reception was being completely refurbished at that time, Lounge was not open yet and we had a side room of the cafe reserved with some snacks. Good things we could order free drinks (at least soft drinks) from the hotel bar menu to compensate. Breakfast rush was some kind of joke but could be because of construction works indeeed. Room was clean and big with some good view on the sea but no balcony so it was more a city break than a resort feel. Bad thing was the wait for elevator. A special one was provided for Starwood members which did not seems to work any faster. Staff was nice except concierge a bit cold (true we did not book any expensive item). Location was near Sofitel and it was easy to catch a taxi to visit some shopping malls.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NICOLAS N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed feedback and we appreciate your kind effort posting this. We are glad that you liked the room and our team. Your concerns on concierge is well received and action is taken to avoid any recurrence. We are happy to inform that our exclusive Le Royal Club Lounge, Cafe Palmier - All day dining restaurant, whEAT- Bakery and Bistro, Le Meridien HUB- Lobby lounge, Latitude 24 - our signature bar at the HUB and the brand new elevators are all operational now which were part of our phase 1 of redevelopment along with all rooms and suites in the main tower.
We look forward to welcoming you back to a transformed Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi soon.

Best Regards
Shaun Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I loved Meridien Hotel in Abu Dhabi, the room was clean and very modern, the stuff was very helpful and friendly. Although the breakfast package was double of the room cost, I booked the room because Meridien has great customer service and part of Starwood.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, Deputy General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Michael,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding your stay.

We are glad to read that you were happy with the service and the quality of our newly renovated rooms. Please be advised that the breakfast price applied is on line compared to other restaurants of our category.

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel and happy holidays!

Sincerely,
Daniel van der Heijden
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My colleague and I were on a 2 day business trip to Abu Dhabi. This was by far the best hotel we stayed in. The rooms are magnificent. Spotlessly clean. Spacious, lovely bathroom and facilities. thoughtful amenities too they had give me a beautiful room, with a gorgeous view..We had Breakfast and Lunch on the Ground floor restaurant Cafe Palmier The food was delicious, the hostess Sofia was most helpful and friendly generally everyone was attentive to our needs Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naveed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, Deputy General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Naveed,

Thank you for your nice review!

We are very pleased that you and your colleague enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and the service met your expectations. Your good comments about breakfast and lunch buffet at Café Palmier have been well noted, Sofia is really glad to hear your comments. Early next year, we will be opening new outlets that will provide you more options.

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon and happy holidays.

Sincerely
Daniel van der Heijden
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#8 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#5 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
#15 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
#61 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Rose Hotel
Royal Rose Hotel
#21 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi

Property: Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Address: Le Royal Meridien Khalifa Bin Zayed the First St, Abu Dhabi 45505, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, as the city's long-standing landmark re-emerges, transformed. Conceived over 2 decades ago by the ruling Royal family of Abu Dhabi, the hotel retains its distinctive avant garde exterior, that resembles an eye when seen from above. Strategically located in the heart of the city's commercial district, the hotel is within a 20 minute drive to all areas of Abu Dhabi and just a walk away from major corporations, shopping, parks and the Corniche. Curious minds are awakened by the Arrival Artwork as guests enter and discover the Hub, Le Meridien's re-interpretation of the traditional hotel lobby, where they are immediately transported into a stimulating space. Recently renovated, the hotel's redesign is inspired by both its European roots and its local heritage. Curated art in the hotel inspires a new perspective and discovery continues at check-in with Unlock Art, where guests receive a limited-edition room key designed exclusively by an LM100 artist, which also allows guests to receive exclusive benefits at a local cultural institution. The 202 spacious guest rooms and 74 lavish suites reveal the city's skyline and coast with panoramic views and feature contemporary, chic design and Le Meridien signature beds. The hotel's transformation also made it the culinary destination in the city, providing a fresh palate of tastes, including the first Jean-Georges Restaurant- Market Kitchen, the city's only revolving lounge bar and grill - Stratos- with 360 degree views of Abu Dhabi, coffee culture brought to life with Illy and the only authentic Irish pub - PJ O Reilly's- in the city. The hotel boasts 10 restaurants and bars offering best in class culinary exploration. With 8 meeting spaces that can accommodate up to 1,300 attendees, Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi's conference facilities provide ample room to encourage creative interaction and forward thinking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing