We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Nearby Hotels
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers(Abu Dhabi)
$150
Jumeirah.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$67
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$125
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
$181
StRegis.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rosewood Abu Dhabi(Abu Dhabi)
$147
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$369
$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,377)
Filter reviews
1,377 results
Traveler rating
814
391
112
39
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
814
391
112
39
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket kitchenrevolving restaurantcafe palmierirish barindoor poolsea viewthe club loungehouse keepingbusiness hotelbusiness tripitalian restaurantcomfortable roomsan upgradefive star hotelspecial thanksmarina mallferrari world
Filter
Updating list...
991 - 996 of 1,377 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed for a week and we had an enjoyable stay. The hotel is very central, you reach the Corniche in 5 minutes.
The first room they offered (room 1209) which was meant to be an upgrade (I hold a gold card for their chain) in the grandly named 'Royal Tower' was terrible, it had unrestricted views over a flat roof and a wall. I refused and the room we were given was very good (room 1609) with a wonderful sea view. It's advisable to ask for a refurbished room with sea view to be on the safe side.
It's a business rather than a beach hotel (there is a second Meridien hotel which has more of a beach flavour). There is a small pool with deck chairs. Swimming pool areas in centrally situated hotels tend to be small and surrounded by other buildings.
Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and tidy. The breakfast buffet was extensive and offered something for everybody, from continental breakfast to Indian dishes. The Opera restaurant offered a buffet and an a la carte menu. We had a seafood buffet which was very good with lots of choice. I would give the Italian restaurant (Amalfi) which is part of the hotel a miss: the decor is dated, the food is nothing special, I found the cost of close to £ 14 for a glass of fairly ordinary wine prohibitive. The revolving restaurant is special though.
My complaints: (1) they charge for Internet usage which irritates me, especially in a business hotel, (2) attention to detail was somewhat lacking (tables for breakfast invariably had something missing: a cup, a spoon), (3) there is not enough staff at check-in / reception, there was always a queue and it took about 20 minutes to get checked in.
I would go back if I needed a centrally situated hotel - for a real chill out I would choose something different, probably the Westin Resort (we had a look see trip and we were very impressed with the facilities and the general ambience)

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room with sea view, beware of rooms in the Royal Tower, we were offered room 1209 which I refused, the view was dreadful.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACL3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear ACL3112,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Royal Meridien in Abu Dhabi and for taking the time to write the review.
We are happy to read that your room and service were to your expectations.
With regards the restaurant, we have communicated your comments to the F&B Manager who will take immediate corrective actions.
Amalfi restaurant will be undergoing refurbishment works very soon to upgrade the decor. Menu will also be revamped.
With regards the lengthy check in procedure, we are investigating the matter to ensure this is not the norm and to allow guests a seamless arrival experience.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Shaun P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Everything a decent hotel of this level sould be. Wifi free for Starwood members, nice rooms, revolving restaurant on top, although I didn't use it. Went there wishing to eat Middle Eastern, as it is classified on TA, but in fact just international, steaks etc so decided to eat out as wanted to east Lebanese. Staff are friendly and efficient, decent breakfast. Overall, highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Le Royal Meridien Abu for your stay while in Abu Dhabi.
We take great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the experience.

Al Fanar is our rooftop revolving restaurant, a unique concept in Abu Dhabi where you can enjoy the panoramic views while dining on award-winning European menu.
In upcoming months, Al Fanar will be undergoing refurbishment works to re-open with a new concept. We will be pleased to unveil the new name and cuisine later this year. And we hope that you will visit again and experience the new venue.

Once again thank you for your visit and your recommendations.

Kind regards,
Shaun P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very nice hotel, with a giratory restaurant at top floor - you also have 2 swiming pools (indoor and outdoor), the room is fantastic , very clean and enough space to put 2-3 luggages. The bad point is that far from a walking distance from a Mall or even a bakery or something else. The price for the breakfast was also something strange for us - it was costing more than the room per day. But I recommend anyway because the price compensates this not so good location (and there is no beach - wich in Emirates - if you want to go, ask for a hotel in front of the sea, otherwise you have to pay to go to the beach.
To finish - the VISA to entry at the UAE is sponsored by the Hotels - and of course they charge you for this - in this case, they charge us almost 3 times what the other hotel in Dubai asked for us - Be carefull !!!

Room Tip: Dont forget to ask a non-smoking room / floor when you make your reservation.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodrigo X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Your nice comments about the room, the service and Al Fanar revolving restaurant are much appreciated.
With regards the comment about the distance to the mall, although it seems a long way walking, three big malls are some 5 to 10 minutes drive from the hotel and taxis are aplenty and inexpensive.
About breakfast cost, many of our room packages include breakfast and make for a great deal, so kindly check these out before your next booking.
Entry visa to UAE has to be processed through the hotel and fees applicable are standard to all hotels in the capital and similarly priced.
We hope this last detail will not refrain you from visiting us again.
Awaiting the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards,
Shaun P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Royal Meridien is located just steps from the Corniche waterfront walk. The staff was friendly, professional and helpful. Athamus, the concierge, left a particularly good impression. The property always had plenty of taxis out front and it was easy to get to. An irritating quirk about both Abu Dhabi and Dubai is that many of the taxi drivers are new to the country and have only a vague understanding of where things are. Luckily, they all know about the Royal Meridien. As premium SPG members, we were upgraded to the presidential suite. The suite was decadently spacious, but unfortunately it was in the un-renovated half of the hotel. Visitors should be aware that only some of the floors are updated to look like the pictures on the website. Our suite, while it had a fantastic view, three bathrooms, and very comfortable beds, was dated and worn. The WiFi is priced at an outrageous $25/day. Complimentary cappuccinos on our first morning were a great perk.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmacleantaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Iamacleantaylor,

Thank you for staying at Le Royal Meridien in Abu Dhabi.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the stay and have forwarded your compliments to the team and especially Athanas at Concierge.
With regards your comment about the renovated room please be informed that plans are set to refurbish the remaining floors including the Presidential suite one. works should start soon and conclude by fall 2013.
Being a Premium SPG member, the internet usage is free. For the rest we do apply standard rates in line with other hotels in the capital.

We hope to welcome you again soon and cannot wait for our guests to experience the new product.

Kind regards,
Shaun P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in that hotel on the Royal Club Floor. Very disappointing. Room small (sure not 40sqm as mentioned on hotel website) and there seem to be different size rooms, I saw my friends room which was spacious but the one I was in was for sure not Royal Club material. Club lounge? Rather a joke... more a part of the lobby lounge with poor selection and service.

Breakfast in the main restaurant was OKish but also there service slow.

With the hotel surrounded by high-rise buildings, the pool does not have much sunlight.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank_Jakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
All our rooms are spacious with some being much wider than others due to the elliptical shape of the building. Allocation of guests depends on occupancy level but our Front Office team would have done their utmost best to re-allocate you should you have asked for that.
The Royal Club Lounge is currently part of the main lobby, but we have plans for refurbishment to relocate it in a more seclude area. Works should start soon and conclude by Summer 2013.
We have also taken note of your comment about the service and will adjust as needed.

Thank you once again for your review.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews