We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing club rooms, facility and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #25 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“disappointing club rooms, facility and service”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in that hotel on the Royal Club Floor. Very disappointing. Room small (sure not 40sqm as mentioned on hotel website) and there seem to be different size rooms, I saw my friends room which was spacious but the one I was in was for sure not Royal Club material. Club lounge? Rather a joke... more a part of the lobby lounge with poor selection and service.

Breakfast in the main restaurant was OKish but also there service slow.

With the hotel surrounded by high-rise buildings, the pool does not have much sunlight.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubai_UAE_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
All our rooms are spacious with some being much wider than others due to the elliptical shape of the building. Allocation of guests depends on occupancy level but our Front Office team would have done their utmost best to re-allocate you should you have asked for that.
The Royal Club Lounge is currently part of the main lobby, but we have plans for refurbishment to relocate it in a more seclude area. Works should start soon and conclude by Summer 2013.
We have also taken note of your comment about the service and will adjust as needed.

Thank you once again for your review.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    339
    103
    30
    18
See reviews for
174
244
107
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had to wait 2hrs! for the room after check in. If you are sitting in the lobby you wont get any waiter to get you a drink. Nobody cares, they just walk by! We knew standard check in time is 1100, but for a hotel in this category I expect more flexibility!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flybyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Flybyguy,

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. We always take our customer’s comment very seriously and ensure to act up on them in order to improve. We understand the disappointment of the wait and lack of service you experienced. We have investigated regarding your feedback and taken steps towards correction.

We apologize that we were unable to meet your expectation this time and we hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back to offer the services we are renowned for.

Best regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This Hotel is Great the staff excellent the pool area very nice the room exceptional although we stayed in a suite and it was gorgeous , we didn't have a view of the corniche at first it was a pool view and when I rang up the reception we were swiftly moved to a room with a view , the hotel staff specailly the reception staff were fantastic,This Hotel gives you all the little extras which makes it specail , I have stayed in many hotels Mainly 5 star this hotels service is certainly up there all in all we enjoyed our stay and would like to thank the Le Royal Meridien for their hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennedysGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review.
We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
Our employees are focused on customer's satisfaction and it gives them real pleasure when service and "those little extras" you have mentioned make our guests feel special.
We hope you will visit us again soon. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Before this incidents, Le Operah Restaurant at the Le Royal Meridien was one of my favorite restaurant in Abu Dhabi for dining. On Thursday my wife and I went for dinner at his restaurant, it was seafood night buffet... It was a beautiful evening with beautiful weather during this time of the year in Abu Dhabi... So we asked to be seated outside to enjoy the weather and the food, it started well with the salad, till I started main course, as mentioned it was a seafood night, so all the great delicious seafood is available... This is the bomb shell dropped when a small Corkage was swimming in my seafood dish!!

Yes this actual happened to me, my wife saw it as we'll as the waiter / floor manager saw that... I couldn't believe my eyes to what I have witness... CORKAGE swimming In the sauce... This is happening in 5 stars hotel...

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HBK1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are apalled to hear about your dining experience and are investigating further.
Please rest assured that this is not the norm at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, you have been a regular guest at L'Opera and having enjoyed our popular seafood night every Thursday, we hope you will excuse the mishap for which we apologize again.
Best regards,

Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed there last week for one night. Nothing impressive about the hotel; the room and the breakfast were good, quite basic nothing exceptional by any means. Not bad for a one night stay especially if it's on a business trip. The hotel is clean, the staff very helpful,and the location is good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Royal Meridien in Abu Dhabi.
We really appreciate you taking the time to write your nice comments.

Best regards,

Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Last Friday was the first time I go to the Friday brunch with the family and some family friends, I have truly enjoyed the food, the atmosphere, the service and the live entertainment.

The place was packed and full on all 3 outlets open for the brunch, I was worried that the food might not be enough or replenished, however, the service was excellent and the food was always replenished so that nobody felt there is short of food on the buffet.

As an over all, it was an excellent experience and will certainly repeat it again and again.

Room Tip: Make an early booking and dont take the risk of walking in as you might not find a place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Tarek,

Thank you for your visit and your great review.
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the brunch at l'Opera.
Friday brunch at our hotel is a very popular venue and we always do our best to ensure diners have a great experience.
We would like to thank you for your vote of confidence and will be happy to welcome you back very soon,

Kind regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Me and my husband stayed last week for 1 night. Location of the hotel is perfect for travellers, staff were attentive upon arrival, and customer service was great. We stayed in the royal suite, the room was better than expected and very clean, very quiet and relaxing. The buffet breakfast was included in the stay and was great, lots of choice available, I'd definitely stay again.
Mrs Adan

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsAdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Mrs Adan,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi.
We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
Your nice comments about the room and the breakfast will be shared with the team.

We hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#8 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#4 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
#16 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
#59 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
#7 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi

Property: Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Address: Le Royal Meridien Khalifa Bin Zayed the First St, Abu Dhabi 45505, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#14 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#28 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, as the city's long-standing landmark re-emerges, transformed. Conceived over 2 decades ago by the ruling Royal family of Abu Dhabi, the hotel retains its distinctive avant garde exterior, that resembles an eye when seen from above. Strategically located in the heart of the city's commercial district, the hotel is within a 20 minute drive to all areas of Abu Dhabi and just a walk away from major corporations, shopping, parks and the Corniche. Curious minds are awakened by the Arrival Artwork as guests enter and discover the Hub, Le Meridien's re-interpretation of the traditional hotel lobby, where they are immediately transported into a stimulating space. Recently renovated, the hotel's redesign is inspired by both its European roots and its local heritage. Curated art in the hotel inspires a new perspective and discovery continues at check-in with Unlock Art, where guests receive a limited-edition room key designed exclusively by an LM100 artist, which also allows guests to receive exclusive benefits at a local cultural institution. The 202 spacious guest rooms and 74 lavish suites reveal the city's skyline and coast with panoramic views and feature contemporary, chic design and Le Meridien signature beds. The hotel's transformation also made it the culinary destination in the city, providing a fresh palate of tastes, including the first Jean-Georges Restaurant- Market Kitchen, the city's only revolving lounge bar and grill - Stratos- with 360 degree views of Abu Dhabi, coffee culture brought to life with Illy and the only authentic Irish pub - PJ O Reilly's- in the city. The hotel boasts 10 restaurants and bars offering best in class culinary exploration. With 8 meeting spaces that can accommodate up to 1,300 attendees, Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi's conference facilities provide ample room to encourage creative interaction and forward thinking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing