We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some rooms need an overhaul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #25 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Kongsberg
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Some rooms need an overhaul”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The LRM in Abu Dhabi is good/ centrally located. Close to town and still on the Corniche with it's nice parks,.The reception area is well maintained, and the breakfast has a very good variaty and quality of food. However, the recreation area (gym) needs urgently a makeover and also more space. The air was also very bad in the gym. I stayed in the Royal wing in a generously large room. But durung the last years the marks of use can not be hidden any longer (on floors and also glass).. The hotel has no beach access, but the pool area is nice with the Pub PJ's and also and outdoor area of the restaurants. The spa is in a neraby gym and not very special at all. The hotel can be recommended for a business as well as vacation stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Thomas P,

Thank you for your nice comments about the Hotel and your recommendations to fellow travelers.
We are happy to hear that you liked the room, the food variety and the pool.
With regards the comments about the Gym, we are looking at refurbishing this area in the near future to offer bigger space and further benefits. We are sure you will find the new fitness facilities to your liking when you come back then.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    344
    103
    30
    19
See reviews for
178
246
112
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were in Abu Dhabi for the F1 Grand Prix, and stayed here for 4 nights. Lovely and friendly staff who are always very willing to help out, especially the concierge staff who were most friendly to make a reservation for our visit to the Grand Mosque, and took pains to explain to us the dress code required before visiting the mosque.

Location of the hotel is great, just 10mins to the Abu Dhabi mall, or the Marina mall. There is also a fish souk (near the port) which is 10mins drive away, which you can have the seafood e.g. lobsters, squid cleaned and cooked by the food stalls and to be consumed in the hotel.

We had an upgraded room to the 11th floor, and had a great view of the ocean, quiet floor as well. Service was quick and prompt each time we requested for ice bucket.

The room was clean and very well-kept, however the only issue we had was the bathroom, due to some design flaw, the whole bathroom will be flooded each time we took a shower. This made the floor very slippery throughout the time we were in the room.

However the hotel took pains to delight us during the period, leaving macaroons with F1 Grand Prix decorations and other desserts (gorgeous-looking and taste delicious as well!) on top of the usual chocolates during their daily turn-down service.

We will be back to this hotel the next time we visit Abu Dhabi.

Room Tip: We stayed at Room 1110, corner room but great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuffinEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Royal Meridien in Abu Dhabi and for taking the time to write your nice review.
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the stay.

We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hambleton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just got back from 6 days staying in this hotel as we went to the Abu Dhabi F1 Grand Prix. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and roomy. Buffet breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for the restaurant staff. Pool area was good although drinks a little pricey. Irish bar was fab with reasonably priced drinks and lovely food. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 19th floor and had a lovely sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for staying at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi.
We do appreciate you taking the time to write this nice review.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the service, the room and the restaurants offerings as well as the Irish bar P.J. O'Reilly's.
We will be sharing your compliment with the teams involved.

Best regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Have just visited for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix weekend and overall a very poor experience of this hotel:
Lengthy delays at check-in (under-staffed or just not enough desks) with rooms for our party of six all allocated incorrectly. Rooms were finally sorted on the refurbished floors and are generally of a high standard, albeit others are definitely not. However, the funky bathroom design also means that taking a shower entails flooding the entire room - a feature common to each of the 3 rooms we used so this was not an isolated case of bad planning or plumbing.
Check-out was even more of a horrendous experience - for the same reasons posted above.
If you want a good night's sleep then at all costs avoid rooms anywhere near to / above or below level 4 - the rather infamous nightclub / bar where "hostesses" will be more than happy to entertain you...for a price of course.

Room Tip: As far away from Level 4 as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review.
We are taking note of the comments about the reception staff.
About the newly refurbished rooms, we have noted the shower issue and corrective action will be taken accordingly.

With regards the comment about the nightclub, plans of relocating it are in process, we will be announcing these very soon.

Thank you once more for taking the time to review the hotel.

Best regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The staff at check in use for energy on making sure you pay in front for your stay than explaing about the hotel. (when is breakfast served, where is the gym, spa.....) . Staff at the pool is not service minded at all. When I checked in I got a really poor room, but got a much better one next day. But this room had noice as construction was going on during my stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to arrive early at the day, in that way you get one of the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertebayer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Miss Bayer,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
We have taken note of your comments about your checking in experience as well as the service.
The team had been notified accordingly and we are addressing the issue.

We do hope that you will visit us again and that you will enjoy your next stay.

Best regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I am currently staying here.

it is Eid so why were there only 2 persons on the reception and i had to wait over half a hour to check in? the guy told me the hotel was full so why was there inadequate staffing?

I advised on booking when I would arrive (2.30pm) so i was surprised that no room was available and had to sit in the lobby for a further 35 minutes (so it is over an hour now).

the club lounge situated in the lobby is embarrassing. they would be better off saying they do not have a lounge. I have read the historic reviews and people were complaining about this years ago. at the time management advised that this would be rectified soon - yea? i note the same line is being taken now.

Today I went to the pool. there was no staff so I asked the lifeguard if someone could come and serve me a drink. he is said 5 minutes. 45 minutes later a staff member appeared. was he on a break? surely there should be cover? anyway, I ordered my drink and 20 minutes later he returned with it. no complaints about the guy, he was very nice but seriously they are doing themselves out of custom here.

Breakfast was not the best. I had poached eggs and they were solid. Why no fresh milk? UHT on your cereal is not pleasant. to be fair I did not have the energy to complain.

overall, in comparison to service levels in other hotels in Abu Dhabi, this is poor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

We have taken note of your comments about the delayed check in as well as the breakfast buffet offerings and amendments have already been made to rectify the situation.
With regards the Club Lounge and news of refurbishing it, indeed we had announced it earlier and now we can assure you that works will be started shortly to change location, space and offers.

Once again thank you for having stayed with us, we do hope your next visit will be up to your expectations with the changes and upgrades that are planned around the property.

Best regards,
Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was nice, well maintained, and had several restaurants to choose from. Room was clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only issue I had was that we saw some young women who looked like they might have been call girls heading to the club on the first floor. My wife was a little upset about this and I thought the hotel needs to keep a closer eye on this type of thing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcn5195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Royal Meridien in Abu Dhabi.
We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your great comments about the room and the restaurants will be shared with all concerned and I thank you on their behalf.
We have taken note of you comment about the club's guests and will do the needful.

We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,

Shaun P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
#62 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
#18 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
943 reviews
3.6 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#19 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi

Property: Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Address: Le Royal Meridien Khalifa Bin Zayed the First St, Abu Dhabi 45505, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#14 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, as the city's long-standing landmark re-emerges, transformed. Conceived over 2 decades ago by the ruling Royal family of Abu Dhabi, the hotel retains its distinctive avant garde exterior, that resembles an eye when seen from above. Strategically located in the heart of the city's commercial district, the hotel is within a 20 minute drive to all areas of Abu Dhabi and just a walk away from major corporations, shopping, parks and the Corniche. Curious minds are awakened by the Arrival Artwork as guests enter and discover the Hub, Le Meridien's re-interpretation of the traditional hotel lobby, where they are immediately transported into a stimulating space. Recently renovated, the hotel's redesign is inspired by both its European roots and its local heritage. Curated art in the hotel inspires a new perspective and discovery continues at check-in with Unlock Art, where guests receive a limited-edition room key designed exclusively by an LM100 artist, which also allows guests to receive exclusive benefits at a local cultural institution. The 202 spacious guest rooms and 74 lavish suites reveal the city's skyline and coast with panoramic views and feature contemporary, chic design and Le Meridien signature beds. The hotel's transformation also made it the culinary destination in the city, providing a fresh palate of tastes, including the first Jean-Georges Restaurant- Market Kitchen, the city's only revolving lounge bar and grill - Stratos- with 360 degree views of Abu Dhabi, coffee culture brought to life with Illy and the only authentic Irish pub - PJ O Reilly's- in the city. The hotel boasts 10 restaurants and bars offering best in class culinary exploration. With 8 meeting spaces that can accommodate up to 1,300 attendees, Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi's conference facilities provide ample room to encourage creative interaction and forward thinking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing