We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, with some "oddities"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Ranked #29 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in a Royal Club room. Hotel is good, rooms spacious and comfortable, clean and well kept. The Club Lounge is rather strange as it is co-located with the lobby bar/café and you really do not know which one you are using. I was never provided with details of opening hours, whats included etc. However, it turned out well and I was not charged with anything consumed there. I am an elite member of several other hotel chains and I must say that the Club lounge offerings are very limited. For instance no cognac or brandy offered!
The real "downturn" of this stay was that I was not able to enjoy the outdoor pool which was closed for construction. Anyhow, I did enjoy my stay until I got the bill where they overcharged me with 1 night. Well, I always keep a copy of the reservation details and finally the bill was corrected!
Woudl I stay again? Probably not as there are several other hotels which offer better service in Abu Dhabi: Shangri-La, Traders, Intercontinetal and Fairmont to mention a few. If I am going to return they must step up their Club services and inform of closed pools etc prior to reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0ggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
We agree that the location of the Royal Club Lounge in an open space off the lobby is not a regular feature and we would like to inform you that refurbishment works will be started soon to enhance this facility by offering a secluded Lounge with the highest level in comfort and F&B offerings.
With regards to the outdoor pool closure, we had to do so to enable dismantling our Ramadan tent safely; we do apologize for the inconvenience and have taken note to mentioning such informartion at time of booking.
We wish to welcome you again at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi,
Best Regards,
Shaun P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,242)
There are newer reviews for Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

921 - 927 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

I decided to spend my weekend in this hotel and to relax as maximum i can! Well, i took the perfect choice. The room was big and comfortable. Al Fanar, the 360 degrades restaurant is fantastic - amazing food, great atmoshere, great view, veeeeery polite staff, so carefull with all the details, with all your needs. A large variety for breakfast also. Well done!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vi0leta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Miss Violeta,

Thank you for taking the time to write your nice comments about Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi.
We are so glad to hear that your weekend stay was up to your expectations.

Thank you for mentioning Al Fanar -the rooftop revolving restaurant- indeed it's a great venue and the team will always go out of their way to ensure diners are happy and well cared for.
We will share your compliments with all of them.

Hoping to see you again with us,

Kind regards,
Shaun P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We arrived late at night but still had good service with a smile. The room was big and comfortable. There was a good variety of food for breakfast. Unfortunately the outdoor pool was not available due to Ramadan. We tried walking to the Mall but it was much too hot so had to use taxis to get anywhere. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carnoaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Carnoaus,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi and for taking the time to write your review.
We have noted your nice comments about the room and the different services you have enjoyed and appreciate your recommendation of our hotel.

Once again thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,
Shaun P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel was good value for money, we arrived earlier than check in and managed to get our room straight away with a free upgrade, the lady on the desk was very helpful and had great English. The room itself was really nice, big and clean. One major let down for us was that the outdoor pool was closed due to Ramadan which ment we could not leave the room durin the day as it was too warm outside. The wifi in the room was not complimentary so we did not avail of it. There was a bar in the hotel which we did not manage to get to, there was an Irish pub which served food it was average food that cost seventy euro for two main and drinks completely overpriced. Taxis were very cheap so that was great. There was a Small shoppin centre beside the hotel with handy snack places to eat. I found Abu dhabi difficult to recognise the central area but the tourist area was a ten minute walk just difficult in the intense heat.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublin24yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi.
We are glad to read that you were happy with the early check-in, the complimentary upgrade as well as the Front Desk service.
With regards to the pool, as you have been advised, Ramadan is a season where traditional evenings are spent under a tent that symbolizes Arabian Nights. Our Hotel tent - the biggest in town- takes the space around the swimming pool causing it to be closed for that period, we apologize for the inconvenience.
We have taken note of your comments about P.J.'s - the Irish pub- our prices are of a similar range to other pubs in Abu Dhabi, where import of authentic ingredients could explain the price.
We thank you once again for your review and hope to see you again with us, maybe during winter months when the heat is not so inconveniencing.

Kind regards,
Shaun P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

It's excellent what else can one say! I love the irish pub for live music and a bar free of Russian Pros. Soba is great for Asian Fusion and the Italian, Amalfi is always good. Rooms are comfortable and the gym is well equipped. Great hotel!

Room Tip: Take a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Charlie M,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, also for taking the time to enumerate the hotel outlets in such an enthusiastic way!
We really appreciate your positive comments about the outlets and the hotel rooms.
Your nice review will be shared with all the team here.

It gives us so much pride to know that our guests have had a great experience while staying with us.
We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Shaun P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

It's a good hotel but nothing but a business hotel, the rooms are clean and comfortable specially club rooms. The Staff were not that friendly not giving any attention to the customers, so i had to go asking if they can serve me, no smile no welcoming, etc. wasn't a great experience but also not bad.

Room Tip: Club rooms or suites are the best
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancyneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Royal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Dear Ms Nancyneel,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the comfort of your room. We have also taken note of your comment about the staff attention and welcome and will be addressing this with the team.

Kind regards,
Shaun P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Sensational hotel when travelling on your own. All the staff were there to advise and assist when needed. Very polite and great senses of humor.
I was provided with a room early as my flight got in @ 6.30am.
I will stay again when next in Abu Dhabi. Thank you everyone for a great stay.

Room Tip: Try the I house food options. Normally I always eat out but their different options are superb.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellingfoodie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review of Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi.
We are delighted to know that your stay was a great experience.
Your nice comments will be shared with all employees.

We will be happy to see you again very soon,
Kind regards,
Shaun P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Meridien Abu Dhabi
#64 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#9 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,707 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Abu Dhabi
Dusit Thani Abu Dhabi
#15 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
#19 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi

Address: Le Royal Meridien Khalifa Bin Zayed the First St, Abu Dhabi 45505, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#17 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#29 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $80 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi, as the city's long-standing landmark re-emerges, transformed. Conceived over 2 decades ago by the ruling Royal family of Abu Dhabi, the hotel retains its distinctive avant garde exterior, that resembles an eye when seen from above. Strategically located in the heart of the city's commercial district, the hotel is within a 20 minute drive to all areas of Abu Dhabi and just a walk away from major corporations, shopping, parks and the Corniche. Curious minds are awakened by the Arrival Artwork as guests enter and discover the Hub, Le Meridien's re-interpretation of the traditional hotel lobby, where they are immediately transported into a stimulating space. Recently renovated, the hotel's redesign is inspired by both its European roots and its local heritage. Curated art in the hotel inspires a new perspective and discovery continues at check-in with Unlock Art, where guests receive a limited-edition room key designed exclusively by an LM100 artist, which also allows guests to receive exclusive benefits at a local cultural institution. The 202 spacious guest rooms and 74 lavish suites reveal the city's skyline and coast with panoramic views and feature contemporary, chic design and Le Meridien signature beds. The hotel's transformation also made it the culinary destination in the city, providing a fresh palate of tastes, including the first Jean-Georges Restaurant- Market Kitchen, the city's only revolving lounge bar and grill - Stratos- with 360 degree views of Abu Dhabi, coffee culture brought to life with Illy and the only authentic Irish pub - PJ O Reilly's- in the city. The hotel boasts 10 restaurants and bars offering best in class culinary exploration. With 8 meeting spaces that can accommodate up to 1,300 attendees, Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi's conference facilities provide ample room to encourage creative interaction and forward thinking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Meridien Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing