We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay as diplomat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi
Ranked #117 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Reviewed February 10, 2014

It was early morning and still dawn when I arrived at the AD airport. After the driver came picking me up, I had no idea where he would take me cause I was too sleepy. Bear in my mind, I had awaken in front of one hotel then I dropped off the car. It was 3 AM but I still saw one girl passing by with "attractive" dress before my eyes. I felt bit fresh :) Since the hotel has been reserved, I got no significant problem to check in and took a snap sleep about 2 hours then prepared everything for a morning meeting with a client. It was wonderful hotel and quite luxury for a 3 star. Although the time was so short I still could enjoy the nuance of the room. It supposed to be for 2, but I was alone. Breakfast was pretty good and standard but for lunch it took so loooong time to wait. I guessed they ordered from other restaurant nearby.
But as overall I felt satisfied with this hotel which treated me as a one night diplomat.

Room Tip: Check and confirm the shower whether the warm water work well before check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iwank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 57 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

I had the misfortune to stay at Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel for several weeks whilst working in Abu Dhabi.
It is a very poor hotel, there is loud music playing from the 12 bars until the early hours, some nights until 4am, making sleep difficult. There are prostitutes all over the place. The food is bad. Stay somewhere else if you are looking for a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank ManxMan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I am an easy traveller, happy to stay in 3 star hotels and have done so around the world in over 40 countries. This was by far the worst service I have ever received. When we booked online were booked 2 double bed room, free parking and free breakfast for a standard amount. Upon arriving there we were shouted at my the bell boy to one our car and pay 15 add for parking for 24 hours. Then were were not even greeted properly, just asked for our passports then they told us not to worry they will take 2 mattress's up to the room for the floor. THey expected us to sleep on the floor. and told we weren't getting breakfast. I was adiment to fight for what we paid for! The front office were ignoring us & while we were talking to them they were picking up the phone & not even apologizing to us. I then asked to see the front office manager whom was by far the most rude person I have ever met, she told us that this was our problem & we just just settle for what we get, and that even though they advertised it wrong on expedia it was our problem & we will have to sleep on the floor. I then decided to speak to some one more competent & was told that we can get 2 rooms for no extra costs even though we had booked it in the first place! she did not apologize but instead raised her voice at us & walked away!!! She does not deserve to even work with people let alone in a hotel with guests!!! never again!

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank luxlife5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Hotel is located in a convenient location with excellent facilities suiting my budget. The stay was almost all like staying at home or like staying in a serviced apartment with homely atmosphere. The place is well connected by all means of transportation and near to Abu Dhabi Corniche

Room Tip: any room from 4 floor to 9 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Prasanna1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

i have stayed in the HJ hotel on a number of previous occasions, as have colleagues of mine. Previous experiences were not bad but I stopped over in the HJ hotel enroute from the UK. It started off badly when there was no record of my hotel booking (I ad to trawl through emails to find the online booking confirmation). I then showed my Qatar ID - which they reception refused to accept as valid ID. I find this very strange as all other organisations in the Middle East appear to accept this form of ID for everything ... From obtaining mobile phone SIMs, banking and money transfers! Eventually, after finding my passport, they check me in and I go to my room. The shower was like a leaking pipe at best .... A small trickle of water. Then the final straw - my girlfriend arrives (yes girlfriend) only to be told she can't come up to see me because she has no valid ID on her. I was informed that there was an 'incident' at the hotel bars and all women without valid ID were stopped going into the bars. I complained to the reception and was constantly fobbed off and told there was nothing they could do. At this point I was annoyed and demanded a refund .... But they refused. I was then put through to management via the phone ... But this obviously wasn't management with any jurisdiction. Again I was told there was nothing they could do. In the end, having spent approximately one hour in the hotel, I just walked out and checked into another hotel. Overall, an experience I don't want to witness again. Absolutely disgraceful customer service. Don't go there.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
15  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My company books me into this hotel when I'm in Abu Dhabi. I must have stayed here over 15 times this year and here's my honest opinion about the place:

The pros:
1. The staff at the reception, the security guards and the bell boys are far beyond excellent! They have been extremely helpful to me everytime I've stayed here and really go out of their way to personalize the service they provide. Whether its last minute check in, early checkin, late checkouts, help storing bags (they should charge me rent the number of time's I've kept bags here). The security guard even brought me my Subway delivery to the room instead of me going down to collect it. The bell boy (Rezul) makes my my complicated and cumbersome travel schedule that much smoother. The staff at the reception are super helpful.

Just remember, be nice and people are nice to you! I've seen a few people being rude to staff at hotels and restaurants (especially in UAE) - what kind of service would you expect in return?

2. The rooms are larger than your standard 3 - 4 star hote, clean, tidy and smell good. There's never been smoke smell in my room though most of their rooms are smoking rooms. The music from the nightlife in the hotel really isn't that loud and the rooms on the 5th or 6th floor have been very tastefully renovated and are nicer than the rest.

3. The location! Its in the heart of the city and very close to many eating joints, entertainment and leisure spots. Corniche is a short cab ride away. Taxi's and busses are easy to get from here any time of the day and most of the cabbies will know whete HOJO is so its not difficult to find. If you're Chinese, Indian, Filipina or Russian - Lots of "home cooked" style food within walking distance - and beat this - a good meal would be between USD 5 - 8 at one of these places!

4. Did I mention the staff?

5. Extremely safe - just like the rest of the UAE.

The Cons:
1. There are 4 night clubs and a bar. An Indian and an African one located on the 2nd floor, a "Russian" and an Arabic one located on the 17th floor and a "British" pub on the ground floor. You can hear a slight thumping of the bass from the music from most of these bars in your room till 3am everynight - but it really didn't bother me one bit. Its really not that loud.

2. So, this isn't really a great place to vacation with the family, especially if you plan to go outside your room after 10pm. Nothing unsafe but just the crowd isn't the classiest you've seen if you know what I mean!

Overall, I love this hotel and am especially impressed with the staff. If you're on business, dont hesitate to book this place - just get a room on the 5th or 6th floor.

Room Tip: Take a room on the 5th or 6th floor. If you're here during the winter avoid the corner rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AjayKamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rooms are clean, spacious but no complementary water bottles when we stayed there the last time. Hotel is near Corniche and tourist club area, so everything is within walking distance. Bad thing is they don't have a lot of recreational facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjumarito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.1 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Abu Dhabi City Centre
0.1 mi away
Grand Continental Flamingo Hotel
0.4 mi away
Al Ain Palace Hotel
Al Ain Palace Hotel
#106 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Abu Dhabi
Kingsgate Hotel Abu Dhabi
#100 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Al Diar Mina Hotel
Al Diar Mina Hotel
#92 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#102 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi

Address: Howard Johnson Hotel Khalifa Bin Zayed the First St | PO Box 73095, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $52 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing