We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Staff. Location. Service. An excellent value for money hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi
Ranked #114 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Staff. Location. Service. An excellent value for money hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My company books me into this hotel when I'm in Abu Dhabi. I must have stayed here over 15 times this year and here's my honest opinion about the place:

The pros:
1. The staff at the reception, the security guards and the bell boys are far beyond excellent! They have been extremely helpful to me everytime I've stayed here and really go out of their way to personalize the service they provide. Whether its last minute check in, early checkin, late checkouts, help storing bags (they should charge me rent the number of time's I've kept bags here). The security guard even brought me my Subway delivery to the room instead of me going down to collect it. The bell boy (Rezul) makes my my complicated and cumbersome travel schedule that much smoother. The staff at the reception are super helpful.

Just remember, be nice and people are nice to you! I've seen a few people being rude to staff at hotels and restaurants (especially in UAE) - what kind of service would you expect in return?

2. The rooms are larger than your standard 3 - 4 star hote, clean, tidy and smell good. There's never been smoke smell in my room though most of their rooms are smoking rooms. The music from the nightlife in the hotel really isn't that loud and the rooms on the 5th or 6th floor have been very tastefully renovated and are nicer than the rest.

3. The location! Its in the heart of the city and very close to many eating joints, entertainment and leisure spots. Corniche is a short cab ride away. Taxi's and busses are easy to get from here any time of the day and most of the cabbies will know whete HOJO is so its not difficult to find. If you're Chinese, Indian, Filipina or Russian - Lots of "home cooked" style food within walking distance - and beat this - a good meal would be between USD 5 - 8 at one of these places!

4. Did I mention the staff?

5. Extremely safe - just like the rest of the UAE.

The Cons:
1. There are 4 night clubs and a bar. An Indian and an African one located on the 2nd floor, a "Russian" and an Arabic one located on the 17th floor and a "British" pub on the ground floor. You can hear a slight thumping of the bass from the music from most of these bars in your room till 3am everynight - but it really didn't bother me one bit. Its really not that loud.

2. So, this isn't really a great place to vacation with the family, especially if you plan to go outside your room after 10pm. Nothing unsafe but just the crowd isn't the classiest you've seen if you know what I mean!

Overall, I love this hotel and am especially impressed with the staff. If you're on business, dont hesitate to book this place - just get a room on the 5th or 6th floor.

Room Tip: Take a room on the 5th or 6th floor. If you're here during the winter avoid the corner rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AjayKamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    11
    4
    16
See reviews for
6
3
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rooms are clean, spacious but no complementary water bottles when we stayed there the last time. Hotel is near Corniche and tourist club area, so everything is within walking distance. Bad thing is they don't have a lot of recreational facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjumarito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed there for two days and it was a decent experience. The location is good as there's a multiplex and lots of eating joints around. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms are quite spacious.
Their wifi policy is weird in which the give coupons of two hours usage and it can be logged in on one device at a time. The caused a lot of inconvenience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderluxuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a far cry from a hotel, worst customer service ever! Rooom was not clean, smelled of too much smoke, lights are too dim, amenities below average not even water is avaialble, the bed cover/ blanket is actually just a bed sheet and the pillow cases had an odore as well. walls are evry thin, elevator has a lound sound you will not be able to sleep you hear everything going arund outside you room it is disastrous and the extremely bad service is the cherry on top the staff know nothing and are not willing to try. There is a club as well in the hotel which is a plus to the sleepless night, the quality of guests is not what you want to be around so stay away!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lb-Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abu Dhabi hotels

abudhabi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

rooms are good. Room service is nice. Well maintained house keeping. Communication service is ok. Avoid Thursday and Friday stay. Food quality is ok. The location is very good and so no need to worry about the food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimohanabudhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Howard Johnson is located in the commercial centre of Abudhabi. A handful of supermarkets and few restaurants are located around the hotel. There are a couple of Indian restaurants also within walk-able distance.

The front office staff are not so friendly. One will always get a cold response in the reception. However, the room service is ok.

The rooms are reasonably clean. The bedspreads, pillow covers, towels are all replaced promptly everyday and are all clean. The bathrooms are maintained cleanly.
The complimentary breakfast is decent, though has limited options.

The accommodation is quite spacious. The room is equipped with a microwave, an electric kettle and a refrigerator. The bathrooms are little small with a bath tub.

There are a number of night clubs in the hotel, providing all night entertainment. The downside of this hotel is the tremendous noise coming from these clubs all night. Particularly at upper floors (above 10th floor), one cannot have a peaceful sleep.

There are not many interesting Cable TV channels available. Internet is available on paid basis, through LAN connection at 10 Dirhams for 1 hour. The central airconditioning is ok.

It is fairly easy to get a taxi near the hotel any time of the day/ night.

Recommended only for a couple of day’s stay. Not for a stay with family.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above 10th floor to have less disturbance from the blaring noise coming from the discos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psathish72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

the room was clean, it was cleaned everyday, the washroom was cleaned every day by the cleaners....

staff - huge problem with their attitude, i don't know whats stuck up their @!#!@# but they are not friendly. over all the hotel ammenties is great, the location is awesome, right in downtown you can say of Abu Dhabi, walking distance maria cinemas, KFC, pizza hut all that stuff, taxis are really expensive in this city, the price was okay... it was free not sure our friend paid for it as courtsey

the one thing i didnt like about this property was the bar built right in the ground floor, creepy bengali people staring at your wife and kids its really uncomfortable, the noise is a lot, shouldnt have a night club/bar right in the building where couples and families are there to spend a vacation... and secondly the price of internet use... wow 10 dirhams or 20 dirhams for one hour of internet use, ridiculous should be free like every place or have a package of like 20 for 24 hours! or something, hate paying for stupid internet service by the house. not happy.

but they did provide us extra blankets, beds, etc...

hmm over all a good experience :) gym was fine too used it a couple of times, i am going to post pictures also


will def. go there again

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keepmecompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.0 mi away
Tryp By Wyndham Abu Dhabi
Tryp By Wyndham Abu Dhabi
#59 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Continental Flamingo Hotel
0.3 mi away
Al Ain Palace Hotel
Al Ain Palace Hotel
#115 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Al Diar Capital Hotel
Al Diar Capital Hotel
#82 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Abu Dhabi Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Al Diar Dana Hotel
Al Diar Dana Hotel
#69 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi
Address: Shk Khalifa Street | PO Box 73095, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing