We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Experiance during stay in Howard Johnson” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi
Ranked #116 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Experiance during stay in Howard Johnson”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel and would like to share my experiances. The room service is OK, Hotel facilities are pathitic, Food is worst. Value for your money is spent is not justified. Too much of noise due to the night club located in the same building.

Room Tip: Do not visit this hotel if you are visiting along with a family. OK if you are alone and on a busine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasanna1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    11
    5
    16
See reviews for
6
3
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I stayed here for two weeks for my business purpose. The hotel location is good and the rooms are large and spacious.
Its having around 5 to 6 bars. so at night the hotel was fully crowded with the people from outside to the bars ...
and also the music from the bars goes so loud punching sound throughout night till 2 am .and always the loud speaking voices of the people in front of the rooms who comes out of the bar at late night... which all is an utter disturbance to sleepp ... !!!
The food was only average .. the hotel is only recommended for the tourists who loves night life ... not for the family mode or buisness class !!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fabingeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peshawar Pakistan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

I used to stay in this hotel for 2 nights and liked it, as my stay was a free :P (courtesy to my friend)

Room was spacious with clean bathroom and city view was good. Food in the restaurant was finished (surprise) so i had to order and wait for some 30 minutes. Its quality was just below average

There were few bars (fillipino on 17th to hook a lady) and some English pub on the ground floor (for the same purpose). Room service was ok. Don't know about the breakfast as i missed it twice due to late woke up. Oh yes some construction work was on (adjucent to hotel) all the night, so couldn't slept well and finished as soon as my stay was over.

Has no parking, yet found front desk staff a bit polite and helpful.
Overall stay was an average

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luckyblessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Bad place to stay. Rooms are cheap but the entire hotel smells of cigarette smoke . Poor airconditioning , impersonal staff and disturbance due to late night activity ( you can hear music thumping in your rooms) in the dance clubs which seem to be fronts for pick-up joints .No parking space .Could be avoided.

  • Liked — Cheap rooms
  • Disliked — Cigarette smoke smell in the air
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rajeshaerat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abu Dhabi hotels

Nomad
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Great location – a less expensive hotel amongst the company of 5 star hotels in the area
Though the rooms in this hotel are very spacious and have a stunning view (if you have the corniche side view on higher floors), the service and hospitality, unfortunately, is very lacking. The food is less than average (though the restaurant manager deserves credit for making an effort and being hard working) and the café is to be avoided – smoke filled, with loud tv and creeky fridge and not too comfortable seating. I was woken up twice in the middle of the night – once by a random stranger who knocked on the door and realized he had the wrong room, 2nd time by this lady in the opposite room who was loud (who seemed to be living there on a long term) who had company in the middle of the night (???) and was returning from the hotel disco – which, you can hear the bass of till like 2 in the morning (I told the receptionist, who called the manager next day only to say we’ll look into it and move on).
I got a corporate rate at this hotel which, at the time, was less than a third of the surrounding 5 star hotels. I’d only stay at this hotel if it were half or less than the one its opposite. The location is great – same as Sheraton or Le Meridien.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
Thank euricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

What a tip - I stayed in room 407 - as soon as I arrived there there was music from a pub/club downstairs and music from a nightclub on the upper floor - hookers were already out looking for business on the level I was staying at and they ended up chaping my rm door at 2am looking for business - once they seen how disgusted I was they seemd to think this funny and I was woken up regularly at 2am with them laughing etc - complained but it fell on deaf ears and accomodation elsewhere was not an option as everything was fully booked. Cockroaches in the bathroom - room was never cleaned properly.
I even seen a Rat running from the side of the hotel one night and it got ran over by a taxi - taxi's were a nightmare and always tooting horns for customers until about 0215am - this was the worste experience I have ever had -a true tip of a hotel

  • Liked — Nothing it was a nightmare
  • Disliked — everything -a true dump
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank minicooper041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

the hotel was nothing but a whorehouse with prostitutes hanging around everywhere. they service their clients in the disco which is so loud you can hear it in most rooms, you see them going to all the rooms and it is most definitely not a place to take your wife or your family. DISGUSTING

  • Liked — it was disgusting
  • Disliked — the prostitutes everywhere!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank diver9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.0 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Abu Dhabi City Centre
0.3 mi away
Al Ain Palace Hotel
Al Ain Palace Hotel
#114 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Continental Flamingo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abu Dhabi City Center
0.6 mi away
Mercure Abu Dhabi Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Abu Dhabi Plaza Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi
Address: Howard Johnson Hotel Khalifa Bin Zayed the First St | PO Box 73095, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing