We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for making my stay memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #17 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thank you for making my stay memorable”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

-The staff at Intercontinental Abu Dhabi were excellent checking on my comfort through my stay. -
- They listened to my complaint and responded swifly.
- Food was great and the roooms have great view.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yared_Belete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was such a pleasure to read your review. The team and I are delighted that you had a memorable experience and that you have enjoy the food at InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

I thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,417
    579
    170
    42
    29
See reviews for
424
828
133
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

John was very helpful and polite. He organised a large taxi for us and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although it would have been nice if the beach was finished. The check in lady was helpful and gave us a nice room.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chmmkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I have shared your comments with Johan who was extremely delighted with you kind words. I am also pleased to hear that your check in experience was pleasant and you enjoyed the stay.

Our Bayshore project is at it final development stages. Soon guests will be able to enjoy our beach facilities that will include a swimming pool with swim-up bar, children’s swimming pool with a slide, a health club with treatment rooms, 7 rentable cabanas, a restaurant and a beach bar and of course the white sandy beach.

I thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at 3 and our rooms not ready for 2pm checkin. They gave us one after 30mins but connecting one for children still not ready. Seems to be noone actually cleaning it so far so guess they're not bothered....

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincere apology for the unpleasant experience had and for having to wait for your room. I have shared your review with our Executive Housekeeper in order to make sure such matters do not occur in the future.

Please accept my apology once again and I hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The best Friday brunch in Abu Dhabi you can find there next to the pool, rich food variety , you don't know where to start, attentive service with great attention to details, very friendly team with high performance , big thanks to manager Jimmy for the making our first visit to the hotel unforgettable..

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted that you have enjoyed our Friday brunch and found our team attentive offering good service and friendly. It is our aim to provide our guest with a memorable experience during their stay.

Thanks again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great hotel, friendly and professional staff, great lobby .... You get tea from a golden teapot when you check in .... Great internet, spacious and clean room, great bed .... More than enough towels.
The Elements Bar at the wonderfull looking swimmingpool is great. Staff is polite and more than helpfull.

Great hotel, great stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. The team and I are pleased to read that your have enjoyed your stay with us.

I am also delighted to learn that you found our internet service great and our rooms spacious and clean and our bed comfortable.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Having stayed at hotels all over the world for business and pleasure, I would have no hesitation in recommending the Intercontinental hotel in Abu Dhabi.

Apart from being spotlessly clean, well laid out with wonderful facilities, this hotel quite frankly can boost as having the friendliest staff I have ever encountered. Every single member of the staff team were friendly, courteous and greeted you with a smile and were only too willing to do whatever they could to provide you with assistance and make your stay pleasurable.

In addition, the buffet restaurant (Selections) was simply excellent. The sheer choice and quality of the food was memorable. The concierge team were a credit to the hotel and the pool and leisure team were first rate.

If you have the opportunity of visiting this beautiful country, stay at this hotel. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Eat in every day (half board). You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and sharing your experience at InterContinental Abu Dhabi. I am delighted to read that your have enjoyed your stay with us and found our team friendly, courteous and pleasant.

I have shared your comment on Selections Restaurant with the Chef and service team and they all thank you for your kind words. More so, our concierge and pool team are so happy to know that they have offered you a memorable experience.

I thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ischia, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Will make it simple. Valentine day at InterContinental (club room):
Room: clean, excellent room, fridge is locked, from thieves probably? Just one face towel, one pajamas.
Club area 18th flour: excellent area.
Our first food session:1pm, pastries and cookies ware dry. Probably from breakfast buffet, that is not bad, for 2 star hotel.

Pre-dinner food session:
Very budgeted menu (really bad compare 5 star hotels in AD) stone found in falafel in 5 star hotel! No apologise received by service team.

Breakfast in club area: limited, lady chef required training on eggs, she burned 2 sunny side up's. Chicken sausages-just hard bites, properly over cooked. Danish pastries are good, selection of tea's are great.

Pool excellent. Lady on pool reception are so badly rude. She replied to my friend:" I am not talking to you right now" when he asked the question regards the spa and pool.

Guy who received my car on valet parking watched how I unloaded my stuff from the car without any help.

Belgium cafe:
Busy Friday night, just 2 staff, one manager and one bartender. 20 min for drinks to arrive, 40 min for Caesar salad to arrive.
Fish market- 30 min for drinks to arrive.
Honestly-Terrible, rude staff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChefSerzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I have to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your last stay with us. We are discussing all of your mentioned points with the individual teams to make sure these are resolved.

Your comments are very important to us and the feedback we received from our valued guests like you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, thank you for your review and l hope you will give us the change to welcome you back at InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#41 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
2,966 reviews
0.6 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#25 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,224 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,353 reviews
10.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing