We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #19 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Solid choice”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a solid choice if you are going to be in AD for just a short while. Good food choices and a great pool. Fitness center is definitely top of the line and worth using if you're into that sort of thing while you travel. Great reception and concierge who I found very helpful. I think the cost is definitely on the higher end so that is something to keep in mind - especially the food. Internet was costly as well so that's something they could improve given the brand status.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkButt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear MarkButt
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience. The reviews we receive from all our guest are very valuable as they give us a true in-site on the service we are providing. I wish to thank you for your kind words regarding our team and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    568
    169
    42
    29
See reviews for
407
789
132
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I like the intercontinental hotel chain everywhere but here i am shocked with the brkfast buffet doesn't reach the levels for a 5 star hotel :quality ,varaiety ,freshness, my advise to have a makeover! Selections resturant bad experience i've stayed in intercontinental festival city dubai , you can't tell that the both has the same name ! High standars there while here in abu dhabi are the lowest :( again,this is about the breakfast buffet ,but the staff were helpful . rooms clean & has a nice marina & seaview , i like the lobby as well & the piano lounge

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliii2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to hear that the Selections breakfast has disappointed you. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef who will do his best to make sure that the breakfast experience we offer is the best. Your kind words related to the the rooms and front office is very much appreciated.

The whole team is hopping to welcome you again soon in the near future.

Once again, I thank you and

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Dear Dieter Franke
General Manager
Me and my friends just came back from Abudhabi. We stayed at Interncontinental Hotel and had a great experience. From the moment you enter the hotel all the staff are very kind and helpful they are trying their best to satisfy you.
The hotel is located near the sea and at the same time downtown so it is very easy to reach every where within the city. The beach is very nice and it will be nicer as they are building a spa around it. The food is great. Hotel and rooms are very clean. Reception staff are really kind.
One of the most important thing is all the staff at the hotel are very honest. So if you ever forget something do not worry if they find it they will give it to you.
After check-out I forgot 800 Euro cash in the room and when I came back to Turkey I contacted the hotel and they told me they have found the money and did bank transfer straight away.
Special thanks to May Perdon (housekeeping) ( Ibrahim who found the money) and to all other staff for their great help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sibel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear sibel k

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The team and I were extremely happy to read your note and to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is our aim to provide our guest with an enjoyable, hassle free and memorable stay. I am delighted to learn that you have already received the transferred money we found in your room. As a matter of fact my colleague Ibrahim who found the money went out himself to transfer it to you. I am very proud of my team and assure you that we will always do our utmost to provide our guests with the service they expect from us.

I thank you once again for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels in Abu Dhabi. Everything starting from the checkin to the check out was amazing. Very nice selection of restaurants to meet all your cravings. the beach area was cool too.. its also c;ose to the corniche area and marina mall which made it easier for our shopping spree. The club in the hotel was also amazing
Anna was very helpful throughout our stay she was our favourite along with Jobin from the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mathias H

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor and thank you for giving us the perfect score. I am thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is to provide your and all our guests with a comfortable and memorable stay.

Anna and Jobin wish to also thank you for your kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has been around for a long time and is a favorite place for dinner and drinks with expats.

The rooms are nice although the decor is just starting to date a bit. There are some nice restaurants and bars here, including the Belgium Beer Cafe. The location is nice, next to the marina and not too far from the centre of town. Like everywhere in Abu Dhabi, you are never too far from anything and the taxis are cheap.

There are new hotels popping up in Abu Dhabi but this one has some character and will no doubt remain as a favorite meeting place for years to come.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear matthew f

Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to write such nice words about our hotel. I am happy to learn that you are a frequent guest at our hotel and you have enjoyed staying here and have enjoyed the dining offering as well.

It is our aim to provide our guests with the service they expect form us and leave a memorable impression. We take pride the kind of service we offer aiming to deliver the best to all our guests.

I thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The concierge, Raouf was a really great guy. So helpful. nothing was too much trouble for him.
Gave us good advise on tours and booked them for us. Always mindful that some of us are budgets. Breakfast was included in our package and was the best we have ever had anytime, anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Miles R

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for giving us the perfect score of 5. I have shared your kind words with Raouf and Gave from our concierge team. We are all delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we have reached our aim of giving you a memorable stay.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have spent many years coming to the UAE and I would certainly look forward to staying at this Hotel again.
The staff were welcoming and attentive throughout my stay.
The Executive lounge was better than most with a wide range of treats throughout the day; starting with an excellent breakfast.
Firmly recommend it.
But please will ALL hotels please improve the reading lighting in the bedrooms!!!

Room Tip: Have access to the Executive lounge if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Griffin Family4

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for your kind words. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. It is our aim to provide our guests with memorable experience.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#40 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
10.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.8 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing