We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #19 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and fantastic service”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here for business and found the facilities were excellent and the staff extremely helpful. I had something extremely urgent to take care of for the office on the last day of my stay and when I explained the situation they immediately gave me a 4pm check-out. The room was very nice, the facilities were good, but it is the staff and their willingness to try and accommodate their guests’ needs that really make this hotel something special.

This is the thing which brings people back and the Intercontinental Abu Dhabi I can honestly say did a wonderful job during my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Craig F

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your kind words. I have shared your comments with the team and we are all really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is to provide our guests with a memorable stay.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

Best regards

Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    573
    169
    42
    29
See reviews for
413
807
132
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

A delightful return stay to Intercontinental Hotel Abu Dhabi. The Emirates Suite upgrade was outstanding treat. We love the Club, the staff and the atmosphere - always nice to be remembered. The Hotel car and driver were a class act. The only drawback was the very slow service at the pool Restaraunt, but otherwise a perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravenwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Ravenwo

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your upgrade and the Club Floor.

I have shared your comment regarding the slow service at the pool bar with our Director of Food & Beverage and the matter is being addressed.
Thank you for letting us know, our guests’ reviews are always a tool for us to gage what can be done better and to address matters that need improvement.

Once again thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.



Best regards

Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Had 7 nights at this hotel. had a club room which included free alcoholic drinks during the evening and many "light bites" throughout the day. As we also had free half board in Selections we didn't need to spend any extras on food or drink, although we did go over to the fish market restaurant to try it out, and it was very good.

The staff in the Club Room were terrific, friendly and welcoming, a credit to thei hotel. They went out of their way to make sure we had e everything we needed.

All the other staff we met were also helpful and efficient. At the pool, towels and water were supplied, and help given where needed with umbrellas and sun beds.

All in all excellent. Thank you very much

Room Tip: At the moment Idint think the beach front rooms are worth paying extra for, But when the beach wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMWSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear RMWSouthampton

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to learn that you had a good stay with us. Our aim is to always provide our guests with a memorable experience. I have shared your kind comments with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

Best regards

Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 day stay at the Intercontinental Hotel in Abu Dhabi. It was simply fantastic. We got an amazing deal from Manchester including Etihad flights, transfers and half board. The rooms were so comfortable and bathrooms were splendid. Service was second to none and the food was out of this world. Intercontinental has many restaurants on site which were also excellent and their own beach and pools were clean well serviced and easy accessible It was wonderful and we can't wait to return. Congratulations Intercontinental!!

Room Tip: 14th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Rita G

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you had a comfortable stay and we were able to offer you a memorable experience.

I have shared your comments with the team at the hotel and we are all waiting to welcome you back soon.

Thank you once again and best regards

Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 2, 2013

- Friendly staff in the restaurant, also in the room and at the reception;
- Very good cuisine;
- Older mattress in the bed;
- Unpleasant sound transmission between rooms (neighboring room and room on the floor above);
- Impurities in the bathroom caused by some structural details documenting the older building, which already require refurbishment;
- Dirt on the outside of the window (next to the hotel continues to other buildings);
- Considerable noise penetrates into the room from the main street;

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We value your comments as such comments help us identify areas that need improvement.

I am pleased you were satisfied your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again to the InterContinental Abu Dhabi.


Best regards


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

we just had a wonderful stay at the Intercontinental.

the staff really were absolutely brilliant. They made our stay with their helpful and can do attitude especially all in the Club floor.
Our room and the facilities in it was lovely.
A small point worth noting, the whole Hotel smelt of amazing fresh linen! how do you get that ??

well done Inter conti ....we wil be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Linda M

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review. I have shared your comments with the team and we are all delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is our aim to provide our guests with the service they expect from us and to offer a unique experience they will always remember.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you once again.


Best regards


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I can highly recommend a stay at the Intercontinental - let it be for business or for pleasure. We had a perfect stay and absolutely nothing to complain about.

As already mentioned in other reviews, the exterior of the hotel seems a little dated but the interior is very modern and classy.

Staff was always very service-oriented and genuinely friendly (all over the place - from the reception to the doormen to the housekeeping).
There is also a business center which offers services like internet and printing. Again, the staff was very friendly.

The beach area is currently being renovated. Yet, the noise is not disturbing and you can still relax and enjoy a nice day at the beach. According to the hotel the renovations will be finished this summer - the beach area will be larger and will offer a vast range of facilities, including a pool.

The numerous restaurants and bars of the hotel give you a large choice to choose from. I particularly liked the Belgian Café located at the yacht harbour for it's choice of belgian beers and its view of the Etihad Towers.
Breakfast and dinner at the selections restaraunt were always excellent. Every day you were able to choose from a variety of international food of the buffet and the choice varied every day. The presentation of the food was very esthetic and decorated with care. The quality of the food and the service were excellent. We had the half-board option which gave us the option to choose from breakfast-lunch and breakfast-dinner according to your daily schedule.

If you are lloking for a special experience, I can highly recommend the half-day safari which you can book at the concierge desk. The programme includes dune bashing, camel riding, dinner in the desert with belly dancing and henna painting.

The location of the hotel is very good. You can walk to the Etihad Towers (I can highly recommend the superb shopping mall with only the most exquisite shops and Ray's bar on the 62nd floor of the towers) and the Emirates Palace is just a short taxi ride away.

I tested the gym which was quite nice and equipped with the standard supply (treadmill, stepper). The view of the Etihad Towers from the gym was great.

One last word: perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 597Alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear 597Alice

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and write your review. We at InterContinental Abu Dhabi value our guest comments as these comments help us to always improve our services. It is also our aim to provide each guest with a memorable experience and a comfortable stay.

I have shared your comments with our team and we are all pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and thank you once again.


Best regards


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#41 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,922 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
10.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.8 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing