We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #17 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Wiesbaden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I can highly recommend a stay at the Intercontinental - let it be for business or for pleasure. We had a perfect stay and absolutely nothing to complain about.

As already mentioned in other reviews, the exterior of the hotel seems a little dated but the interior is very modern and classy.

Staff was always very service-oriented and genuinely friendly (all over the place - from the reception to the doormen to the housekeeping).
There is also a business center which offers services like internet and printing. Again, the staff was very friendly.

The beach area is currently being renovated. Yet, the noise is not disturbing and you can still relax and enjoy a nice day at the beach. According to the hotel the renovations will be finished this summer - the beach area will be larger and will offer a vast range of facilities, including a pool.

The numerous restaurants and bars of the hotel give you a large choice to choose from. I particularly liked the Belgian Café located at the yacht harbour for it's choice of belgian beers and its view of the Etihad Towers.
Breakfast and dinner at the selections restaraunt were always excellent. Every day you were able to choose from a variety of international food of the buffet and the choice varied every day. The presentation of the food was very esthetic and decorated with care. The quality of the food and the service were excellent. We had the half-board option which gave us the option to choose from breakfast-lunch and breakfast-dinner according to your daily schedule.

If you are lloking for a special experience, I can highly recommend the half-day safari which you can book at the concierge desk. The programme includes dune bashing, camel riding, dinner in the desert with belly dancing and henna painting.

The location of the hotel is very good. You can walk to the Etihad Towers (I can highly recommend the superb shopping mall with only the most exquisite shops and Ray's bar on the 62nd floor of the towers) and the Emirates Palace is just a short taxi ride away.

I tested the gym which was quite nice and equipped with the standard supply (treadmill, stepper). The view of the Etihad Towers from the gym was great.

One last word: perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 597Alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear 597Alice

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and write your review. We at InterContinental Abu Dhabi value our guest comments as these comments help us to always improve our services. It is also our aim to provide each guest with a memorable experience and a comfortable stay.

I have shared your comments with our team and we are all pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and thank you once again.


Best regards


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,413
    579
    169
    42
    29
See reviews for
422
824
133
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here in March and really enjoyed the property. It is a little dated (built in the late 80's) but renovated in the late 2000's. My room was spacious and the bathroom was surprisingly large. Bed was very comfortable and the service and staff were excellent. Would not eat all my meals there, and the Italian restaurant in the complex needs some culinary attention. All in all a good stay and would stay again. Rate was approximately 190/USD per night. Did not get out the the beach, but it was only a few short steps from the main property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAbendhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear MAbendhoff

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I have shared your comments with the team who thank you for your kind words.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a fantastic holiday thanks to the helpful friendly and polite staff. Thank you. The only negative comment is that the restaurant was very expensive and service at the bar slow. The hotel itself is of a good standard, rooms were clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear EdinburghLee

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your comments with our Food & Beverage Director. Such comments always help us to review any shortfalls. I thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best regards


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have stayed many times over the years in Intercontinental Hotel Abu Dhabi. I must say that the management is doing a great job, keeping the hotel rejuvenated and vibrant. The staff from reception all the way to housekeeping and well-trained and service-oriented. Even though the hotel is old and cannot compare with the high tech hotels such as Jumeirah Etihad Towers and the Hyatt Capital Gate hotel, it still has its charms with the waterfront and a range of nice restaurants, such as Chamas, Fishmarket and Boccacio. Keep up the good efforts!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillC426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear WillC426

Thank you for your kind review. Your comments have been shared with the whole team and we all thank you for your inspiring words. Our aim is to provide our guests with a memorable experience during their stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you once again for taking the time to share your review with us.


Best regards


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed for one night on the weekend in a standard room with sea view. Check-in was a little slow. The room was very clean with a good layout. The TV screen was small… I think it 32” for a room this size and system was slow in switching on and changing channels, which was a little annoying, although selection of channels was good in terms of news and movies, etc… The bathroom was OK – the bathtub was small, the standing shower area was very small, however the overall size of the bathroom was large.

I had a sea view room, although I would say that the view was not really all that great, considering that beach area is a small strip of land and the view is covered filled up mostly with construction sites and empty reclaimed land… not much of a beach or sea view! Nonetheless, it is still better than the other side of the hotel!

The breakfast was good, but the chefs (at the egg station) were mostly indifferent and not chatting with guests. I feel that in many hotels where the chefs chit-chat with guests it makes it a livelier environment.

I strongly suggest to try out a massage treatment. The masseuses are very good and this is one the better ones I've had in some time!

Check-out was a breeze and took only 2 minutes. The valet is quick and brings your car around within a minute (if you are driving). However, beware that there is not much signage pointing towards the hotel around the area, as the Emirates Palace and the new Etihad Jumeirah Towers are the most imposing structures around. It is a little confusing on the roads and you have to make your way by looking at the direction of the building. I missed a few turns.

Room Tip: The beach view will not add much of a "view" to your room and it adds on the price. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawad Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Jawad Q

Thank you for your review. I have shared your comments regarding the TV system with our engineering team and they are already looking after the matter. As you mentioned our beach is being developed to include a huge recreation facility which will have two swimming pools, rentable cabanas, beach bar, a restaurant and of course the white sandy beach. We aim to have this development done by early Q3 of this year.


I look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you once again for taking the time to share your review with us.


Best regards


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hi, I know speaking for intercontinental is never easy in a negative manner but I have to. I had a couple of events at this hotel and I must say; it is nothing compared to other hotels or essentially hotels in Dubai. The property on the whole is not maintained well, the wood polish, cleanliness, the glare all is missing. Plus at the time of events, no hotel staff was present for assistance from the hotel. Wi-fi is such a big deal; that no one knows who has the password and finally when you find someone with the password; they say, you have to buy it & when you ask the price; it's almost equal to 2 month's internet at home. Overall, a bad experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prafsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Prafsa,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am disappointed to know that you did not enjoy your most recent visit with us especially with the maintenance levels on site and Wifi charges not being up to standards. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Again, many thanks for the candid feedback and my apologies for the inconvenience.

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

service was quite good and rooms decent, rates closer to 3.5

really liked the Club Lounge, it made this hotel quite a good value

the beach and pool area were passable but expect them to improve in the near future, fewer package tour groups from Russia + EU

Room Tip: of course you want a road on beach side, not facing main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Sam S

Thank you for your review. We at InterContiental Abu Dhabi value our guests . We take every effort to provide our guests with an experience they will always cherish.

Thanks once again and hope to see you back soon at the hotel.

Best regards


Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#42 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
2,957 reviews
0.6 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#25 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,196 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,347 reviews
10.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing