We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #19 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
New delhi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Imagine getting up to have a view of the sun rise on one side, looking at the Mooring where the boats are anchored, If you get a pool side view you are up for bonus!!

The room was perfect with nice amenities on check in...the hotel is more than 30 years old but has recently gone through a renovation process.

The food is amazing. The Fish Market (thai restaurant) is to die for. Select your own fresh options of sea food and order them to be cooked in from the selection of sauces. The Bulgarian Beer Cafe is a brand in itself. Great beer options to choose from and some good eating options as well.

If you are crazy for Meat, Chamas Steakhouse is the place to be for Brazilian cuisine with live music in the evening. They have a great Red & Green sign concept. The meat keeps coming in if your coaster is displaying green color. Some amazing options that come in big skewers and get served on your plate. They also have a good wine list. But enjoy the mix fruit punch with shredded ice and you can also add some alcohol to enjoy if you want.

The Yacht Club is the place for the drinks, great snacks and great view. Can get a bit humid in the evening if you are outside.

Meeting Rooms are in plenty and I enjoyed my business meetings. The Wifi can be a bit slow at times though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REVENUEMANAGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at InterContinental Abu Dhabi. Your comments were shared with all the colleagues and it gave everyone a boost to work even harder making our guests stay as comfortable as possible and to make sure they leave with a smile on their faces.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

Reema Baroudi
Director of PR & Communications
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,356
    568
    169
    42
    29
See reviews for
408
789
132
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for 7 night holiday, half board and the hotel was a great hotel, the room was large with a very comfortable bed and was well equipped with large tv having every sport channel you could ever dream of !!!! plus lots of movies. The 3rd floor swimming pool was very relaxing with great staff giving free ice cold water and making sure you where kept cool in the desert sun. The beach though partly closed for new redevelopment, making way for a new swimming pool and bar area was lovely and cant wait to come back next year to try out the new beach complex. Overall a very nice hotel with excellent location to explore Abu Dhabi (taxi are so so cheap) and Dubai is only 1hour half drive away . Only issues we had in the hotel was music noise from Oktoberfest that kept us awake till late and the club lounge though very nice lacked atmosphere. But overall the hotel was excellent and perfect for relaxing holiday, many thanks for all IC staff on making our stay in Abu Dhabi a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyd_Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
It is very much appreciated to see that you have kindly left a nice review sharing your experience at InterContinental Abu Dhabi during your last stay with us. Please allow me to apologise for the music disturbance you had to face during your stay. I have shared your comments with my colleagues in the hotel and they were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the swimming pool and the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back when the beach development is finalised so you can enjoy the new swimming pools and the sandy white beach.
Thanks once again

Reema Baroudi
Director of PR & Communications
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had an amazingly excellent experience in this hotel.
Everything was perfectly done and neatly done. I got the pleasure to deal with one of the staff, a Moroccan lady who's name was lamia. She was so professional, so helpful and so polite.

I m planning a trip to the UAE soon, and intercontinental will be my home away from home.

If you get to got to this hotel, ask for the Moroccan star named lamia. She made our stay a 5 star one and experience to remember.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amal_M110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experience of your at InterContinental Abu Dhabi. My colleague Lamia is delighted to hear that she was able to be of help to you during your stay. Your words have encouraged Lamia and her colleagues to give 101% effort to make sure our guests receive the service they expect form InterContinental Abu Dhabi.
Lamia and the whole team of InterContinental Abu Dhabi look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel.

Regards
Reema Baroudi
Director of PR & Communications
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a great, perfect experience. Either you are working or visiting Abu Dhabi, here you have just all perfect things and you feel home. Everything you need is there, the assistance you need is there, the smile you need is there.... Moreover enjoy your evening welcome pwered by Raouf!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDarkSideOfMySelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I attended the Abu Dhabi film festival this week and stayed at the IC - a discount price and all the five star luxury you could want. Reponsive staff, excellent sheets and bed, huge bathroom and fast prompt service for small problems that arose. Room service is wonderful and food quality is fantastic. I enjoyed and would definitely return to stay there for next year's festival.

Room Tip: For chosing a room, if you don't mind being on the floor with the dentist office, select 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellemindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the Intercontinental Abu Dhabi. We had booked a Club Sea View Room and were upgraded to an Emirates Suite. The suite was very spacious with a wonderful view of the Gulf. Bed and pillows so comfortable I could have taken them home. All staff were efficient, professional, friendly and always helpful. We also made use of the concierge service and hotel limousine; always prompt service. Food in the Club lounge was fresh and always replenished. We ate at 2 restaurants, the italian and seafood market. Food and service at both restaurants was first class. A truly enjoyable stay at an excellent 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: High floors have a better panoramic view of the Gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita-Marie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

It was my first time in Abu Dhabi.On my arrival i knew i picked the right hotel,the staff was friendly,the concierge Danny was very helpful and the manager Nadar he knew exactly how to treat his guests,Finally .the valeting staff was also great.Overhaul great service keep it up.Mr Singh

Room Tip: Make sure you go to Yatch club nextdoor and fishmarket restaurant for fresh fish mouthwatering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singh445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,116 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#40 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
10.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.8 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing