We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Questionable reception !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #17 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
MC
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Questionable reception !”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is the fourth time I stay in this hotel, my last review was entitled : "Third wonderful stay".. Although my room, the food, the cleanliness overall were perfect as usual, my check in was this time very upsetting. Just to mention that it all depends on the person who is behind the counter of the reception when you arrive !!!
My check-In lasted more than 15 minutes. Considering that I am a member of "IHG", this hotel's chain, I would have imagined a much better reception : so many questions, and so much delay for a prepaid stay, we felt like unwelcome strangers; having refused a credit-card's deposit for possible additional expenses, I have been suggested to pay cash every consumption with the refusal of the hotel to put eventual additional charges to my hotel's bill...I asked this person if he was a trainee, he responded he was a Front-Office supervisor.
I suggest to the Management to take measures for correct training of new (European) staff.

I have always been very grateful to the staff in this hotel, especially to Rami, the Front Office Manager, and Miss Lamia, the Guest-Relations Manager, who very kindly and very professionally solved rapidly this issue.
Despite this unhappy reception, my stay was overall very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank boutondargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear Boutondargent

We are very sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience and extremely apologetic that your fourth stay with us turned out to be an upsetting one right at the start.

We hope that this will not be your last stay with us. We have taken corrective measures to ensure that new staff is well trained and properly informed of not only our patrons but of our first time guests as well.

Once again please accept our deepest apologies and gratitude for your continued patronage. WE hope to receive you again in the future and promise your experience will be just as good as your first three visits, if not better.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,416
    579
    170
    42
    29
See reviews for
424
827
133
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

It is a very good hotel. It has excellent lobby and lavish living rooms and impressive dining area.

Room Tip: I recommend any visitor to stay at this hotel. I advise to choose sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SZAZAHID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear SZAZAHID

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review of your stay with us. We are very happy to note that you enjoyed our lobby area, our living rooms and dining facilities. We are also please to note that you liked the view from our sea-view rooms.

We hope you will return in the future and give us the opportunity to serve you again

Thanking you

Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

A little dissapointed by being cut off by the roadworks, but overall good quality.

Room Tip: Pay for club and hope for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chooseyourname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review of your stay with us. We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed the service of our staff as well our Club room facilities.

At the same time we are sorry that you were disappointed with the road-works that were out of the control of the hotel.

We hope you will return again and see the works have been completed and enjoy a non disrupted service by us.

Thanking you

Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We arrived very late in the evening and we could not fault the front desk staff, extremely efficient and they kindly upgraded our suite which was a great start to a fabulous holiday and a very long journey. All the staff throughout our stay be it in the club room which was one of the best we have been in, the restaurant staff or the room cleaner were just so friendly and really made are holiday very special, i have never had so much evian water replenished in any hotel anywhere which as an evian drinker could not have made me happier (small things)!!. We ate in Chamas which was my favourite, Fishmarket twice which was fabulous, we loved the fact you could choose any fish and any sauce oh and the oysters were just great and a new edition to our diet, and the Yacht club which does go on until early mornings (take your earplugs if your not a night bird) it was a great end to the evenings. The beach was a little noisy but you kind of get used to the building work that is going ahead at present, lovely pool area with great service and great pizza for lunch in the Italian. We did venture out to Emirates palace and the new Etihad Towers which was much nicer than the palace we can really recommend beirut restaurant in the Towers if you want a change of scenery however it really is not necessary. Fine bottles of wine are expensive but no more than anywhere else in the world. All in all for a week away for new year we could not fault this hotel yes there are new expensive hotels being built but for relaxed and not stuffy 5 star you really can't go wrong with the intercontinental and to top it all we managed to get Coldplay tickets on New Years Eve, what more could we have asked for!, we will absolutely come back and stay here.

Room Tip: Join the ambassador programme and choose a club room at least on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAAWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear LAAWigan

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review of your stay with us. We are delighted to note of your great experience during your visit to Abu Dhabi and your stay with us.

In particular we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed our restaurants, the pool are and our our staff behaviour.

We look forward to welcoming you once again when you come during the winters and hope you find our services ever improving.
Thanking you

Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Overall not terrible, but try newer hotels, there are plenty. Avoid goin to Fishmarket hotel restaurant, bad food, terribly overpriced, service non existant

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabuleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Tabuleh

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review of your stay with us.

We are very sorry to hear about your bad experience at the Fishmarket restaurant. We will definitely consider your feedback when we review our facilities in the near future and you disappointment is being communicated to the concerned people.

Thanking you

Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

ON entering reception it is impressive and reception staff were friendly.
We had a deluxe room which has a modern decor. The room isn't the biggest but had enough room for a double bed a single bed, sofa, and desk without feeling cramped. The bathroom is large with a separate bath and shower.
We had booked a great half board deal with travelrepublic.co.uk but it meant that we couldn't change anything like upgrade to all inc or club rooms because the hotel stated they didn't know what we'd paid to start with! Also they were not prepared to offer any discount at the other restaurants in the hotel if we didn't want to eat in the buffet.
The buffet breakfast had a great choice of food, including a hot and cold pork section. The evening meal always had a good choice. The only day i was disappointed was Valentines day, not that i wanted anything romantic as we had our 9 year old with us, but the restaurant was very busy and the buffet was not kept topped up!
The other restaurants in the hotel had good menus though we didn't eat in them, they also did specials like all you can eat mussels one night a week. The Piano bar was a relaxing place to have a drink, though we never saw anyone playing the piano, and once a week they do all you can consume wine and cheese - this seemed to appeal to ex pats.
The swimming pool is not huge but ideal for a quick dip, not great for serious swimmers or lots of kids. The sunbathing area is nice with plenty of loungers. The staff are not shy of giving two towels per person and bottles of water are provided free in coolers.
The beach is across the marina, small with lots of loungers a beach bar, a kids play area for younger children.
The hotel has a variety of conference rooms and has the feel of a business hotel rather than a leisure hotel. Having said that it is a good hotel with friendly attentive staff.
PLEASE REMEMBER that there is building work all over Abu Dhabi and I think from what we saw you can not avoid it, you will see it from the majority of hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear delacourt

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review of your stay with us. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your room and appreciated our staff and the breakfast and dinner options at Selections restaurant as well as our Pool area.

Unfortunately the week you stayed with us we were in the process of switching over the diet that performs at the Piano Lounge and therefore you did not get to experience the live music there.

Thank you once again.

Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey,UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed 5 nights vide BA & obtained half/board ( + free non alcohol drink) £580 as as paid up early. Reception good & upgraded to sea view large room re Premier ponts. Room spacious & clean although bathroom/shower not exceptional.Buffet breakfast excellent & buffet varied & well cooked/prepared. Hotel restaraunt's not so good, but 3/4 other outlets ones really fabulous. Must give a special mention of the on-site Belgian Bar/Cafe, brilliant food/beer & cheerful helpful staff such as Honeylynn made it a first stop in the evening. Conciege/Doorman not so good & only interested in putting you in the expensive Limo's & not putting you in the Yellow National fixed priced ones. A bit off putting were the ladys of the night in the Lobby & Hotel bar & going up in the lifts a lot!. Bought to attention but told as long as they were drinking they could do nothing about it. Lots of Road works around hotel.

Room Tip: Ask facing Arabian Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pompeyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Pompeyblue

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review of your stay with us. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your room and appreciated our staff and the breakfast at Selections restaurant as well as the on-site Belgian Beer cafe.

We are also sorry to note that you were not pleased with our concierge services. We will take your feedback into consideration upon reviewing our services in the near future and hope you wil give us a chance to serve you again upon your next visit.

Thanking you

Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#41 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
2,966 reviews
0.6 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#25 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,220 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,351 reviews
10.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing