We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How great our stay was at the Intercontinental Abu Dhabi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Long winded story, but the hotel and staff are nothing short of fantastic and could not do enough for us, especially the Duty Manager and the guys on the front door - fantastic staff - A bit late writing this review as my wife and I stayed at the hotel in September for our anniversary. A week or so before arriving at the hotel, we e-mailed them requesting a nice quiet room as it was out anniversary and also been a long year of hard work and time for a relaxing holiday!! we arrived late in the evening and the people on reception were very helpful and polite, there was a problem with our reservation and after a while it was sorted as they booked the room in our name but using a different method of payment that did not correspond to our nightly tariff, but after discussing that the tariff we had on our reservation was correct and theirs was wrong, they decided to sort the matter interally so we can get our room and get to bed!! We were promised a nice quiet room, but at 4 am we were nicely woken by the sound of drilling from opposite the road, we had only got to bed at about 1am from a long flight and travelling, the drilling went on and on. At 8am we had enough, went for breakfast with drilling ringing in my head. On our way back from breakfast (which on our first morning was as if we did not excist and was ignored by the staff in the breafast room), we passed the Duty Manager and decided time to have a chat. The Duty Manager was awesome to speak to, was very concered by what had been happening both with the room and at breakfast. Whilst he was chatting to us he got his head of reservations over and immediately instructed that our room was to be changed to a quiet one and that the hotel would move our luggage and take care of everything, he called the Breakfast Duty Manager to come down and discuss the issues with us. The Duty Manager made us feel so very welcome and could not do enough for us. We are not ones to complain and made that clear to the Duty Manager, but he seemed so concerned by what we were saying, he could not get his staff moving quick enough to sort out our issues. Within the hour our cases had been moved to our new room and the Duty Manager escorted us directly to our new room, upon arrival a beautiful selection of fruit and a stunning chocolate cake was waiting for us. He showed us around the room, the interenet etc.. Our holiday had really started. The room was awesome, really typical first class Intercontinental high standard room. We have stayed at various Intercontinentals around the world from Hong Kong, Thailand, USA, Europe etc and the room and hotel here did not disappoint from this moment on. The hotel provides a mini-bus service to the shopping mall, we did not know you had to book, so one day it was full and we had to get off, the next bus was in 1 hour, the Duty Manager heard what happened and came straight over to us just as we got off the bus to let the passangers who had booked on and re-assured us that the bus will come back espeically to pick us up and it did, we didn't have to say anything about it being our fault not realising you had to book, the hotel sorted it straight away - it was small things like this that really does make the hotel even more special and makes you feel good about staying there. The guys on Concierge are an absolute credit to the Intercontinental, could not help us enough with information about Abu Dhabi, places to eat, malls, where locals go to dine, the culture of Abu Dhabi, how the UAE was formed, they are so very knowledgeable and were more than happy for us to ask them numerous questions about Abu Dhadi and the surrounding areas. The restaurants in the hotel are also in the Enteratiner Abu Dhabi book, so you can get 2:1 on main meals, it is not often we like to eat in the hotels as we like to experience food outside, but the quality of the restaurants in the Intercontinental it was worth experiencing the food. The Italian was great, the fish restaurant was awesome and Brazilian buffet was simply fantastic fun. We did venture out to other restaurants in a center near the Shangri-La and found them good, again we would have never know if it was not for the Concierge and Duty Manager recommendation. Without a doubt I would highly recommend the Intercontinental Abu-Dhabi, It was great, even on our 2nd day at breakfast we got assigned a waitor who looked after us every day during our week stay and my wife found a breakfast cereal she really liked, he or his assistant made sure they kept a packet for her for when we came done for breakfast. How things changed from our first night/morning, after this we got to see the fantastic service that the wonderful staff offer, how much they were willing to help and do for us to make our stay very special. We can not fault the hotel, when we go back, without a doubt I would stay here again and if you can't decide, just book this hotel, you can get a very good deal like we did, you will not regret it - oh and if you are worried the pool area might be small - we found it great, the pool bar staff were fantastic, the pool staff always got us chairs to rest on in a nice peaceful area - overall I have to give this 5/5 even after our slight issues at the beginning, the way the hotel handles everything is great, the Intercontinental should be very proud of the staff working here. Thank you for making our stay very relaxing and special and an extra special thanks to the Duty Manager.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in an upper floor overlooking the pool - you will not regret it :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shadowthfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear Shadowthfc

Thank you for taking the considerable time to write such a fantastic review about Intercontinental Abu dhabi and our staff, who we believe are at the core of our organization.

We are very happy to note that you truly enjoyed and experienced the "in the know" of the local culture and city from our staff. It is very important to us at Intercontinental that our staff make our guests feel welcome and are responsible for sharing their local knowledge and experience with our guests.

We are also apologetic for the bad experience on your first night but are glad that you gave us the chance to redeem ourselves and made your next days with us memorable.

We hope you will give us the chance to serve you with our superior standard upon your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Thanking you

The Management Team
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,660 - 1,666 of 2,430 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

As part of a prestigious hotel chain I suggest you should take measures of quality training to the staff. Only by this perception our stay did not result positive and we can not recommend it. Only the kids Club gave a positive service. Very good breakfast, restaurant weak and expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flannaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear Miquelg

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

We are very sad to hear that your stay with us did not match your expectations and the high standards that are required of any Intercontinental Hotel in the world.

We will certainly include your feedback while reviewing our facilities and standards in teh near future.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves upon your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Please accept our sincerest apologies once again.

Thanking you

The Management Team
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This hotel was one of the first in Abu Dhabi back in the 70s, and was likely pretty swanky back then. Now it's a bit tired but functional. The main establishments are very good - the belgian bar and the Chamas brazilian BBQ shouldn't be missed - but the carpeting in the hotel proper is fairly dingy. I was also irritated that my air conditioning would automatically ramp up to 30 C every day when I wasn't in the room (I assume so the hotel could save on the bills, but when I'm in and out of my room after conference meetings downstairs it was irritating). Overall, just OK. NOTE: The beach area is depressing, as there is construction just a few hundred feet across from it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pomacentrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear Pomacentrus

Thank you for taking the time to write review about InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed our main establishment and our award winning restaurants - The Belgian Beer Cafe and Chamas, our Brazilian Churrascaria.

We are also very apologetic for the inconvenience you had to suffer during your stay and your annoyance, especially concerning the air-Conditioning and your disappointment with our Beach.

We will include your comments during reviewing our facilities and services in the near future.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future and upon your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Thanking you

The Management Team
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I travel to AD often and always stay here. Arrive / depart at anytime and the staff smoothly takes care of everything. Good restaurants, great gym, pool is outstanding and all within a short cab ride (less than $5) to Marina Mall, The Corniche and central city (where my meetings are). Never have had a problem with billing, internet, room features.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Dear John M

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

We are very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your several stays with us and liked the hospitality of our staff, facilities and services.

We greatly value your opinion and feedback and it will be our endeavor to always meet your expectations. Thank you very much once again.

The Management Team
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I landed in Abu Dhabi quite late in the evening and got to the Hotel around 9pm. At the front desk they could not find our reservation and kept us waiting for 40 minutes. No apologies was made and actualluy in the end they said that they made an exception finding a roo for us as they were fully booked. The called our agent in UK who confirmed that the reservation was correctly progressed and confirmed. So not a good start. The room was not very clean, however good size and standard furniture.bathrooms was very tired with broken tiles and a very old tub. Internet is extra. The rest of our stay progressed was pretty poor with a very helpless staff : we asked to make a booking at one of the restaurants at Emirates Palace, where there we were told that there was no booking in our name. I had an appointment with the events manager to discuss possible collaboration....he did not turn up and later send an email saying he had forgotten ! When asked for an hairdryer , had it delivered the day after...and so on. Break fast is ok, even if the quality of ingredients is really low. The main issue to keep in mind, if you ever dediced to book, is that there is a building site in front of the beach with lorries and noisy truck going in and out all the day long...definetely not what you expext for your holidays and of course there is no mention to this on their website or when you contact them for a reservation. Would reccommend it only if you could get a could deal like we did for 600 GBP for 4 nights over new year.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weddinginrome W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Dear Weddinginrome

We thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

We are deeply apologetic for the unpleasant experience you had during your short stay with us earlier this month. We sincerely regret every one of the several mishaps you encountered as mentioned in your review. We are re-tracing every incident you have mentioned and your displeasure is being communicated to all concerned with the hotel staff.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for you unpleasant stay at InterContinental Abu Dhabi. We are making every effort to ensure that such incidents do not occur in the future and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you with impeccable service, upon your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Sincerely

The Management Team
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Went over new year for 10 nights. This is a relatively old hotel by Abu Dhabi standards and unfortunately, like most hotels in the state is surrounded by building. So although it is relatively close to the centre and the Corniche, walking anywhere is out of the question.
The hotel suffers by comparison to some of the newer glitzier establishments but is reasonably comfortable without being in any way plush. We had a club room which is well worth the extra money as it provides constant food selections, including breakfast and alcoholic beverages for 2 hours each evening ( a bonus as alcohol is very expensive)
Overall the level of service, whilst, somewhat inconsistent, except in the club lounge, is quite good although requests are not always dealt with promptly, sometimes not at all without prompting. However complaints to senior management usually did the trick. All in all a mixed bag and the "wow factor" you expect of a 5 star hotel was missing.
The pool area is quite pleasant with comfortable sunbeds, towels and complimentary water in an icebox. However it can be noisy as the hotel seems to attract package holidaymakers, we had 2 days when a large group of unruly adults and children(unfortunately English)virtually took over the pool area and nothing was done to curb their excesses, the management later denying that they knew anything about them (poor management). There is also a man made beach area which is quieter but a longer walk from the hotel than the pool.
There are plenty of overpriced restaurants but none, other then The Fishmarket (where we went for an excellent new years eve)are really 5 star standard
This hotel now looks old fashioned and with the increasing level of competition will really have to offer something extra special to survive as as 5 star luxury. The impression is that they are offering specially good deals to survive and investment and upgrade is really needed or , perhaps the admission this is now really a 4 star hotel.
Having said that our stay was by no means unpleasant, The Concierges were helpful and I have already praised the club floor staff but there may now be better ( if more expensive)options available

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICHARD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Dear RICHARDLONDON41

Thank you for taking the time write an insightful review on InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and opinion on our services and property. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay at our Club Lounge room accommodation and our award winning restaurant - Fishmarket.

We are happy that you liked our pool area and apologize that your time here was not particularly pleasant.

We are deeply regretful for the unhappy experience you may have encountered as a result of our property and service. We will certainly include your feedback and opinion when we review our facilities ans service in the near future.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again upon your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Sincerely

The Management Team
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

(Am writing this review with a personal slang, this hotel is my home!) Hmmm, Lemme get straight to the point. It's kinda funny that I referred to my stay at Intercontinental Malta as an Imperial stay, nonetheless, neither do I compare for each one is truly majestic, I would refer to my stay at Intercontinental Abu Dhabi as a Majestic one.
I checked in on the 7th of August 2011, with a full year stay package. Simply it's awesome! starting at the very first day of my stay, the staff; and I mean it, each and every single one of them treated me as a direct family member! All my concerns were addressed as soon as I report them.
I would need lots of space to write my appreciation towards Intercontinental Abu Dhabi, but I'll try, at least, to be sincere and point my personal respect and thankfulness towards the General Manager, Mr. Dieter Franke and:

Ms. Lamia Bahhar - Guest Relations Manager.
Ms. Ioana - Guest Relations Desk.
Mr. Rudolph Karam - Director of Sales.
Mr. Moaiad Abi-Zamr - Sales Executive.
Mr. Nader - Chief Concierge.
Mr. Amrou - Front Desk.
Mr. Anthon - Front Desk.
Mr. Azmy - Front Desk.
Mr. Michael - Front Desk.
Mr. Mubarak - Front Desk.
Mr. Ahmed - Concierge.
Mr. Emad - Concierge.
Mr. Nizam - Mini bar attendant.

I also do thank all the other staff members I couldn't name.

Thank you Intercontinental Abu Dhabi

Mohamed

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear Mohamed J

Thank you very much for writing a great review about our hotel.

We are just glad as you, that you have taken up residence in our hotel and hope you continue to enjoy our hospitality just as much as we enjoy to continue serving you.

Thanking you

The Management Team
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#47 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,148 reviews
10.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#26 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,788 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,492 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#20 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $151 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing