We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely stay here again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #18 of 131 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed here for the Easter weekend. Excellent hotel - nothing was too much trouble and we were able to arrange early check in and late check outs with no trouble. Room was spacious and clean and we had a great view over the pool. Complimentary paper and water every day were greatly appreciated.
Ate at both Chammas (meat) and Yacht Club - Chammas was expensive but such a novel idea for a restaurant being an all you can eat meat feast. The Yacht Club was very cosmopolitan and attracted a younger crowd - food being light bites. Both were of good quality.
Location of hotel was handy being near the Marina Mall and Emirates Palace and also easy to get across the Corniche by taxi.
Would definitely stay here again as it had everything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unclescooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Dear unclescooby,

We appreciate the time you took to write your review. We find great pleasure reading that our guest left us happy and enjoyed their time with us. Glad you enjoy our Brazilian restaurant Chamas and Asian cuisine at The Yacht Club. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Dania Malki
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    530
    157
    40
    28
See reviews for
350
708
126
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

My colleagues and I were very impressed by the excellent service and large clean rooms. The hotel provided an efficient laundry service (up to 3 items for free per day) and the clothes that came back were pressed beautifully .Very comforatble and cool for sleeping. The hotel was full of marble and classy chandaliers and the breakfasts were out of this world!

Room Tip: Use the hotel swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa3London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear Tessa3London,

We thank you for staying at InterContinental Abu Dhabi.
It is a great pleasure to learn how satisfied you were with the service and the hotel.
Thank you for sharing the great photos and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dania Malki
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

Just spent a few days at the IC using my Priority Club Points and paying the top up for full Club upgrade that allowed use of the lounge and inclusive breakfast. I woild have got a room upgrade as being Platinum Level of Priority Club but opted to pay the extra to give me full use of the club.

My room on the 16th floor was superb, and all of the resturants I used were of verg high quality, it not a tiny bit pricey.

The pool area was very nice and the staff very attentive, the only down side being the fact that the pool was busy on the Friday/Saturday weekend, but I experience this at the Sheraton the week previous.

Use the hotel car hire desk and alos the service of the concierge.

The free limo to the airport (one journey - not both) was an excellant perk of upgrading to the Club.

Next time I visit Abu Dhabi I will stay at the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Dear KSwift,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and benefited from the Club InterContinental. We hope you will be visiting us soon.

Sincerely,

Dania Malki
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

I've traveled on business in Abu Dhabi every two to three month for about 2 weeks each for the past 3 years. Having checked out several hotels in the city I very much like the IC - its so bright and at a perfect location for my work. Service used to be quite good too. Things have gone down for the past several month. I am a platinum member and there has not been one single time when check in was easy or resulted in me getting even the upgraded room I was supposed to get. Every time its a struggle, this time I can't even pay for the upgrade I want. The food quality at several of the formerly really good restaurants has gone down too. Next time I'm going back to the old dark rooms at the Hilton. At leat I'm getting treated well there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

This gives us the opportunity to address your concerns and at the same time review our services such as membership benefits for Priority Club Platinum members.

Please accept our apologies for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion.

With each guest comment received we strive to put suggestions into effect to make our guests’ stay with us a more pleasing and memorable one.
Although you have mentioned that you would not return to InterContinental Abu Dhabi, I do hope you reconsider and allow us the opportunity to show you our normally high standards of service.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

Best regards,

Philipp J. Economou
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

WOW from the minute we arrived at the IC. My wife and I stayed here for a weekend from Dubai , This was our first time to AD so we thought we better stay at one of the best in town, I'm a Priority Club Platinum Royal Ambassador member and was Recognised at check in. We were upgradeded to Club floor room on the 15th floor with a FANTASTIC City and Partial Gulf views.
We got Club Lounge access which is on the 18 and 19th floors with Views over looking the Arabian Gulf and the City skyline, They provide in the lounge full breakfast afternoon tea cocktails in the evening with a happy hour also. All the food was fantastic and more than you could ever eat, The staff and service are second to none always happy to help and always with a smile. They provide a free shuttle bus to the marina mall which is about 5 minutes ride away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FEATHERSTONE74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear FEATHERSTONE74,

We appreciate the kind review and the photos you posted. It is a great pleasure to read that you and your wife have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Dania Malki
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

I stayed at this Hotel for one week with some friends in March 2011. After spending weeks reading reviews and comparing location, rates and facilities I can certainly say that Intercontinental Abu Dhabi is highly recommended and haven't been dissapointed.

Location: depending on what you are looking for, this Hotel is 10 minutes walk to the Emirates Palace and 15 minutes walk to the Marina Mall. Very quiet location, extremely safe even walking back to the Hotel at 1am. There is nothing around the hotel in terms of shops, restaurants and so on, therefore if you are looking for a tourist area, busy, noisy and centrally located please head off to the Tourist Club Area, where Sheraton Towers and Beach Rotana are located but please bear in mind construction works and noise.
Hotel itself: spotless, looks old on the outside but beautiful inside; great gym, good size pool where you can have lunch for just 50AED by the pool (ceaser salad and can of coke), great views of the sea and lovely walks around the Marina. Beach is OK but compared with the pool the water is very cold. We stayed in a King Club sea view room, good size, marvelous marble bathroom with bath and shower and flat screen TV in a very confortable king size bed. Nothing to complain about. There are lovely walks around the Hotel, specially around the private Marina and its yatchs.

Food: the Hotel itself has different restaurants; you will be having buffet breakfast at Elements restaurant where you can have a wide range of good aliments but don't expect too much about pork sausages and bacon. We also went to the Belgiam Cafe, this is not cheap and spent about £50 each for a pint of Stella, creamy mushrooms starter and apple chicken with chips, it was lovely though.

Abu Dhabi: this was our first time here; don't go to Abu Dhabi if you want to sightseeing and looking for culture. This is a place to relax and have sun. There is no much to see/do here although a visit to the Grand Mosque is certainly recommended. This is a place where you can see money is not an issue and absolutely spotless.
We did the Big Bus Tour and I wouldn't do it again, very expensive (around £40 each) and nothing to see apart from the Grand Mosque and Emirates Palace, unless you want to have sun on the bus.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chippy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear Chippy68,

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review about your stay with us, we are extremely happy to see that you have enjoyed your time and it was a relaxing vacation for you.
Our buffet restaurant is Selections where breakfast is served, we are pleased you have tried the Belgian Cafe and Aquarius the pool restaurant . We hope you will be able to try the Brazilian restaurant Chamas, the Italian Boccaccio and our Asian restaurant The Yacht Club on your next visit.

We look forward to see you again.

Kindest regards,

Dania Malki
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

I stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel, Abu Dhabi during over the Christmas and New Year period with my husband.
On arrival at the hotel late at night we were quickly checked in and shown to our room. However, we had booked a pool/sea view room but on opening the curtains found we had been allocated a city view room. We immediately contacted reception who were extremely unhelpful and could only offer to move us to the room we had booked the following day. However, after demanding to speak to the duty manager we were allocated the room we had reserved.
The bedroom was of a high standard. Nice décor, clean and well maintained. Only gripe was house keeping calling too early in the morning!
The pool area was very nice with lots of comfy sun loungers/umbrellas and a great pool bar. The pool attendants were very helpful and the cool boxes with chilled water were very welcome. It’s also nice to have the beach but we prefer the pool so didn’t venture down to the beach.
In terms of dining, we had booked a table at the Selections Restaurant for New Years Eve prior to arriving in Abu Dhabi. However, on arrival we found this to be the standard hotel buffet restaurant where breakfast was also served. What chaos! Management of the restaurant at breakfast was totally disorganised. Staff appeared untrained and poorly supervised/managed. When we requested a table in a non-smoking area, we were shown to a table clearly in a smoking area. When we questioned this, the maître De replied that there was no one smoking at that moment! Every morning, there were long queues for tables if you weren’t at the restaurant before 9.00am. It appeared that the restaurant couldn’t cope with the number of hotel guests during such a busy period. Thankfully, one morning we had the option to take breakfast in the Italian restaurant, Boccaccio, which was 100% better.
As a result, we cancelled our reservation for New Years Eve and opted to eat at the Fish Market Restaurant instead which was excellent. As a huge fan of seafood I can honestly say that this was the best spread of seafood I have ever seen and they made a real effort to make the New Years Eve celebrations special.
During our stay we also ate at Chamas Churrascaria, the Brazilian restaurant which is a must for meat lovers, Boccaccio Italian and the Belgian Café. The Belgian Café has a great relaxed atmosphere and the best mussels and fries in town! Drinks on the terrace at the Yacht Club are also a must.
A final thank you must go to Danny, the concierge, who helped resolve a difficult problem with our transfer back to the airport.
In conclusion, great hotel , with the exception of the management issues in Selections restaurant, in a lovely position .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyBurger1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalAD, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Dear WendyBurger1966,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the nice comments you had about our restaurants and Danny from our Concierge team. As you have mentioned the new year period is the busiest in Abu Dhabi and the UAE in general, however the service should remain the same so I will share your comments with our Selections manager.

In hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dania Malki
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.5 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 131 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,946 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 131 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#37 of 131 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 131 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing