We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent stay during Abu Dhabi Intl. Triathlon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Ranked #12 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay during Abu Dhabi Intl. Triathlon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was the second time we came to stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi in the frame of the Abu Dhabi International Triathlon.
It is located conveniently to go for a morning run alongside the beach road (the Corniche).

Food & Beverages:
The generous breakfast times during week days until 10:30am and 11:30am on weekends allow you to take all the time you need at the buffet offering an extensive variety of literally all you would expect at a buffet. I could not think of anything missing. We did not try the lunch buffet but dinner buffet at "The Garden" was just as perfect including the desserts. You should absolutely try their Lemon Ice Tea with a blend of fresh mint!
If you are more into Pizza and Pasta then "Spaccanapoli" is your place to go at the hotels mezzanine floor. Here I've seen the longest pizza ever (1 meter long) which was tempting, but following the triathlon I opted for "Pizza all you can eat" :) Authentic taste is all I can say!

Rooms:
The rooms are spacious, very clean and the beds are so comfortable!

General:
The hotel's staff is helpful and very friendly making you feel welcome.
During our stay they were conducting a routine test of the fire alarm system, which was announced via loudspeaker by a non-native english speaking voice. We met an old lady on the corridor who was puzzled because all she understood was "fire alarm". I explained it was only a test. It would help having a native speaker (even if recorded) do the announcement of the test. The strong accent of the announcing voice is really difficult to understand.

All in all the service, quality of food and beverages and level of comfort is great and absolutely recommendable. We'll be back again next year. Looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear “slkash”,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi and for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay here on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your feedback of The Garden and Spaccanapoli and we are happy that you were able to try and experience our award winning restaurants that we really take pride of. On your next visit, you can try to experience Cho Gao Asian Restaurant or Heroes Pub.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and that you were comfortable during your stay.
We welcome your comments about the announcement of the fire alarm and thank you for bringing it to our attention. Rest assured that we will share it with the management and staff.
Again thank you and we look forward to having you back in the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    270
    48
    10
    1
See reviews for
96
146
89
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A convenient location. The staff were friendly and helpful and check in/out was very efficient. I had a very generous welcome gift of a fruit basket which was a nice touch. The room was large and seemed rather sparse given what was in it. The bed was very comfortable though. I had a great meal in Spaccanapoli with some friends. I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJSINV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear “BJSINV”,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi here on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to note that you had a great time during your trip and that you enjoyed the hotel’s location, staff, room and you experience one of our award-winning Spaccanapoli.
We definitely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have just returned from a 5 week stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Hamdan Street, and my second vist in the past 2 years, it only gets better! The managment, staff and everything about the hotel is superb, from the friendly greeting when you arrive, to the staff all gathering to wish you a safe journey as you depart.
The room was always kept spotless,coffee and biscuits replenished daily, and on the odd occasion anything was missed a quick call put things right, thank you Travis!
The variety of food on offer in the restaurants is wide and high class, but Cho Goa on the ground floor is probably the best food you would ever find outside of a Michelin star restaurant, with a comprehensive menu which should appeal to all tastes. The service is good, staff always ready to offer advice and serve you with a smile. For a week my wife came to visit she would'nt eat anywhere else!. It is also a great place to meet friends and sit and talk over a cool Tiger beer, not to be beaten!.
The Pool Level Lounge bar is a pleasant rooftop bar again somewhere to meet and relax, the music lighting and atmosphere is contempory and should suit most people, but if a quieter atmosphere is what you like Vincents on the 9th floor, hidden away in the corner has the old English gentlemans club feel to it, but all are welcome there.
In the day the Pool is the place to relax, sun beds are free and the pool is clean and refreshing, but certainly not cold. On the same level you have the gym and spa if you feel the need for extra relaxation.
While I was there, one of the crew working with me was injured in a road accident, on his return to the hotel the managment made sure everything possible was done to ensure he was ok, making certain that a call was made to his room at meal times to make sure that he had food to take with his medication, and also offered to do anything that was required to help him with his recovery, Thank you to the General Manager Ivor, for all your help with this.
All in all the hotel has everything you need for a business or family stay in Abu Dhabi, central location, clean, friendly, and value for money, I think you would find it hard to beat anywhere. I would advise anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Higher rooms or front facing are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonySolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear “TonySolihull”,
We would like to thank you for your continuous support at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi and for taking the time to share your wonderful review here on Tripadvisor.
We are privileged that our staff managed to make you, your wife and your colleague’s stay an enjoyable one above all the circumstances that happened. We are happy that you were able to enjoy our products and offers.
Recognition from our valued guests is music to our ears. We strive to get better all the time to provide our wonderful guests' such as yourself something to look forward to.

We will definitely share your feedback with the management and staff.

Again thank you for your recommendation to other travelers and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at the Crown Plaza whilst visitng my husband who was working in Abu Dhabi. From the moment I arrived I was impressed. The staff are friendly and attentive nothing is too much trouble. The room was spotless always stocked to the max. Breakfast had a varied variety and if they didnt have it they would get it or make it for you. The pool was on the roof in the Level lounge. It was clean, peacefull, relaxing, staff were always on hand to assist. My only bug bear was that the Steam room was out of order due to maintenance. The hotel is well situated for exploring Abu Dhabi and is surrounded by a variety of shops and restaurants, with the hotel having an excellent choice of restaurants and Bars onsite, depending on your taste (my favourite being Cho Goa). All I can say is I cant wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisaj999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear “Lisaj999”,
We are thrilled to read your wonderful review and thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share it here on Tripadvisor.
Our staff takes great pride in providing our valuable guests like you a seamless service and this recognition is highly appreciated. We’ll be happy to pass on your comments to the team.
We appreciate your feedback with the hotel’s facilities and we are glad that you were able to enjoy them.
As you have mentioned, our location is centrally located making us ideal for business and leisure travelers.
Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good hotel when in Abu Dhabi when you want a very good quality hotel while you have no wish for the expensive frills of the more expensive five star hotel.

Good choice of restaurants and coffee shops and bars.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZZHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear “ZZHC”,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi here on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you were able to experience some of our award winning restaurants that we take pride of.
We look forward to your next visit with us.

Best Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I want to thank the hotel for the welcome they have booked during our visit to Abu Dhabi.
Our stay at the hotel was great. The team and the staff were very caring with us. Allways smiling and very professional, they have participated in making our stay enjoyable. Similarly, the quality of food and service in the restaurants is noteworthy and was perfect.
We spend a very good time in your hotel and we will come back when possible.(and for sure for the next Abu Dhabi Triathlon).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear “didier M”,
We are thrilled to read a wonderful review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi and thank you for taking the time to share it here on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that our team managed to make your stay an “excellent and pleasant” one.
We are happy that you were able to try some of our restaurants too.
We definitely look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed here for a week recently with my husband. The staff were extremely efficient, courteous, helpful and accommodated our every request. Nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were spacious, spotless, with really comfy beds and the pillows were a dream.
Ate at all the dining choices; great Italian, fantastic Asian, and the sports bar served good bar food - all at reasonable prices.
The hotel is located in the hub of the business district, easily accessible and close to shopping.
A great welcome to Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyQw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear “MissyQw8”,
We are thrilled to note that you had a pleasant stay with us at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi and thank you for sharing it here on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to read your comments about our staff, rooms, restaurants and location and will be shared with the management and staff.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.
Best Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
3.5 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 stars 2,552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#7 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#16 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#2 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#27 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Address: Hamdan Bin Mohamed St, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#14 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi is an upscale hotel conveniently located in the city centre, just minutes away from the Corniche, main shopping districts and key business locations. The hotel provides friendly personalised service and a range of facilities from wifi access, Health and Spa facilities. For holiday makers, the hotel offers competitive prices & facilities. The 18 metre long roof top pool offers skyline views & an opportunity to exercise or relax.The hotel boasts and excellent array of Restaurants, Bars and LoungesHeroes, Abu DHabi's best Sportsbar in the basement; Cho Gao, Award-winning non smoking SE Asian Restaurant - Bar and Lounge, ground floor; Spaccanapoli, Abu Dhabi's favourite Italian with the famous one metre Pizza on the Mezzanine floor; Cappuccino's, the Cafe on the 1st floor offering Snacks and pastries;The Garden, the international Buffet Restaurant on the 9th floor;Vincent's Cigar lounge on the 9th floor;Level Lounge Chill out Bar by the pool on the RooftopBanquet and Meeting space is available for up to 400 Persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abu Dhabi Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing