We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel on Hamdan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good business hotel on Hamdan”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have stayed at Crowne PLaza in Hamdan St several times on business. Since the last stay the reception has been remodelled and it is much improved. Rooms and beds are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is good as is the service.Cho Goan is a nice restaurant and I had a good value and tasty lunch there with the daily special. The Italian is also good, through I did not eat there on this trip.
Only downside is that Heroes is still a smoking bar, so unpleasant if you are used to smoke free atmospheres like in Oman and UK of course.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocklobster50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear “rocklobster50”,
Thank you for taking time to post a review of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi here on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you find our hotel “a good business hotel”. We appreciate you like our “remodeled & improved reception area”, the “clean & comfortable bedrooms” and that you enjoyed Cho Gao & Spaccanapoli.
We also have noted your comment regarding Heroes and will be shared with the management & staff.
We do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    304
    56
    12
    4
See reviews for
114
170
100
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed for around 10 weeks over the summer 2011 and found the hotel very comfortable and convenient for central Abu Dhabi. Overall the staff are amazing and very helpful.

Watch that you don't get a room on a lower floor as rooms at the front can get noise from Hamdan St and rooms at the back get the early morning wail of the nearby mosque. Corner rooms are best unless you want a connecting door to the neighbouring room - useful for families i suppose but otherwise it can be noisy.

The rooms are a little old fashioned but comfortable, clean and fairly spacious. The mini bar is useful if you stock up on supplies from the supermarket opposite and the room service isn't bad although the choice is fairly limited.

The gym is on the top floor and isn't massive but is perfectly fine. The pool is on the roof and fine for a hotel aimed at business travellers. It isn't a pool you'd want to sit around for a long holiday. If that's what you're looking for then there are far better choices in AD e.g. Hilton, Sheraton, InterCon, Beach Rotana...

Never ate in the main restaurant as its an all you can eat buffet which doesn't appeal to me. Cho Gao on the ground floor is reliable offering a range of Asian dishes. Not bad value but service can be very slow. The Italian restaurant on the 1st floor is also reliably good but again service is very slow.

Heroes sports bar in the basement has a happy hour til 8 and free wine for ladies most nights I think. Its very popular with expats working nearby. There's a quiz one night early in the week and bands from about 9pm most days. Vincents bar, through the 9th floor main restaurant, is much more refined than Heroes. The prices in both bars seem the same. Make sure you join the Priority Club loyalty scheme before staying as you'll get a voucher for a free drink when you check-in.

If you're driving then the valet parking is very useful as its a difficult area to find parking. If you don't have a car then its possible to walk, in winter, to most places in central AD or there are always cheap taxis available outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJimBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, E-Commerce Executive at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear “JJimBean”,
It is very pleasing to learn that you found Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi “very comfortable and convenient for central Abu Dhabi” and that our staff is “amazing & very helpful”. We would like to thank you for taking time to write a very detailed review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi here on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your tips regarding room location. In Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi, we are continuously upgrading our services & facilities which include bedroom upgrade.
Thank you for your comments about the pool & the gym. We are glad that you have tried several of our outlets.
Your feedback will be shared with the management & staff.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2011

i stayed two nights in CROWN PLAZA abu dhabi(hamdan street)28-30 ,OCT 2011. I had a good check in,(11 a,m),,,,Staff are all helpfull,,kindness,and so polite,the breakfast was fantastic.the room was very comfortable and clean,,the swimming pool and also souna was very good. The bar near the pool had a friendly envirenment,The location of hotel was great,,,the price that i had booked BB, was also great.every things was exellent and i had a very good journey during my stay,Thanks again (552059039 priority club)
ALI from IRAN

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, E-Commerce Executive at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Mr. Ali,
It is very pleasing to learn that you did enjoy your recent stay with us here at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi. Thank you for taking time to post your experience here on Trip Advisor.
We are happy that you had a good check in and that you appreciate the effort our staff has put in to make you feel special. We are grateful for your particular comments regarding the “fantastic breakfast”, “comfortable & clean room”, and “very good swimming pool & sauna”. It is great that you have tried the Level Lounge and that you found our staff “friendly”.
Thank you for your feedback about the location & the rate and you found your stay an “EXCELLENT” one.
Our management & staff will be happy to hear your comments.
We do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I have just returned from the Crowne Plaza where I spent 12 days on holiday with my wife and the whole experience was just amazing. We ate in all of the restaurants, Cho Goa (Asian), Spacconapoli (Italian), The Garden (Buffet style) each meal was better than the next. We sampled a number of drinks in the bars within the hotel, Level Lounge, on the roof by a very relaxing swimming pool, Heroes Bar in the basement and Vincents, our favourite, a piano bar on the 9th floor. Fantastic music can be heard from both of these venues most evenings. Apart from the excellent food and great entertainment, the staff are the friendliest and most helpful people you are ever likely to meet. Nothing is too difficult for them and no matter how busy they are they will always have a smile and a friendly word for you. I cannot speaky highly enough about them. The rooms are large and well maintained and cleaned each day by a very efficient team. The Hotel itself is in a great location on Hamdan Street close to many other venues and just a 5 minute walk away is the Corniche. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone considering visiting Abu Dhabi, I guarantee you will not be disappointed. We will be returning to this very special Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GavnAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, E-Commerce Executive at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear “GavnAli”,
It is very pleasant to hear that you had an enjoyable time during your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on Trip Advisor.
We love to read your positive comments about our colleagues and we are very glad to note you appreciated their efforts in making you feel special. They will be delighted to hear that your stay was made much more enjoyable as a result of their commitment to providing “highly recommended” customer service and we will ensure they are all informed of this accordingly.
Thank you for your feedback and for making time to try all out outlets. We are very happy in your particular comments about each outlets, the room, staff and location.
Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again and as you recommend us further.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The hotel is located in the heart of the city, where you can reach most shopping malls within 10 minutes or less by taxi or car. It has nice rooftop swimming pool, and a very good sports equipment in the gym. The room I had was very clean and tidy and daily newsapaper was also provided too. The staff are friendly. I stayed in this hotel two years ago and when I went back there was only one staff member (ROD) who remembered me when I was having a beer in HEROS and he was very quick and served me right away and kept the bill open for me while the other ones were asking me for a credit card.

Room Tip: I think best rooms are on the main road of Hamdan Street for a nice view. not at the back of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABADE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, E-Commerce Executive at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear “ABADE”,
Thank you for taking time to write a complementary review of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi.
We greatly appreciate your kind words about out hotel and in particular comments about the location, nice rooftop pool, very good gym, clean & tidy room and friendly staff. It was very pleasing to read that you still chose to come back to us after two years. Your comments will surely be shared with the rest of the team and appreciated.
Our guests’ satisfaction is our main goal at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi and it is gratifying to learn this has been achieved on this occasion.
Again, thank you and we do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Abu Dhabi for 2 nights for a business trip from October 15 and it was excellent. The staff were very polite and professional. I was given a suite which was great value considering what i paid, and the food was great. Location was central and close to my meetings. I was literally no more than 20 minutes from anything i needed to do, Overall, i will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sotasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, E-Commerce Executive at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear “sotasan”,
Thank you so much for writing such a great review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi here on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to see that you gave us top scores on location, sleep quality & cleanliness.
We are glad that you felt you were given a great value and thank you for your comment about the food.
We will make sure to pass on the kind words about our staff as well. It is always nice for them to hear how good of job they are doing.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I really like everything, the lounge bar on the attic, the swimming pool, the room, the staff, breakfast, everything clean, immaculate, very good value for money, close to the corniche, shopping malls etc. Of course, one have probably the best range of hotels in the world in Dhubai, Doha and Abu Dhabi. Nevertheless, a top experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, E-Commerce Executive at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear Carlos,
We are thrilled to hear that you find your stay with Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi an “excellent” one and thank you for taking time to write a review here on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your very nice comments particularly the “immaculate, very good value for money” and “ a top experience”. Our management and colleagues will be delighted to hear your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,615 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Abu Dhabi
Holiday Inn Abu Dhabi
#3 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
#45 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#26 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi Hamdan Bin Mohamed St, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#14 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi is an upscale hotel conveniently located in the city centre, just minutes away from the Corniche, main shopping districts and key business locations. The hotel provides friendly personalised service and a range of facilities from wifi access, Health and Spa facilities. For holiday makers, the hotel offers competitive prices & facilities. The 18 metre long roof top pool offers skyline views & an opportunity to exercise or relax.The hotel boasts and excellent array of Restaurants, Bars and LoungesHeroes, Abu DHabi's best Sportsbar in the basement; Cho Gao, Award-winning non smoking SE Asian Restaurant - Bar and Lounge, ground floor; Spaccanapoli, Abu Dhabi's favourite Italian with the famous one metre Pizza on the Mezzanine floor; Cappuccino's, the Cafe on the 1st floor offering Snacks and pastries;The Garden, the international Buffet Restaurant on the 9th floor;Vincent's Cigar lounge on the 9th floor;Level Lounge Chill out Bar by the pool on the RooftopBanquet and Meeting space is available for up to 400 Persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abu Dhabi Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing