We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spa review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Ranked #20 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I had recently a wonderful experience when I tried the traditional Turkish Hammam at Eastern Mangroves. The treatment, facilities, decoration, friendly & expert staff, welcoming, etc... everything was excellent. I had a wonderful time and definitely I will return back shortly.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Ibrahim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Ibeheri,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.

We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful spa experience during your visit at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our Spa team.

Our sincere thanks for your continuous support and we are very glad to hear that you intend to stay with us once again.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

I've stayed at the Anantara in Bangkok and wasn't too scared about the Anantara in AUH and expected much the same service. I wasn't disappointed. The check - in was easy, the reception staff went out of their way to help us. Even upgraded us to rooms facing the mangroves, didn't charge us for extra guests because we were a bunch of girls looking for some fun. They didn't mind us going to the pool at 2:00 am. Which was a first for most luxury resorts. The room rents are also affordable and there are no extra hidden costs to surprise you at check out. We requested for late check - out , they agreed to that without any haggling or arguing from our side. The rooms are brilliant, the view is of the beautiful pools followed by the mangroves far and near! it was pure luxury!!!

Room Tip: Always those facing the mangroves!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmnaZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear AmnaZee,

Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

It was a pleasure to note how much you have enjoyed your visit with us. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the accommodation and service.

Our team is happy to hear you had a great stay at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Visited the hotel with my wife on a busy public holiday weekend in May.
The room was lovely, and whilst not facing the mangroves gave us a great view over Abu Dhabi and could see Sheikh Zayed Mosque from the balcony.
We spent most of our 2 days by the pool which is not huge in size but was sufficient to accommodate all the guests even on this busy weekend. Extra sunloungers had been brought in from a sister hotel to accommodate the increase in occupancy so never had any trouble getting a space, which shows good proactive thinking on the hotel's part. Also the staff around the pool were incredibly attentive and ensured that everyone found a sunlounger as soon as they arrived. Pool bar service was quick, and the quality of the food also very good. All in all the pool was good but may have begun to seem a little monotonous if we had stayed any longer than 2 days. It is not a 'resort' size pool area so nice for a weekend away but wouldn't have wanted to stay by the pool for longer than that.
The bit that let us down was the Spa experience. On arrival nobody was at the reception area. There was another couple waiting and after about 15 minutes they went into the next door salon to see if they could find anyone. The salon people went in search of someone and eventually somebody came out to check us in. Seemed to be only one lady working on reception and she only came out because someone had gone in to tell her we were waiting. The couple in front of us left before she even arrived!
Then we were checked in and when the therapist came she asked us if we enjoyed our welcome drinks. We never got welcome drinks so couldn't really comment!
Despite the spa check-in experience the treatment, therapist and room were very good but we felt more irritated than relaxed due to the frustrating hunt for a staff member at the start!
Left my comments on the hotel's comment card but never heard anything back.
Overall the stay was good but considering the spa treatments were half of our overall spend I have to reflect this in the scoring.
I would, however, recommend the hotel based on all our other experiences during our stay. Not necessarily as a holiday resort but lovely for a couple of nights away and can see it being a nice luxury business stopover too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andymardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear andymardon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, you comments are very much valued.

I was saddened to learn about your disappointing experience at our Anantara Spa and regret this occurrence as you were unable to appreciate your spa treatment. I am most concerned by this short fall in such an important area of the hotel and I wish to reassure you that we have reviewed our training process ensuring a much improved guest experience at all times. My team and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during these particular instance.

Apart from the points you have mentioned, we are truly thankful for recommending Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa as luxury business hotel in Abu Dhabi, UAE.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here as part of our Abu Dhabi trip & it coincided with my wife's birthday. Well looked after from the moment of entry to departure. Hotel has a very Eastern feel & is lovely & welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. We had lovely room overlooking the Mangroves. Large & spacious with all facilities you would expect of hotel of this standing. All parts were exceptionally well maintained. The pool guys kept us cool with regular supply of cold towels. We had inclusive breakfast - strongly recommended - it was superb, the individual chef service being top notch. There was simply too much to choose from.
Went to the Thai restaurant on our second night; superb food at good price. Across the hotel the prices were all very fair - perhaps the cheapest mini bar we have come across for a 5* hotel.
And they provided a lovely birthday cake for my wife
Outside there is nice promenade with a small selection of shops/ bars including Waitrose & Starbs.
The one negative we saw was not of the hotel's making - an Indian family refused the breakfast as it did not contain their home dishes. Would have thought it sensible to book ahead if that was their choice. I am sure they could have found plenty from the vast array of options, other visitors from that part of the world seemed happy with everything. It was disappointing & rude that the father appeared in his pyjamas & I think the staff should have refused him entry.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank cantleyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear cantleyblade,

Thank you for your amazing review and for your appreciation of the hotel.

When a guest chooses our hotel for a special occasion such as birthday celebration, we strive to provide memorable services. I am delighted to learn that you have lifetime memory having celebrated your wife’s special day here at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara.

In closing, may I thank you once again for taking the time to bring your feedback to my attention. At Anantara, we are committed to providing wonderful memories for all our guests and I hope to welcome you again in a not too distant future, maybe even for an anniversary

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We visited this property for a weekend getaway in the first week of Ramadan. Overall, it is a very serene property, overlooking the Mangroves in Abu dhabi. The staff is polite, and courteous. Unfortunately, as our visit coincided with Ramadan, the occupancy was extremely low, making it almost too quiet. With the FIFA world cup on, we expected a lot more buzz at the bar. I'm guessing the hotel does not advertise enough / keep enough offers to attract a decent crowd. The pool deck was mostly empty in the evening. Again, I believe this was more so because of Ramadan. However, it would be recommended if the hotel would have some deals for to attract crowds during lull periods to make the ambience more lively.
We visited the Thai restaurant downstairs for dinner, however, the vegetarian options were minimal, and we had to leave, and visit one of the promenade restaurants nearby.

The swimming pool is gorgeous though, and the lifeguard on duty is pleasant.

Also, the room service was fantastic, as they made our rooms when we stepped out in the evening without us asking.

Visit if you prefer a quiet getaway, close to the city, yet away from it.

Room Tip: Choose the mangroves view, only because you do not want to stare at the city. The weather was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anjana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Anjana A,

Thank you for choosing Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara and for taking the time to provide your feedback. We welcome the opportunity to learn from your experience and improve our service.

We are glad to hear that most aspects of your stay were pleasant and that you were satisfied with the accommodation and service except that the hotel was too quiet at the time of your visit.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a very nice hotel.the staff are very welcoming and very helpful . When you see the place from the outside you wouldn't give this hotel any justice as it is near a high way, however once you come off the high way you will immediately feel the luxury. Once you step in you feel you are in a different world . The atmosphere is amazing , calm , relaxing and welcoming . When you get to the room you will think you have booked a suite . The rooms are very spacious .
The hotel is about 10 minutes away in a car ride from the Corniche and city centre so if you are there for business I think this is a plus as once you are finished with days work you can retreat to a calm relaxing place .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tayseer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Tayseer m,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor and it was a real pleasure to welcome you and your family on property. Thank you very much also for your great review.

As an Anantara hotel, it is our brand promise to ensure that our guests be introduced to local custom and cultures, also experience the best of our hotel. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Rest assured that we will do our best to make your next stay at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara as memorable as the last one.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We escaped a weekend to Eastern Mangroves and it was just wonderful.
Check in was efficient and though we arrived one hour prior to the regular check in time, rooms were readily available. The bellboys were so fast delivering the luggage that it was already nicely placed in the room when we entered.
The rooms are just stunning, very very spacious and very very clean. We had asked for a babycot upon reservation which was readily available as well. Usually we are little bit picky when it comes to baby cots in hotels (as they might not be the cleanest) but even the cot was in immaculate condition.
We loved the pool area with a nice adult pool, but as well the two small kids pools that are awesomely located little away from the adult pool with sun loungers around. Superb to place our little 2 year old in the pool splashing away and we relaxing on the lounge always being able to have a perfect close eye on her! Awesome! Pool bar food and drinks were very good and the pool bar boys were very nice trying to fulfill all our requests as soon as possible!
The first evening we visited the buffet restaurant and food was stunning! The restaurant manager was very attentive and went out of his way! The buffet is great, all you can wish for, tempura, sushi, dumplings, sate, salad buffet, pasta fresh as per your order, just to name a few.
One thing to add, pricing of the food and drinks is very decent as well for a property as such.
We had an absolute great stay would definitely recommend this property any time!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nicoletta82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear nicoletta82,

It gives me great pleasure to learn that we have again succeeded in leaving you with delightful memories of Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara. We sincerely thank you for your patronage and for your wonderful review.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel and we are thankful for recommending us as your preferred hotel in Abu Dhabi, UAE. Also, your appreciation of our friendly and efficient staff, the pool, the room and the overall services is very encouraging.

In the meantime, assuring you of our continued care and attention at all time and looking forward to welcoming you back to hotel and making each and every stay of yours a memorable one.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
4.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
4.8 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,126 reviews
7 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
7.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,474 reviews
4 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#22 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa

Address: Sheikh Zayed Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $120 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara is ideally positioned along a stretch of Abu Dhabi’s protected Eastern Mangroves District. Only 15 mins away from Abu Dhabi International Airport, 10 minutes from Abu Dhabi National Exhibitions Centre (ADNEC) or a short drive from downtown, the hotel enjoys a naturally stunning setting coupled with an extremely convenient location.Discover a haven of elite amenities that showcases Anantara’s distinctive luxury. Choose from 222 stately rooms and suites, characterised by abundant personal space and decor reflecting the splendour of the region’s desert and mangrove landscapes.A collection of impressive facilities provide definitive urban experiences and set the scene for extraordinary meetings and events. Dine on authentic Thai culinary delights at Pachaylen enhanced by authentic decor. Kick back and relax at Impressions, the stylish rooftop lounge offering million-dollar views and enjoy a showcase of culinary treasures at Ingredients with its masterful chefs on show. Unwind by the infinity edged pool with breathtaking views, while savouring Mediterranean cuisine from The Pool Deck or enjoy the luxury of a decadent afternoon tea at The Mangroves Lounge spread over two floors in the heart of the hotel.Relinquish every last sign of stress at Anantara Spa, where guests experience complete rejuvenation of body and mind and discover the healing powers of a traditional Turkish Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing