We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Ranked #23 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing Service”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We would have been here for 2 nights but sadly only ended up being one due to a long flight delay. However, when we arrived at almost breakfast time and feeling very tired check in was very swift and we were advised that we would not be charged for missing the first night. That now is what I call amazing service. The short stay we had could not be faulted at all - rooms, staff, service, breakfast and the spa were very, very good and I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel and I am looking forward to returning hopefully at the end of this year.

Room Tip: choose a balcony facing the mangroves
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Majicou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Majicou,

Thank you for your wonderful review about your stay.

I am glad we were able to create a positive experience for you and you found our staff and service of a high quality. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    253
    67
    25
    23
See reviews for
335
493
70
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Level Contributor
195 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a beautiful location facing some of the famous Abu Dhabi mangroves. The rooms are large and attractive and if you have a mangrove facing room you can admire the view from the room balcony. The breakfast buffet is extensive and good. In the same complex there are some nice restaurant sand coffee shops facing the mangroves (including Carluccios) as well as a Waitrose supermarket. Accessibility is good. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ZiadR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear ZiadR,

Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always a great encouragement and motivation for our teams to hear about guest satisfaction which is our main concern.

Now we look forward to welcome you hopefully for another stay at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed at the Anantara Eastern Mangroves over 4 nights for business. We arrived about 11pm at night and were very warmly welcomed by the staff at the door who kindly took our luggage and showed us to the reception desk. There were 6 of us checking in and we were quickly shown upstairs to our room. Mine overlooked the pool and was extremely luxurious with small touches like a note for 'sweet dreams'.

The food is 5 star. The breakfast was amazing - I opted for the pancakes every day. The lunch just as brilliant with an excellent choice. Dinner is a buffet and you can try duck, lamb, cheese, pasta and many local delights such as hummus etc. but the greatest thing is the sushi. I've been all over the world and never tried sushi like it (I even managed to convert a colleague into loving it).

The staff are extremely attentive and constantly trying to assist you which is lovely. They turn down your room at night and will en devour to get you anything you need.

I can't comment on the pool, spa, gym etc as I was there for business and didn't have time unfortunately . . .

Can't wait to go back for a holiday!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hutclis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Hutclis,

Thank you for your beautiful review and for staying with us.

I was pleased to learn that you very much enjoyed your stay with us. Additionally, I have also taken good notes of how you commend the hospitality and excellent service rendered by our associate as well as the food selection most especially our sushi. Please be assured that your kind comments will be shared to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara and experience our Spa as well as enjoy other recreational activities.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed in this hotel couple of times. Nice rooms and amenities.
Very friendly staff everywhere specially at the pool.
The best is their breakfast with unlimited choices of everything.
Reception was very flexible with my requests of sleeping disorders.
My recommendation is to stay in a city view room instead of sea view so you don't have to hear jet skis going around. You can always enjoy a nice view from their top bar.

Room Tip: If you have a light sleep than request a city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeeF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear ZeeF44,

We are always happy when guest chooses our hotel, and furthermore are honored if the guest has been pleased with his/her stay at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara.

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate you sharing your amazing experience in particular the breakfast and the excellent service provided to you by our associates. Please be assured that such remarkable praises will be pass on the rest of the team.

Once again, your valued patronage is very much appreciated and looking forward to be at your service again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Well priced and relaxing break. The hotel is on the outskirts of Abu Dhabi right next to the mangroves. On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful. After being seated the receptionist came to us and booked us in. Fast and friendly service with a nice cold drink whilst waiting.

Taken to the room, the view was nice from the balcony, the rooms spacious and well equipped with clock / iPod dock, large number of multi-language channels and very quiet. Bathroom again was a very good size. The room was well maintained with a large selection of pillows to suit everyone's needs.

With apartments next door, there is a supermarket and restaurants about a 3 minute walk from the hotel pool area. Food in the hotel was good, if a little expensive but this is standard for Abu Dhabi.

If any negative comment, it would be the loungers by the pool are too few for the hotel if it was busy, so you do need to get there early to make sure you get somewhere to sit. Again, the waiting staff were helpful and very friendly.

Highly recommended if you are in need of a quiet getaway!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidalexander73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear davidalexander73,

On behalf of the team, I would like to personally thank you for the nice comments. It is a delight to read compliments that my team is very friendly and that you feel they are proud to work for the hotel.

I have read with pleasure your positive comments on our accommodation and service. It will be a great motivation for the teams concerned to hear about your satisfaction and I will not fail to let them know. Furthermore, thank you for your comment about the sun loungers. Rest assured that we will do our utmost to address this concern.

In the meantime, thank you for your continuous support and looking forward to the pleasure of your company once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights over the Easter weekend and thought it was a good choice for a holiday hotel (as opposed to many of the other options which are much more business focused). We had a Kasara city view room which was huge with a nice sized bathroom too, whilst the room does face the city and over looks a busy main road the cost difference between this and a mangroves view was quite a lot during the period we stayed and we didn't feel justified the expense. We would however thoroughly recommend the Kasara lounge, which included breakfast, afternoon tea and drinks and canapés in a beautiful tranquil setting over looking the mangroves and we loved sitting on the balcony with a glass of prosecco watching the sun set.

There are several restaurants within walking distance; seafood, Carluccios and an Indian, we only tried the seafood but would certainly recommend it. From the airport it cost us c£12 (much cheaper than the hotel quoted us and readily available) and we also got taxis to the mosque c£5 and to The Emirates Palace c£10, so whilst you need to travel it is not expensive and taxis are easily available.

There are a lot of comments around the pool being small, but I have to say we stayed during a very busy time and most people were accommodated first time with beds, if not people don't tend to stay all day so it wasn't long before beds were available.

In terms of improvements our check in could have been better, granted it was about 11pm at night, but they tried to sell us breakfast (fortunately I knew it was included in the lounge) and no one explained the benefits of the lounge to us e.g. Timings for breakfast or sundowners (incidentally 5-8.30pn and we were amazed by how few people took advantage of them). Similarly, I used the concierge to book a spa treatment, which was done without me being present, I would have hoped for some form of confirmation that the booking had happened, which I have certainly had in other hotels of similar standard. We were also advised to visit the mosque at a certain time because of when they turned the night lights on - which wasn't correct, in addition it would have helped to be warned of the dress code (loose long sleeved trousers & shirt & head scarf for women) or the fact that you need to leave ID to hire the outfit to cover you if not dressed appropriately. Finally, I was disappointed to find the bedside draw had not been cleaned thoroughly when we checked in with an empty cigarette packet & other rubbish left in it.

Overall though we would certainly recommend the Hotel as being a nicer, warmer option than somewhere like the Jumeriah or Fairmont, both of which we walked through and found to be very clinical/business like which would not be our preference when we are away.

Room Tip: The Kasara lounge is definitely great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dentonsdestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear dentonsdestinations,

Thank you for your honest review and valuable comments about your stay.

Indeed, we always welcome guest feedback and find it extremely valuable in our efforts to maintain the standards of service which our guests have come to expect of Anantara Eastern Mangroves. Please be assured that I will discuss all points mentioned with my team and make necessary measures in order to avoid such unpleasant experience.

Apart from the points you have mentioned, I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed some other aspects of your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you again and ensure that you stay goes beyond your expectation.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Drove from Dubai Marina to The Anantara yesterday for an over night stay with my wife. Arriving with an open top Ferrari did help as the valet parkers could not do enough to assist us from the car and with our... luggage (Waitrose carrier bags). Check in was very relaxed and the welcome was very warm and informal, with dates, cool towels and saffron tea.
We had a room on the 3rd. floor overlooking the mangrove, it was lovely, spacious, superbly comfortable bed and quite a large balcony. Our carrier bags were delivered to the room whilst we checked in.
We had a lovely meal in the Thai restaurant, chef's starter selection and then two seafood variations that were cooked to perfection. Two glasses of white for my wife and two bottles of Peroni for me - 600 dhs. Lovely food, lovely staff and a complimentary entree that was so tasty yet so spicy. Up to to the roof top bar, which was ok! My only real gripe - slow to provide a very disappointing cocktail.
The staff were attentive, yet relaxed, just pitched it right! The pool was lovely with an inanity pool overlooking the mangrove. I loved it.
Breakfast was not cheap, but again worth the extra, relaxed and set me up for the day. Car packed, check out without any quibbles, big tip to the valet parkers and away for the drive back to Dubai.
Would I stay there again.... Yes I shall.

Room Tip: Pay that little extra for a mangrove facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear KevanJ,

Thank you for your detailed and superb review about your stay.

I was very pleased to know how much you enjoyed your visit with us and would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the accommodation and service. Your feedback is a reward for the team, which puts in a lot of effort to exceed our guests expectations.

We are grateful for your support and we are very much pleased to hear that you intend to stay with Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara once again.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
4.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
7.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#21 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#3 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa

Property: Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Address: Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa By Anantara Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan St, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara is ideally positioned along a stretch of Abu Dhabi’s protected Eastern Mangroves District. Only 15 mins away from Abu Dhabi International Airport, 10 minutes from Abu Dhabi National Exhibitions Centre (ADNEC) or a short drive from downtown, the hotel enjoys a naturally stunning setting coupled with an extremely convenient location.Discover a haven of elite amenities that showcases Anantara’s distinctive luxury. Choose from 222 stately rooms and suites, characterised by abundant personal space and decor reflecting the splendour of the region’s desert and mangrove landscapes.A collection of impressive facilities provide definitive urban experiences and set the scene for extraordinary meetings and events. Dine on authentic Thai culinary delights at Pachaylen enhanced by authentic decor. Kick back and relax at Impressions, the stylish rooftop lounge offering million-dollar views and enjoy a showcase of culinary treasures at Ingredients with its masterful chefs on show. Unwind by the infinity edged pool with breathtaking views, while savouring Mediterranean cuisine from The Pool Deck or enjoy the luxury of a decadent afternoon tea at The Mangroves Lounge spread over two floors in the heart of the hotel.Relinquish every last sign of stress at Anantara Spa, where guests experience complete rejuvenation of body and mind and discover the healing powers of a traditional Turkish Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing