We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Ranked #23 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Ruwais, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Eastern Mangroves Hotel has been on our list since staying at Qasr al Sarab a few weeks ago. The quality of service in these two sister properties is nothing short of flawless and we cannot wait to return. Great beds, showers and room amenities. And the hotel room balcony is the most spacious and comfortable of any hotel we've ever stayed in.

The location is perfect (at least to us) because it is outside the tourist area, and we found it to be more peaceful at night, despite being located close to a main thoroughfare.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Harris1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Paul_Harris1390,

I would like to thank you for sharing a wonderful review of your recent stay at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara.

We are privileged to receive such pleasing feedback especially when you our valued guests point out the flawless service of our associates. This just keeps us all motivated and inspired to deliver the highest quality and service. Rest assured that I will convey your compliment to the entire team.

Thank you once more and we look forward to your next visit and providing you another amazing experience.


Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    253
    67
    25
    23
See reviews for
335
493
70
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

STILL a relatively young hotel but word is spreading about this near perfect property.
On one side is the E10, one of the main routes in and out of central Abu Dhabi island. On the other is an area of protected natural mangrove that lies between the hotel and downtown.
While the drive up to the entrance is impressive, and the lobby an immediately calming experience, the real seller for this place is the view from the back.
A well designed pool area, with dining opportunities, gives way to the lush greenery which contrasts with the skyline beyond. Jump in the pool and the infinity effect will have you wallowing for hours.
At night, the whole thing takes on a different charm again as the city skyline twinkles and wildlife provides its soundtrack from within the mangroves.
The hotel features some lovely dining and bar experiences, the latter on the rooftop level with views out back. Among the restaurant winners is the Thai (in keeping with the origins of the Anantara group) option, which is authentic, classy and has a couple of cute traits that make it stand out.
Rooms are modern, but with an eye on comfort and functionality. If you can get one with a view over the mangroves, you won't want to leave.
Look out for occasional art exhibitions, on the way to the spa and ballroom area from the lobby. And try to get a kayaking trip under your belt, taking in the ecology of the protected mangroves.
One of my Abu Dhabi favourites.

Room Tip: Go for mangrove side rather than roadside, if only for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear David D,

Thank you for taking the time to post this great review.

We are pleased to know how impressed you were with the facilities, our Thai restaurant Pachaylen, and most especially the mangroves view. We are grateful for the elaborate description of the hotel that you have provided which will surely encourage people to visit us.

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to your next visit hopefully in the not too distant future.


Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We arrived on the 17th January - 25th January 2014. The Eastern Mangroves Hotel - Anantara will always be special, from the time we arrived to the day of leaving. The staff and Management were second to none in looking after us. The rooms were fantastic, well kept, spotless and our housekeeper could not do more for us he was a lovely man. We ate in the hotel every morning the choices were the best we have ever seen for everyone from around the world, if there was something you wanted but was not there you only had to ask. The views from the bedrooms onto the Mangroves and the opp side of the hotel were a dream. Would we go again? It's a big YES we would really recommend you to share our dream place. A taxi was always available to take you where ever you wanted to go, lots to see.
Thank you to everybody for our lovely stay.
The Crawshaw Family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Jayne C,

Thank you for sharing your kind review of your recent stay at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara.

I have read your comments with delight and I am pleased to note that you and your family had a lovely stay and that we have lived up to Anantara’s promise that every guest leaves the hotel with an amazing story. Our associates are equally grateful for your kind words.

We are as well thankful for your recommendation and for considering to stay with us again should your travels bring you to this part of the world. We are very much looking forward to providing you another amazing experience.

Yours Sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Decided to stay at the Eastern Mangroves Hotel on a friends recommendation. The hotel is a short drive from the Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Center where I was attending an expo. It also has easy access to the downtown and airport. The hotel is beautifully decorated and has a great view of the mangroves and the city skyline beyond it. The food, service and rooms are excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mish3al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Mish3al,

Thank you for taking the time to share in TripAdvisor your kind review.

I am delighted to note that you had a pleasant stay. At Anantara it is our passion that every guest leaves the hotel with an amazing story, and reading your review we can only hope that we exceeded your expectations.

The entire team is equally excited to hear your recognition of their excellent service.

Again, thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back soon to Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Went to the Eastern Mangrove Hotel for Friday Brunch, which is very much part of the ex-pat culture in UAE. Sat outside on the terrace overlooking the Mangroves from 12.30 till around 16.00, just eating, drinking and chilling. The choice of food at the buffet was mind blowing and all top quality. The service was excellent, both at the table and at the buffet when service was required. The Eastern Mangrove still seems to be a bit of a hidden gem in Abu Dhabi, but this will not last.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank leshaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear leshaswell,

I would like to thank you for sharing your excellent Friday Brunch experience at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa.

That you find the buffet selection top quality and mind blowing is very flattering to know. We are grateful to receive such pleasing feedback especially when you our valued guests point out the excellent service of our associates. This just keeps us all motivated and inspired to deliver the highest quality and service.

Thank you once more and we look forward to your next visit, hopefully soon.


Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruwais, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed for only one night, but the reception was very warm and very professional, location is nice, little bit far from city center, but transportation is not a problem.
rooms are big with everything you might need.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghazwan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Ghazwan T,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of your recent stay at Eastern Mangroves Hotel.

We are grateful to know how impressed you are with the accommodation and most especially for recognizing our reception staffs for the warmth and professionalism that they have shown. They will be equally delighted to hear your kind comments.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed for only one night on our way to Anantara Qasr Al Sarab at Liwa Desert. We received warm welcome from Riza at the reception, smoothly directed to our room, and our luggage arrived soon after. The view from our room was overlooking at the beautiful mangroves, elegant furniture , very comfortable bed, nice bathroom + amenities, and of course free wifi.
Everything in the hotel is perfect, the view is amazing, the furnitures are top quality, the service is excellent.
We went on one day Abu Dhabi sightseeing tour and came back late at the hotel. We ordered room service from Pacheylan, which is Thailand Restaurant, and we have to wait for 45minutes for our food. The restaurant sent a wrong food, we ordered tomyam kung and basil chicken but they gave us tomyum ka instead. Of course the tomyum kung was sent instantly to our room after we made a call to the restaurant. The food was very very very good. I will highly recommend u to dine at paychelan. Two thumbs up for the chef.
On our departure day to the desert, we asked the staff for the direction since we will be driving there. They did help us with the direction, but we got lost before even got to the highway. I think that the staff who helped us with the map didnt really know the way.
Hotel must have print more detail map to qasr al sarab.
Defenitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: Do try Paychelan, best thai food in UAE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vonvon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear vonvon2013,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa.

We are pleased to know how impressed you were not just with the accommodation, facilities, and views but most especially with the service – Rizalyn’s warm welcome and how our Culinary and Food & Beverage teams responded to the wrong food sent. Our team will certainly be grateful to hear your kind comments.

On another note, it is deeply regretted that you were not given the clear direction to Qasr Al Sarab and my sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you. This has been brought up to the department head to avoid a repeat.

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
4.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
7.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#21 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#3 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa

Property: Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Address: Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa By Anantara Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan St, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara is ideally positioned along a stretch of Abu Dhabi’s protected Eastern Mangroves District. Only 15 mins away from Abu Dhabi International Airport, 10 minutes from Abu Dhabi National Exhibitions Centre (ADNEC) or a short drive from downtown, the hotel enjoys a naturally stunning setting coupled with an extremely convenient location.Discover a haven of elite amenities that showcases Anantara’s distinctive luxury. Choose from 222 stately rooms and suites, characterised by abundant personal space and decor reflecting the splendour of the region’s desert and mangrove landscapes.A collection of impressive facilities provide definitive urban experiences and set the scene for extraordinary meetings and events. Dine on authentic Thai culinary delights at Pachaylen enhanced by authentic decor. Kick back and relax at Impressions, the stylish rooftop lounge offering million-dollar views and enjoy a showcase of culinary treasures at Ingredients with its masterful chefs on show. Unwind by the infinity edged pool with breathtaking views, while savouring Mediterranean cuisine from The Pool Deck or enjoy the luxury of a decadent afternoon tea at The Mangroves Lounge spread over two floors in the heart of the hotel.Relinquish every last sign of stress at Anantara Spa, where guests experience complete rejuvenation of body and mind and discover the healing powers of a traditional Turkish Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing