We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Ranked #23 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We arrived on the 17th January - 25th January 2014. The Eastern Mangroves Hotel - Anantara will always be special, from the time we arrived to the day of leaving. The staff and Management were second to none in looking after us. The rooms were fantastic, well kept, spotless and our housekeeper could not do more for us he was a lovely man. We ate in the hotel every morning the choices were the best we have ever seen for everyone from around the world, if there was something you wanted but was not there you only had to ask. The views from the bedrooms onto the Mangroves and the opp side of the hotel were a dream. Would we go again? It's a big YES we would really recommend you to share our dream place. A taxi was always available to take you where ever you wanted to go, lots to see.
Thank you to everybody for our lovely stay.
The Crawshaw Family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Jayne C,

Thank you for sharing your kind review of your recent stay at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara.

I have read your comments with delight and I am pleased to note that you and your family had a lovely stay and that we have lived up to Anantara’s promise that every guest leaves the hotel with an amazing story. Our associates are equally grateful for your kind words.

We are as well thankful for your recommendation and for considering to stay with us again should your travels bring you to this part of the world. We are very much looking forward to providing you another amazing experience.

Yours Sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

Decided to stay at the Eastern Mangroves Hotel on a friends recommendation. The hotel is a short drive from the Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Center where I was attending an expo. It also has easy access to the downtown and airport. The hotel is beautifully decorated and has a great view of the mangroves and the city skyline beyond it. The food, service and rooms are excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mish3al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Mish3al,

Thank you for taking the time to share in TripAdvisor your kind review.

I am delighted to note that you had a pleasant stay. At Anantara it is our passion that every guest leaves the hotel with an amazing story, and reading your review we can only hope that we exceeded your expectations.

The entire team is equally excited to hear your recognition of their excellent service.

Again, thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back soon to Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Went to the Eastern Mangrove Hotel for Friday Brunch, which is very much part of the ex-pat culture in UAE. Sat outside on the terrace overlooking the Mangroves from 12.30 till around 16.00, just eating, drinking and chilling. The choice of food at the buffet was mind blowing and all top quality. The service was excellent, both at the table and at the buffet when service was required. The Eastern Mangrove still seems to be a bit of a hidden gem in Abu Dhabi, but this will not last.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Thank leshaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear leshaswell,

I would like to thank you for sharing your excellent Friday Brunch experience at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa.

That you find the buffet selection top quality and mind blowing is very flattering to know. We are grateful to receive such pleasing feedback especially when you our valued guests point out the excellent service of our associates. This just keeps us all motivated and inspired to deliver the highest quality and service.

Thank you once more and we look forward to your next visit, hopefully soon.


Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed for only one night, but the reception was very warm and very professional, location is nice, little bit far from city center, but transportation is not a problem.
rooms are big with everything you might need.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghazwan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Ghazwan T,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of your recent stay at Eastern Mangroves Hotel.

We are grateful to know how impressed you are with the accommodation and most especially for recognizing our reception staffs for the warmth and professionalism that they have shown. They will be equally delighted to hear your kind comments.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed for only one night on our way to Anantara Qasr Al Sarab at Liwa Desert. We received warm welcome from Riza at the reception, smoothly directed to our room, and our luggage arrived soon after. The view from our room was overlooking at the beautiful mangroves, elegant furniture , very comfortable bed, nice bathroom + amenities, and of course free wifi.
Everything in the hotel is perfect, the view is amazing, the furnitures are top quality, the service is excellent.
We went on one day Abu Dhabi sightseeing tour and came back late at the hotel. We ordered room service from Pacheylan, which is Thailand Restaurant, and we have to wait for 45minutes for our food. The restaurant sent a wrong food, we ordered tomyam kung and basil chicken but they gave us tomyum ka instead. Of course the tomyum kung was sent instantly to our room after we made a call to the restaurant. The food was very very very good. I will highly recommend u to dine at paychelan. Two thumbs up for the chef.
On our departure day to the desert, we asked the staff for the direction since we will be driving there. They did help us with the direction, but we got lost before even got to the highway. I think that the staff who helped us with the map didnt really know the way.
Hotel must have print more detail map to qasr al sarab.
Defenitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: Do try Paychelan, best thai food in UAE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonvon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear vonvon2013,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa.

We are pleased to know how impressed you were not just with the accommodation, facilities, and views but most especially with the service – Rizalyn’s warm welcome and how our Culinary and Food & Beverage teams responded to the wrong food sent. Our team will certainly be grateful to hear your kind comments.

On another note, it is deeply regretted that you were not given the clear direction to Qasr Al Sarab and my sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you. This has been brought up to the department head to avoid a repeat.

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for five nights at the end of November and beginning of December. We received a friendly greeting on our arrival and check in was quick and efficient and our luggage delivered to the room within minutes. As we were staying for a short break we had not booked a Mangrove room and therefore our view was looking over the front entrance of the hotel and over the city. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and with a large well appointed bathroom with a separate bath and enclosed rain shower. There were plenty of toiletries available. As we arrived quite late we booked room service and the food was decent quality and arrived within 30 minutes. We slept well, the bed was comfortable with good quality linen. We had breakfast included and each day this was plentiful with a lot of hot and cold choices. You can eat outside with a view over the pool and the mangroves or inside in the spacious and beautiful Ingredients restaurant. We had planned only one day sightseeing and the Assistant Front Office Manager, Denis Krupp, provided us with ideas on how to see the sights in one day, gave us maps, water and arranged a taxi and open top bus tickets. He was extremely friendly and efficient and made suggestions we had not considered. We spent the first day sightseeing in Abu Dhabi city and the Grand Mosque and Emirate Palace are well worth a visit. We also enjoyed afternoon tea looking at the view from the Etihad Tower. The open top bus is good value and you can hop on and off and see the other sights such as the Corniche. We ate at the hotel each night and attended the speciality nights, we particularly enjoyed the Butchers Evening with a wide variety of different meats and cuts of meat cooked to order. We enjoyed all of our meals at the hotel , the quality is excellent and menus imaginative. The pool area is well laid out and very pretty but does lose the sun earlier in the day approximately 3.30pm, at this time of year but that is not too problematic The staff are attentive in the reception, restaurant and the bars, the only downside is service around the pool is very slow, particularly when ordering drinks. The rooftop bar, Impressions is a lovely place to sit after dark with a cocktail enjoying the city view. Our room was well kept during our stay and there was a lot of attention to detail. We hope to return again and next time we will book a Mangrove Room for the view and additional Mangrove Club extras.
We did not get the opportunity to use the spa but will do so on our return.
Taxis are cheap and easily available, transfers to or from the airport are about 30 Dhiram. However be careful, do not get in a taxi that does not have a meter, as we did on our arrival at the airport or you will be very over charged as we were.

Room Tip: Choose a Mangrove room for afternoon sun on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moreholidaysplease87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear moreholidaysplease87,

Thank you for sharing such a beautiful review.

We are thrilled to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with the accommodation and facilities. Moreover, thank you most especially for recognizing the excellent service and hospitality provided to you by Denis. Surely, he will be delighted to hear your kind comments.

On the other hand, we always welcome not just positive feedback but also constructive comments which we find extremely helpful in the continuous improvements of our product and services. Your comment on the pool service has been well noted and will be discussed with the concerned department head in order to improve the service.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again and ensure that your next stay goes beyond your expectation.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel is a great relaxing destination within buzzing Abu Dhabi. I stayed 2 month on and off in November and December at the hotel and had a wonderful time.

Rooms are very large with great Mangroves view. Enjoyed the Hotels gym which is fantastic on its equipment and very attentive. Had some dinners at the Thai Restaurant. Living in Bangkok, I have to say the food is incredible - top class. A hidden treasure is the rooftop Bar called impressions. A must to visit

I will be back

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor Mangroves view balcony rooms. They have a amazing view towards the Mangroves an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael S, Area General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Arthold,

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic experience at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa.

It is such a delight to read outstanding feedback from you our valued guests about the product, service, and facilities which keeps the entire team motivated.

We are grateful for your continuous support and we look forward to extending to you once again the Anantara hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
4.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
4.8 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,072 reviews
4 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#25 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
7 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,488 reviews
5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Abu Dhabi at Al Maryah Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa

Address: Sheikh Zayed Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $134 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara is ideally positioned along a stretch of Abu Dhabi’s protected Eastern Mangroves District. Only 15 mins away from Abu Dhabi International Airport, 10 minutes from Abu Dhabi National Exhibitions Centre (ADNEC) or a short drive from downtown, the hotel enjoys a naturally stunning setting coupled with an extremely convenient location.Discover a haven of elite amenities that showcases Anantara’s distinctive luxury. Choose from 222 stately rooms and suites, characterised by abundant personal space and decor reflecting the splendour of the region’s desert and mangrove landscapes.A collection of impressive facilities provide definitive urban experiences and set the scene for extraordinary meetings and events. Dine on authentic Thai culinary delights at Pachaylen enhanced by authentic decor. Kick back and relax at Impressions, the stylish rooftop lounge offering million-dollar views and enjoy a showcase of culinary treasures at Ingredients with its masterful chefs on show. Unwind by the infinity edged pool with breathtaking views, while savouring Mediterranean cuisine from The Pool Deck or enjoy the luxury of a decadent afternoon tea at The Mangroves Lounge spread over two floors in the heart of the hotel.Relinquish every last sign of stress at Anantara Spa, where guests experience complete rejuvenation of body and mind and discover the healing powers of a traditional Turkish Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing