We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff needs major training”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate
Ranked #38 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Staff needs major training”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked this hotel for a quick layover but now I'm wishing I just slept in the airport!

I arrived around midnight and the front desk agent had to call the housekeeping person to inspect some rooms so she could check me in. How do they not have a room ready for me at midnight?!? She was asking about my smoking/non-smoking preference, even though it was clearly listed in my profile. 20 minutes later, she finally found me a room sent me up.

Quick notes about the room: It is VERY basic (they claim to be a 4* hotel, but in the US, this would be more like 2.5*). Also, they keep the temperature WAY too hot. This is the middle of the desert - they could at least turn on some air conditioning prior to a guest arrival!

Just as I was falling asleep, I got a knock at the door (twice) from a mini-bar attendant asking if I was missing anything from the bar. Unacceptable.

Despite scheduling a transfer to the airport, my driver was not there so I had to take a taxi instead. In retrospect, I should have just taken taxis both ways because their transport service really is just a taxi that charges more money.

I didn't think it was possible to have so many mistakes in an 8-hour stay but this Novotel found a way to fall short of all expectations. I won't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglebac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    204
    54
    15
    6
See reviews for
115
83
41
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Excellent hotel but little away from city ...... Although it is close to the abudhabi international airport ... The breakfast was good and the view from our room was amazing .... The pool was great and the staff were very friendly ......

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alnetcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our first trip and overnight in the Novotel

Amazing hotel, very easy to find

Rooms are big, beds are big and bathroom is big,modern, well equipped and there was plenty of wardrobe space as well, also benefitted from excellent lighting and pleasant decor.

Whole hotel is very interesting, it's clean, all colours are soft,the sauna, Jacuzzi and swimming pool were great!

Free wi-fi throughout the hotel was a bonus.

Hotels restaurant is exellent,the staff in the restaurants are very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was fabulous, good variety, there was a good selection of cereals, delicious fish, meat, cheeses, salad, juices and coffee.

The only disappointment was the spa, entering and writing your name and timing in the list when you leave and when you arrive, and at the way to the saunas you meet people from the bar because its the same coridor for the bar and spa!

Overall,we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zigubigule C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights for a business trip and it was less than £60/night. It is a brand new, modern hotel. The rooms are spacious, there is free WIFI, the staff are friendly, it was clean, good food, I just couldn't fault it at all, plus it had a great shower which is always an important feature to me!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank DMHENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

chose this hotel as it was near to where my wife was on holiday with friend who lives in abu dhabi. i flew out as a birthday surprise. the hotel was fantastic, free wi-fi, breakfast included in price. bit far out from center of abu dhabi costs about £10 to travel by taxi, rooms spotless very comfortable, staff very helpfull.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank timb1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed for a night on business. The good points: amazing shower, spacious room, very affordable. The low points: bed isn't very comfortable, location is a bit out of town.
The staff where friendly and helpful, smooth check in and check out. The pool area is nice and you can relax there. The wifi is free throughout and the signal is good. The food was ok and on time. Overall I would stay there again for business but not for a holiday.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RashaMinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate on 25th March 2013 for two nights, the Hotel is almost brand new, the service was excellent, breakfast also excellent with different dishes, also you have a terrace near by the breakfast for smoking, rooms are excellent, i believe that Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate is offering two main things for travellers, the good service and good price.

Room Tip: Corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Abu Dhabi Gate
Ibis Abu Dhabi Gate
#59 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
6.1 mi away
Novotel Abu Dhabi Al Bustan
Novotel Abu Dhabi Al Bustan
#43 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
11.7 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#7 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Abu Dhabi
Holiday Inn Abu Dhabi
#2 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi
3.4 mi away
Park Rotana Abu Dhabi
Park Rotana Abu Dhabi
#19 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate

Property: Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate
Address: 34 St, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate hotel is ideally located at the end of the creek between Abu Dhabi Gate City and Bain Al Jessrain in Al Maqta area. Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate hotel offers the perfect stay for both business and leisure. ADNEC, Abu Dhabi Airport, Yas Water World, Ferrari World and Yas beach are all only 15-20 minutes from the hotel. Free high speed Wi-Fi is provided in all public areas and rooms Featuring 164 individually decorated modern yet spacious and comfortable superior rooms and 60 one bedroom suites with all kitchen facilities, 24-hour room service, minibar and safety deposit boxes. All rooms have a flat-screen LCD TV with satellite channels for in room entertainment Novotel also offers access to 7 meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center along with many dining experience in Belgian Cafe, Gabbiano Italian restaurant, Aroma cafe and Al Nasseem pool bar which features a hookah lounge and Arabic dining fare in the evenings. Horizon restaurant serves an extensive buffet breakfast with oriental specialties, and international buffet lunch and an Indian evening dinner buffet is offered with a wide variety of dishes from our Indian chefs. For the young ones there is a children's play area along with children's swimming pool and a temperature controlled outdoor swimming pool. At In Balance we have Sauna, Jacuzzi, Moroccan bath, Steam room and Spa services to relax and revitalize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Abu Dhabi Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing