We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience”
Review of Ray's Bar

Ray's Bar
Ranked #29 of 2,072 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Innovative cocktails along with a refreshing beverage menu and Asian influenced tapas are enhanced by DJ sets and stunning views at Ray's Bar. With chic decor, seating that inspires relaxed conversation, private rooms and an electric atmosphere, the Level 62 bar is Abu Dhabi's premium destination to kick back, celebrate, socialise or enjoy sundowners in style. On Tuesdays and weekends, live Dj sets add a twist of lively deep house sounds to the Ray's Bar experience, making it one of the capital's favourite weekending spots.Enjoy Saturday Sundowns at Ray's Bar from 18:00 - 23:00. Discover the perfect way to kick back and relax before beginning a new week with our DJ impacting the soundtrack with his flawless musical taste. Watch the sun set on the Abu Dhabi city scape from the capital's highest bar as you enjoy signature cocktails and fabulous beverage promotions.
Asia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I happen to try this bar third time but i guess it was a mistake. I went in on a friday night at around 22:00 hrs and the place was not even crowded. After getting escorted from entrance,hostess left us near bar as all the lounge was blocked with a minimum spent while rest of seats were occupied. Stranded there for 25 minutes trying to get a drink and finally after a great struggle got a seat with my wife at around 23:00hrs. It took me 25 mins before a bartender even noticed that we wanted a drink and this is after asking for a beverage list from 3 different waiters. It was not busy
What was annoying was the smoke issue which they still seem to have carried over. On top of it, the worst was staff and service. They saw us sitting down and got the popcorn and nuts to other 2 couples seating near us but didnt bother to see us
This place is certainly way out of jumeriah standards. I have been to Madinat Jumeriah and Jumeriah Beach hotel and honestly management needs to look into the smoke and service issues.
I would not return to this place unless the service is fixed and smoke is fixed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Ray's Bar, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts.
We are sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience at Ray’s Bar. Regarding the service, please accept our sincere apologies as it seems that it was not up to our usual standards.
Regarding the booths, on the weekends we apply a minimum spend whereas during weekdays, we do not implement a minimum charge.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    215
    77
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Fab place for drinks and music”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at Eithad Towers and it was great not to leave the hotel and go to Rays Bar for drinks. Busy place with outside locals and visitors to the hotel. Prices were not any dearer than anywhere else

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scottishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Ray's Bar, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We are delighted to hear that Ray’s Bar was to your liking and that you didn’t have to look any further for good drinks and beats!

We hope to welcome you back again.

Warm Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“wishing it was cocktail time”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I am sitting by the pool wishing it was cocktail time this place is excellent the views the setting the cocktail happy hour 8pm to 10pm you must try a white jersey or a jazzy special they are not on the menu but give them a try .but most of all the staff there are amazing Alvin makes the most sweet dreamy cocktail you ever have had and zirus makes the fruitest cocktail 5 a day in a glass its a taste to behold and Marco the master of the mix can blend taste to awaken your tastebubs to a level that will surprise you must give this a go its a relly do not miss this night out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kazzyLincolnEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Ray's Bar, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
It is such a great pleasure to receive reviews like yours that confirm the quality of service our colleagues aim to offer to each and every one of our guests. Alvin, Zirus, and Marco are more than happy to know about your comments and how much you enjoyed their mixes!

Best Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great View of Abu Dhabi”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

High floor (62) helpful staff, great DJ some nights, always easy to get a seat, nice booths for hanging out with colleages/friends, low lighting. Didn't particularly care for the prices but hey, it's not unexpected in a place like this.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations Manager at Ray's Bar, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thanks for visiting Ray's Bar and for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed the service, ambience, set up and music and hope to welcome you back here soon!

Best Regards
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Amazing views, shame about the smoke”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

What a setting on the 63rd floor of Etihad Towers. We arrived for sundowners but couldn't get the smell of stale smoke out of our noses. The views and private seating areas are perfect for the setting and their cocktail and nibbles are excellent- recommend their classic champagne cocktail and love the complimentary crackers and popcorn- prices are very reasonable by comparison t Dubai- would absolutely recommend but would struggle with no smoke free areas.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations Manager at Ray's Bar, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for visiting Ray’s Bar. We’re glad you enjoyed the views, cocktails, light bites and private rooms. We have taken note of your comment on the smoking. Smoking is permitted in Abu Dhabi bars as a general norm, however if we find a way to make Ray’s Bar more tolerable to nonsmokers we will implement it. We truly hope to welcome you back here in the future.

Best regards
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's Bar also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Ray's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing