We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lounge in Abu Dhabi with great drinks, food, and staff!”
Review of Ray's Bar

Ray's Bar
Ranked #29 of 2,087 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Innovative cocktails along with a refreshing beverage menu and Asian influenced tapas are enhanced by DJ sets and stunning views at Ray's Bar. With chic decor, seating that inspires relaxed conversation, private rooms and an electric atmosphere, the Level 62 bar is Abu Dhabi's premium destination to kick back, celebrate, socialise or enjoy sundowners in style. On Tuesdays and weekends, live Dj sets add a twist of lively deep house sounds to the Ray's Bar experience, making it one of the capital's favourite weekending spots.Enjoy Saturday Sundowns at Ray's Bar from 18:00 - 23:00. Discover the perfect way to kick back and relax before beginning a new week with our DJ impacting the soundtrack with his flawless musical taste. Watch the sun set on the Abu Dhabi city scape from the capital's highest bar as you enjoy signature cocktails and fabulous beverage promotions.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best lounge in Abu Dhabi with great drinks, food, and staff!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This week I stayed at the Jumeirah at Etihad Towers hotel and had a great time every night at Ray's Bar, which is open every night till 3am and located high above the city on the 62nd floor. Truly one of the best experiences I've had in Abu Dhabi. The bar is more like a lounge with a very modern feel and a lot of places along the large glass walls to sit and look over the city at night. On the weekend nights, a DJ spins from 11 till close, and the lights dim to give it more of a night club feel.

The drinks:
Ray's Bar has a large selection of cocktails, beer, and liquor. I am a bourbon fan, and I was amazed to find out that they keep over 6 different bourbons in stock, including Baffalo Trace, which is hard to find even in bars in the US! Ask about the drink specials, as on some nights you can get bottle service for 1/5th the cost of the bottle.

The food:
If you arrive late from the airport and want tp grab a bite to eat... no problem, in fact, I prefer their appetizers and finger food over some of the other restaurants in the area. Truly fresh crispy fried shrimp, perfectly seasoned satay, and the Cajun Chicken bites were my favorite!

The staff:
Everyone from the smiling hostess at the front of the bar to the bartenders and wait staff were friendly, attentive, and on their game! Every time I visited the lounge, they were so helpful, smiling, and genuinely seemed happy to work there and help you out. One of the guys, Future, was especially friendly and helpful. He not only made sure that allnof my food and drinks were perfect, but he also had great recommendations for other places to see in the city. If you go there, ask to see Future, and tell him that Jonathan from Texas in the US sent you - you will have a great time!

The other guests:
I found there was a nice mix of men and women at the lounge, as it appeals to both professional guys traveling for work, as well as career-minded girls and girls that appreciate the nice upscale atmosphere and great music selection.

I will probably stay at the Jumeirah at Etihad Towers again, just for the experience to frequent Ray's Bar again!

Cheers!
Jonathan

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, General Manager at Ray's Bar, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Jonathan

Greetings from Jumeirah at Etihad Towers and thank you for the wonderful review about Ray’s Bar.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and your experience in Ray’s Bar. I have shared your compliments with the entire team especially Future; it is indeed very motivating for us to see our efforts being recognized.

It was a pleasure looking after you and we all hope to welcome you back soon

Best Regards

Doris Greif
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    218
    79
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect Martinis, but wish the smoke wasn't there!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The cocktails here are amongst the finest in Abu Dhabi and so are the views! I recommend the espresso martini and mojitos, but everything else is also prepared with the same detail to perfection and balance. The only thing, and this is not exclusive to Ray's is that because of the absence of an outdoor area, the place soon gets overwhelming 'smoky' on busy nights! Good for a drink or two, but couldn't stay there all night!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MiliPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, General Manager at Ray's Bar, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Warm greetings from Jumeirah at Etihad Towers and thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am glad to know that you largely enjoyed your experience at Ray’s Bar. Thank you for your constructive comment about the smoke however as you pointed we do not have an outdoor area and according to the UAE law smoking is permitted in bars- my apologies for the inconvenience.

It was a pleasure looking after you and we hope to welcome you back soon

Best Regards

Doris Greif
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheeky Champers”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Always a great little place for pre-dinner drinks or after work happy hour or a nightcap (if you wear the that is!) ;-p

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJCushion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, General Manager at Ray's Bar, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for the review; I am glad that you always enjoy Ray’s Bar and look forward to welcoming you back

Best Regards

Doris Greif
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing bar means excellent service”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

my wife and i went to this bar with i nice welcome from the staff.lovely cocktail and very good selection of martinis and the best of all is we feel at home because of our waiter alvin made a very good conversation.What a great night.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zevak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, General Manager at Ray's Bar, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Jumeirah at Etihad Towers and thank you for the great review. It is my pleasure to share your compliments with the entire Ray’s Bar Team- especially Alvin who we have nominated for our ‘colleague of the month’ recognition program. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon

Best Regards

Doris Greif
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cocktails and Party Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Love everything about this bar. Located on 62nd Floor. Attentive staff and always a warm welcome.
Pedro still makes the best cocktails in Abu Dhabi

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LASallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, General Manager at Ray's Bar, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the review. It is my pleasure to share your compliments with the team especially Pedro who we have nominated for our ‘Colleague of the Month’ program.

Best Regards

Doris Greif
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's Bar also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Ray's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing