We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms with great buffet breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite for a few nights. The room was clean, comfortable (especially the bed) and very spacious with a nice view of the golf course - great to have a lush green outlook in Abu Dhabi! Overall the hotel seems very well maintained and nicely decorated. We tried the Morrocan restaurant (very tasty), buffet, valet & room service and the service was generally very good. The hotel is a golf resort so is a little out of the way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banana_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAbuDhabi, Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Banana_abroad,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent getaway at The Westin Abu Dhabi!
We are delighted that the suite, the surroundings and the dinner meet your expectations.
The location, right at Abu Dhabi Golf Club, is both: an advantage for those who seek a quiet getaway and a disadvantage for those who prefer the busy city life. But as you say: the center of Abu Dhabi is just an easy 20 minutes taxi ride away.

We hope you will find time again soon to visit The Westin Abu Dhabi to recharge and relax!
Stay well,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 952 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Living in Dubai my wife and I wanted an escape and change of scenary so we headed for the Westin Hotel in Abu Dhabi.
We were impressed with the nice decor and standard of the hotel and facilities as we entered.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with our initial greeting. I am very independent and self sufficient but you do notice the lack of customer services staying in other hotels, compared to that in Dubai, RAK, fujeirah.

We had to get our luggage out of the car ourselves and as much as I'm happy to do so myself I'd have appreciated someone offering, especially when the hotel was quiet at 9pm when we arrived.

As we checked in no one offered to show us to our room or carry our luggage.

We entered a lovely room but the TV was not working with cables hanging out.
An engineer soon came and set it up but it was clearly not inspected before allocating the room to us.

In the morning we checked in for breakfast at the Fairways restaurant.
A decent selection of food but ALL of the cooked food was cold!
The omelettes were freshly prepared and lovely but all the hash browns, baked beans, sausages were almost freezing!
While eating our breakfast our plates/bowls were cleared without any questions as to whether we had finished or not.

I was impressed with a front of house manager from Chile who led by example.
When I asked reception for directions for the gym, he overheard and volunteered to take me himself.
He did not delegate but instead led by example and made the service more personal.

The gym was quite good and clean and shared with the Golf club.

The pool area was nice but at times was noisy with outside noise from near by roads and a bad smell which I suspect to be sewage work.

Dinner and service in the Morrocan restaurant was lovely.
Very good service, always on hand to deal with any requests.

On the whole, a nice looking hotel but service was not 5 star

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nads1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAbuDhabi, Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Nads1982,
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at The Westin Abu Dhabi. We do regret that we were not able to meet your expectations, especially when it comes to our associates and the service provided.
Your compliments to Jose have been forwarded and we are sure that his example will show the entire team the right direction to be heading!
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon!

Until then,
Stay well,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing break away from Dubai in early April after recent job and health stresses. We typically go to the Fairmont Abu Dhabi (highly recommended) however after having brunch at the Westin last year we booked three nights here. Check in was fine and the room was large and had nice views. Unfortunately there was a sand storm while we were visiting but we took full advantage of the covered balcony for some reading and relaxation.
Unfortunately the trip turned negative from there. I booked two treatments in the spa which were fine however while in the relaxation room following the treatments, the staff proceeded to try to push hundreds of dirhams worth of products at me. Not enjoyable or relaxing after politely declining several times while they insisted I needed these products!
We also visited most of the restaurants on our visit. The food at the Retreat was lovely however we had a problem with our table. We were told a section of the restaurant was closed due to a dinner party so we were lumped next to five other groups for the evening (though we told the staff we wanted a quiet seat.) By the time we left at 10pm, the reserved section still had no one in it. We got the feeling the staff were told to do this so they didn't have guests scattered about. Also, we informed them we would like to have a quick look outside but would be back to our table shortly (outside was not being served due to rain.) Upon returning to our table 10 minutes later, we found it cleared with new guests at it! The staff didn't know what to do and gave us a new table (but removed the cutlery and plates?) after a bit of fussing so in the end we just left.
We also had an issue with a few drunk locals at the lobby bar. The staff quickly tried to remove them from our table as they were getting noisy and trying to push shots on us. Unfortunately they didn't take kindly to security being called so a bit of a scene unfolded. They kept returning to our table so again, we decided just to go back to our room.
We visited the pool on our final day however the water temperature was extremely cold and the towels were worn. After visiting the Westin Dubai pool, there was a significant difference in quality in the pool area.
The check out, however, was what surprised us the most. When we checked in we were asked to provide a card for incidentals. At no time was an amount confirmed to come out of our account and it was confirmed bills would be settled upon departure. To our surprise the hotel took 1000 aed out of the account one day and 1,700 aed prior to checkout. We questioned this straight away and they said we had "went over our limit on room charges." We were very surprised as we always charge meals to any room we stay in across the globe and pay upon check out with our card of choice. We were also surprised to hear there was a limit (a bit odd for grown adults to be limited? Trust issue?) We obviously disputed this money and requested an immediate refund so we could put the stay on a different card. After a few minutes the guy at the front desk said he would reverse the charges and we would get the money back in one day. Five days later we found out the money is still blocked for our account, in addition to payment already having gone out of the account we had actually intended to use. We have been told they "are on the case" but still have not received the money.
Due to all of the above, I wouldn't bother with a stay here. Visit the Friday brunch but stick to some of the other hotels on the outskirts of Abu Dhabi if you want a relaxing break from the city.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank UAE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAbuDhabi, Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear UAE55,

Greetings from The Westin Abu Dhabi and thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay. It is good to hear that the resort’s style has matched your tasted and expectations.
I was sorry to learn of your concerns about the credit card pre-authorization and at the outset would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced.
It is a common practice for hotels to request for credit cards pre-authorized as a guarantee. It was never our intention to cause you further distress and to this effect.
We accommodate a number of guests in our hotels and resorts worldwide and are proud to have the flexibility to meet the requirements of all our guests. It is therefore extremely disappointing to have let you down on this occasion.

It would still be a pleasure to see you again, may it be for Brunch or a weekend break!



Until then,
Stay well,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a very good hotel, particularly for the golf enthusiast with fantastic floodlit practice facilities literally on your door step. However beware, unless you can prove you had a tee-time on the main championship course that day you will be challenged by the green keeping staff and asked to pay 100 Dhm each for a daily 'practice pass'.
The hotel itself is very stylish with modern funky fixtures and a calm and relaxed atmosphere in the public spaces. The bell staff are particular friendly, helpful and a real credit to the hotel.The pool area is discretely tucked away at one side of the hotel and is a restful haven with plenty of loungers for all even on the busier days. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. As far as we could tell, all the rooms were set on the golf-course side of the hotel so you would have to be particularly unlucky not to have a decent view.
Breakfast was included in our room rate and was one of the highlights of our stay. The Fairways restaurant serves a great buffet style breakfast with lots of interesting food stations serving a wide variety of Western, Arabian and Asian breakfast items. Pancakes, waffles, omlettes are all cooked to order and you can admire the amazing revolving ice cream cabinet whilst you wait!!
In the evenings we ate mostly at the Retreat which is a relaxed sports bar serving good beer and tasty burgers. On our final evening we decided to eat at the signature Morrocan restaurant Agadir- despite good reviews from other diners we found it to be over priced and a little 'odd'. We sat outside but soon discovered that this area of the restaurant has virtually no lighting. When we commented to our server that it was too dark to read the menu, we were subsequently issued with a very small torch which we had to share in order to make our selections. The speed at which the torch was produced indicated that we were not the first people to make such a request. The other diners seemed to manage without the torch so either had spectacular eye-sight or were regulars and had memorised the menu! However when the food arrived (lamb tagine etc) we found it to be bland and disappointing. Fairways is a much better bet for dinner despite being buffet based.
Finally we come to our biggest let down regarding our stay. On our final night I noticed a slow drip of water from our bathroom ceiling. Not thinking too much of it, we postioned the bathroom bin under the drip to catch the worst of the water and went to bed. At 2am I was awoken by a sense that all was not well and went into the bathroom. Here I very quickly noticed that the slow drip of water was now much steadier, small pieces of plaster from the ceiling were now on the bathroom floor and the bathroom awash with water. We immediately raised the alarm with the front desk and 20 minutes later an engineer arrived. After about 20 minutes of banging he announced the leak to be fixed but requested that housekeeping come and tidy up after him. Another 10 minutes later a housekeeper duly turned up with a mop and bucket. We were finally able to go back to bed at 3.15am. However having been assured that the leak was fixed, we then awoke at 7.00am to find larger pieces of the ceiling plaster on the floor and the bathroom seriously wet with large pools of water forming on the floor. We immediately rang down to alert the front desk - we decided the best option now was to vacate the room and go for breakfast whilst the leak was dealt with again. An hour later we returned to our room to find the leak had been stopped however we subsequently discovered this had only been achieved by cutting off the hot water to our room. No one from the hotel staff contacted us to tell us they had cut the water off to our room, we were just left to get on with it. At this point we just had to concentrate on finishing our packing as were were about to check out but clearly a wash or shower was now out of the question. We completed our packing and the bell staff were just collecting our bags when the phone rang - it was the duty manager ringing to say they had heard we'd had some problems and could they help. Talk about too little too late. I explained to the duty manager some of our trials and tribulations and they said they would meet us downstairs as we checked out. Needless to say the duty manager was nowhere to be found when we got downstairs and it definitely felt like we were being avoided at this point. As we checked out the girl behind the counter asked if we had enjoyed our stay, clearly following a script and expecting an answer in the affirmative. You could see the look of panic spread across her face as I began to recount some of our experience but no apology and a general level disinterest were all we got back.
So in summary a good hotel but let down by a minority of front desk staff who did not show any level of proactive help or concern for our experience that night.

Room Tip: Check the celing for drips if you are given Room 303
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 540JJJJJJJJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAbuDhabi, Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear 540JJJJJJJJJ,

Thank you for your extensive review about your stay at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa!
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the facilities and atmosphere of the hotel, right at the doorstep to the Abu Dhabi Golf Club.
We are concerned that some aspects of your stay will remain in your memory as unpleasant. Please be ensured that we are addressing all your comments with the concerned departments and incorporate your review in our trainings.

Please let us know if you have any plans to spend another golf break in Abu Dhabi – it would be a pleasure to treat you with personal hospitality and create an atmosphere which will meet your expectations!

Until then,
Stay well,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family has stayed in several Abu Dhabi hotels and this was our first time trying the Westin. It is a lovely property with the golf course but a few glitches during our four day stay may keep us away the next time we are in town.

The first night we wanted a quick casual dinner so we went to the sports bar with outdoor seating overlooking the greens. The food took nearly an hour to appear! All the while the staff avoided our table, when we were able to flag them down they kept telling us that our food was on the way, on the way... When it finally did arrive we noticed one of the managers observing our table yet standing quite a distance away. We called for him to come over and after some discussion he comped the food, minus the beverages. The server later explained that they had a new menu that night and our order of beef ribs is supposed to take 25 minutes to prepare, it hadn't been ordered before. We suggested that they include that info on the menu, not to avoid tables that have been waiting at length and to offer a complimentary starter when the food order is obviously taking too long.

After what turned out to be a late night, we returned to the room to receive a phone call from the front desk, explaining that the child roll away bed we had requested would incur a charge of 150 dirhams a night. This was very surprising since we have never been charged for a child bed at any of the Starwood properties around the world (with the exception of the Dom Hotel in Cologne).

The next morning, while trying to enjoy our breakfast, one of the servers came to our table insisting that he needed my ID! We were very surprised! He continued to insist and explained that the front desk instructed him to get my ID and bring it to them. Unfortunately, at check-in the young woman took my local ID, later realizing that she did in fact need my passport.

Later that day I went to the concierge to inquire about any Easter festivities for children that weekend. Finally, they explained that the next day 4- 6 PM there would be games, eggs and a bunny on the lawn. No reservations were required as hotel guests and that we should just show up. This event attracted a huge crowd from outside the hotel, with a bar and food stand outdoors. When we tried to order drinks and charge it to our room, we were told that it was not allowed and they accept cash only! We did not partake in the event.

We did enjoy an intimate dinner at the Moroccan restaurant.

Location, it is about 30 minutes from " downtown", about 10 minutes from the Sheik Zayad mosque, about 15 minutes from the airport.

Again, the Westin Abu Dhabi is a lovely property with a beautiful golf course. Just a little more effort could make the hotel more family friendly and hotel guest friendly. Hopefully, they may add more items to the children's menu and add a collection of children's dvds to be available to guests and viewed on the dvd player already provided in the rooms.

Room Tip: We requested a room on the ground floor as it is adjacent to the greens of the golf course and the c...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank lovetravelart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAbuDhabi, Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear AtLoveTravelMom,

First of all: Thank you for having chosen The Westin Abu Dhabi for your vacation in the city.
We are sorry that not all your memories are purely positive ones.
Please be ensured that your remarks about the shortfalls you experienced are taken seriously and serve as a motivation for constant training and improvement.
It would be our pleasure to make another time here at The Westin Abu Dhabi a truly enjoyable experience, just as you deserve it!

Stay well,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Overall great hotel designed around stone & wood set on a golf course with really good rooms and food. We got a room on the 1st floor (which is actually ground floor) with a terrace on the golf course, the view was spectacular and the birds singing in the morning was so relaxing. The room itself has high a high ceiling so you feel smaller but it is equipped with what I can safely say is the most luxurious comfortable bed ever. Lots of seats and a huge bathroom with seperate shower/tub/... make it really comfortable. The hotel facilities like the pool and restaurants are great. We had dinner and shisha at the moroccan restaurant and it was really quality food. There are a few downsides that can be easily fixed to make this hotel even more spectacular like: Spa was too little and no real spa facilities, the bedside watch was set wrongly so we woke up and hour earlier, the mirror in the bathroom doesn't extend and is hard to reach, the hotel book & room service menu were missing from our room and we had to request these, the TV remote has a mind of its own, there is no bin near the bathroom sink, the reception staff are slow and not as great as the staff elsewhere in the hotel and it is a bit pricey. I know it sounds like alot of bad things but overall our experience was good and completely relaxing, would definitely come back.

Room Tip: I think the higher floors would have a better view of the golf course
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RashaMinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAbuDhabi, Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear RUSH2,

Greetings from The Westin Abu Dhabi!
Thank you for rewarding the entire team with your positive comments!
We are delighted that the design and architecture of the hotel matched your taste.
The bed is being praised by many guests and we are glad that you also experienced a relaxing night’s sleep!
Thank you for your comments about some minor downturns, which we take as a motivation to increase our steady efforts for training and improvement.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the near future and convince you about our dedication to the most comfortable and renewing experiences!

Until then,
Stay well,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Good stay with family visiting from the UK, only gripe was the smokey smell in our room (despite booking a non smoking room). The buffet / evening brunch was excellent and the service was good too. A great stay in a great location, would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinclair1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAbuDhabi, Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Sinclair1976,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Abu Dhabi for your visit to the city and for recommending our hotel.
We are happy that you have enjoyed our culinary delights!
It would be a pleasure to ensure that your next stay will be another refreshing getaway – we are looking forward to welcoming you!

Until then,
Stay well,
The Management

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
2.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
2.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.4 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,394 reviews
6.0 mi away
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#24 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Sas Al Nakhl | Khalifa City 'A', Abu Dhabi 126 797, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $121 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa is the hospitality heart of the Abu Dhabi Golf Club - a 27 hole championship course, home to the PGA European Tour Abu Dhabi Golf Championship. This urban retreat is a refreshing addition to a city sprawling with glass and steel structures and will put the focus back on the outdoors and natural surroundings. Our restaurants and bars will offer you the finest cuisine in exceptional surroundings.All our 172 guestrooms feature the Westin Heavenly furnishings and amenities and are facing the golf course with private balconies to soak in the atmosphere and rejuvenate. This is how it should feel. A renewing sleep, energizing workout, relaxing spa, nourishing foods, and clean, fresh air - all enable Westin guests to preserve wellness during travel. Celebrate your special day, whether it's an engagement or wedding in style with beautiful surroundings at Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing