We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel but not 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“An Excellent Hotel but not 5 Star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at this property as part of a business conference that lasted several days. This is a resort property that seems to be a vacation destination for many people. I noticed a high number of guest from Russia who seemed to be staying for several days for vacation as well as a number of visitors from across Europe.

The food at this property is excellent. I don't think we ever had anything even close to a bad meal. Most of our food was in support of the conference but even food purchased in the bar was great.

The fitness center is well above average and has a full range of Life Fitness equipment. The weight area is not large but it is more than adequate and not cramped at all. You can do a full upper and lower body workout at this facility without a problem and there is a full range of cardio equipment as well as an outdoor pool for lap swimming.

The rooms at this property were large but I didn't like the layout. The bathroom is large but located near the bed. The shower uses a depressed floor to contain water which takes a while to dry so if you wake up at night when you walk into the bathroom if you don't watch where you step you might end up with wet feet if you walk in the wrong place. One of my biggest complaints about this property is the air conditioning. The thermostat is set to not go below 20 degrees Celcius and the air conditioning is also operated on a motion sensor so at night when you sleep it turns to a low setting and the room gets hot. I found it very difficult to get the room to a comfortable temperature. When you are paying a premium to stay at a resort hotel they can afford to let you put the air conditioning down a couple more degrees.

The service at this property was exceptional with the exception of one member of the bar staff who was visibly displeased when we showed up at the bar 30 minutes prior to closing. Beyond that everyone did a great job---especially the front desk.

Overall I think this is an excellent hotel but the thermostat setting is enough of a problem for me not to return. We collectively decided to move our conference elsewhere next year for a variety of reasons. I can't help but wonder how much business this property gives away because of a stupid policy to lock the thermostat.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattle0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    374
    114
    38
    24
See reviews for
570
849
95
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Im writing this reveiw while sitting in "seaveiw room" in park hyatt or shall I say "glimpse of the sea" room! ...Pool ushering and service non existent, you need to fight for a location and towels are thrown on your sunbed for you to assemble. Each pool has different temperature some hot some cold. Room very dark and dim as its partially seaveiw. Service is so slow and waiters just dont have time for you. Also here's one thing, alcohol mojito is not allowed because its dry night. So you would expect a virgin mojito to be cheaper no? Wrong ! They didnt even change the price. Waiter confirmed "same price sir" Now this is illegal. Paying 2000 aed a night and I really feel like im being robbed. Only great thing is the pool restaurant. If you"ve been to St. Regis stick to it as its 10000 times better , more luxurios, and great value in price. Plus they have one of the most amazing Thai restaurants. I complained and manager offeres a suite to compensate didnt accept for one reason, when you make people pay that much it should be fair on everyone and standards should be high. We are not opportunists, we only ask that what ever we pay we get in value. Its a principal that cant be bought. If i want to put a price on room, max 1000 aed. If manager wants to be fair he wouldnt price the room more than that. Last time we come here. not worth it. Shame in you for ruining our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hassane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed there with our 3 year old and 1 1/12 year old and it was absolutely fabolous. The sea is bar far the best sea in Abu Dhabi and probably in the UAE.. Thr hotrl is great and the sea view room we stayed had amazing views of the island

Room Tip: We stayed at sea view room 659 and it was great. Near the elevator and with direct view to the pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redgrave, Suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is amazing. The staff really looked after me and my family during our visit for my birthday. In fact they gave us a holiday to remember. We had three wonderful sea view rooms which were modern, spacious, and had everything you could possibly want. They were kept beautifully clean and had an amazing roomy balcony with a breathtaking view.
The food in the Café was first class and varied every day. It was buffet style breakfast and dinner but offered so much choice.
The beach was incredibly quiet with comfortable 5* rating sunbeds and pristine beach. The pools were stunning and looked amazing. We played tennis at 5'ish and bottled water and towels were brought out to us. An amazing gym and spa was used by my family every day.
On our first day on the beach we were within 10-15 metres from the dolphins swimming past . I must admit we got a bit carried away and screamed with excitement.
We visited two of the spotless Shopping Malls with 200 plus shops and restaurants. The Mosque is a must see, it is truly stunning. We also visited the Emirates Palace which is phenomenal but not sure whether I would feel comfortable staying there as too much bling for me. Our family of seven did visit the F1 Circuit and tour. If you are Formula One fans as we are this is a MUST SEE. We were shown round the whole circuit, sat in the stand, saw the control room, the tunnel, the pit stop and garages, the cars themselves and best of all the 'Podium'. I did, of course, stand on the No. 1 spot on the Podium with a mock gold cup and prayed that Lewis Hamilton (I am a fan of his) will be standing in the same place on 3rd November when the Abu Dhabi F1 Race takes place. On our last day we took a taxi (they are so cheap) and visited the Exhibition Centre only 5 minutes away from the hotel and you can see the Sadiyaat Island in 7 years time. It will look amazing.
To sum up we felt incredibly safe in Abu Dhabi, it is spotlessly clean, the weather always stunning, and everyone very helpful.
Park Hyatt has wonderful hand picked staff. We never came across one member of staff who was unhelpful. Everyone went out of their way to be courteous, helpful and very professional. This hotel offers value for money, excellent food, beautiful rooms, spotless gorgeous beach, warm turquoise sea, and top quality staff to look after every detail to offer you a 5* holiday.

Room Tip: 5th Floor Sea View Rooms possibly the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ginesio, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome at the Park Hyatt on Friday. Our room was beautiful. I was taken by the wonderful sea view and my friend by the gorgeous bath! Our afternoon was spent relaxing by the lovely pool and our evening at the Beach Restaurant, followed by drinks on the rooftop. Saturday we enjoyed a delicious breakfast, followed by a walk along the beach and a dip in the sea. The colour of the sea is turquoise and you could almost imagine a mermaid appearing from something so beautiful! It truly was an experience. We were treated so well by the attentive charming staff on every occasion. So relaxing - it felt much longer than an overnight stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviews02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart D, General Manager at Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I agree with you that Saadiyat Island is uniquely magical and is a perfect place to relax. Thank you for your kind words in particular for the Beach House, Pool and the food served throughout the hotel. Please come back soon when you next need a break.

Yours sincerely,

Stuart Deeson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first visit to Abu Dhabi and having read previous reviews written in April we were slightly apprehensive as to what to expect, however based on our experience they could not be further from the truth.
From the minute you pull up at the entrance of the hotel you are treated with the most amazing service. Efficient, courteous and all members of staff greeting whenever they pass by. Effortless communication between staff meant we really did not need to worry about a single thing.
We were more than impressed with our room, which was elaborate, spacious and encompassed all the commodities you would expect to find in a 5* hotel, including my personal favourite… the Nespresso machine!
All the restaurants were outstanding; however I was completely overcome by The Café and its buffet selection, which is an absolute must!

It seems to me that there are times of the year you may wish to avoid if what you’re looking for is child free relaxation and tranquillity, however I would point out this is a family hotel.

The only positive criticism is to provide more loungers poolside, as unless you get up early you run the risk of missing out, even though when we stayed the hotel was relatively quiet.

For me 5* hotels are a rarity, but in my opinion Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi is by far the best hotel I’ve stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart D, General Manager at Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for the kind words of praise. We are all delighted you enjoyed your time here. Thank you for noting the quality of the food and the efforts of our team members. Please return soon.

Yours sincerely,

Stuart Deeson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This Hotel was superb. Its was absolutely spotless, well run, with good staff and a great service. The room was one of the nicest Ive stayed in, with a large open bathroom in the centre of it. The room had a lovely big balcony. Room was cleaned twice a day. The little details like fresh ice placed in the room daily was a great idea. The breakfast and evening buffet were both top class. Kids club was great. We played tennis one evening and were followed onto the court by one of the staff, with iced water and towels. The attention to detail was quite extraordinary. It was so good and quite hard to find faults. 2 little things id change are 1) The coffee was absolutely terrible in all restaurants. And 2) the deserts at the buffet were only ok.

Room Tip: Drinks are expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abugerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart D, General Manager at Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Abugerae,

Thank you for your wonderful review and delighted you enjoyed your stay here. We appreciate you noting all the little details that help make a stay relaxing. Sorry about the coffee – we serve Illey which is one of the best brands and costs a fortune so it should be good. I will definitely check. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Stuart Deeson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
8.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
9.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
0.8 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#9 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
10.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
4.3 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#3 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas

Property: Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Address: Sheikh Khalifa Highway (E 12 Road), Jazirat As Saadiyat, Abu Dhabi 52007, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel And Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing