We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but a few teething troubles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Ranked #11 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

No doubt this is a lovely hotel - the location is spectacular and, as you'd expect from a property of this standard, the maintenance and cleanliness is perfect. It's in a fantastic location too, right on the beach so you can take your choice between pool or sand, and a good choice of restaurants - one of them right on the beach - which serve excellent food.

But it's not perfect. That's partly to do with the layout of the hotel which makes it feel a bit like a complex - yes, there are several pools but they are clustered together so there's not much feeling of 'sanctuary' at any of them, the spa treatment rooms overlook the golf course which is okay but not when you feel you can be seen by drivers of passing buggies! - and partly to do with a slightly patchy standard of service. Some of the staff were excellent, up there with the best of the best, but on several occasions we were less than impressed. It's a new-ish hotel so it will probably get worked out but it didn't feel like the proper Park Hyatt experience for that reason.

The hotel has many things to recommend it of course but for the best service and a more relaxing and magical atmosphere, I'd choose the lower key charms and the faultless service at the Park Hyatt in Dubai next time.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a sea view - the ones facing over the golf course would be a disappoin...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCE63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,196)
There are newer reviews for Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,063 - 1,069 of 2,196 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Spent a night here in a sea view villa - lovely room with private patio facing the sea. Also loved the nespresso in the room. Pool area; food; service and location were very good and had a very relaxed vibe. our friends were staying up the beach at the st regis and we visited each other and all agreed we preferred the Park Hyatt - better food; wine price more affordable; more suited for chilling. however all said was too expensive - 700 euros for one night for two people; breakfast;x1; dinner and lunch x 2. Add 16% to all prices for taxes. Usual UAE rip-off.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We chose the Park Hyatt at Saadiyat to grab a weekend & celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary. The hotel is an architectural delight with splendid design features and an amazing amount of detail in everything you see. The staff were extremely welcoming & courteous. We were upgraded to the diplomatic suite which was heavenly to say the least. All the rooms are spacious & so well thought out in terms of amenities, layout, space, comfort, state of the art media systems, lighting & little luxury touches such as silk robes, yoga mats, yoga dvds, nespresso machines & bergamot toiletries. We dined alfresco on both evenings at The Beach House - the service and the food were simply outstanding & on both evenings we were made to feel so special by the staff & Chef Michele, that we forget it was actually a hotel & not home! Chef Michele's menu at The Beach House delivers on all fronts & there is a little something to suit every palette. You simply must try the fresh baked foccacia, creamy divine burrata & the "melt in your mouth" chicken livers with pomegranate molasses. The food is locally sourced, sustainable, fresh & delicious.
We loved the fact that the Hotel has a specific area on their pristine beach dedicated to the conservation of turtles, which was magically lit up at night with eco friendly spheres. We spent many a happy hour at the beach walking, talking & dipping in & out of the crystal clear water.
We will certainly be back for more, but this time with our children, esp as we noticed how much fun all the children were having at the beach, by the pools & at the restaurants.

Who needs the Maldives, when you have a little bit of paradise only an hour away from Dubai?!!
We thank everyone at the Hotel for such a fabulous experience - don't change a thing, you are wonderful as you are!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra & go for a sea view room
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent 10 days in this amazing hotel. The main advantage of the hotel is beautiful, fantastic beach: white sand, clean water, no building works around. We had standard room with a nice view on golf-course. The room was comfortable, modern and clean. The service in the hotel is absolutely fantastic, they are very client-oriented. That was the first place we paid tips with pleasure and understanding for what.
If you plan to go there for such a long period, it is better to take half-board (as we did) or full-board meals, it is more cost-efficient. There are about 3 restaurants there, but we used to go only in “the café” with a-la cart system. The food was amazing, absolutely all. Every Friday there was buffet-lunch with seafood (even oysters!) and other delicious meals.
The city center is about 10-15 min away by car, taxi there is very cheap, so don't worry about expenses. Be ready to leave deposit in the hotel. You may ask to leave it in cash, so you could return it immediately while leaving the hotel.
What I like in UAE the most is that everybody speaks English, it is really amazing. I don’t believe it is better way to visit the same places several times, but if we ever go to Abu-Dhabi again it will definitely be Park Hyatt.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekaterina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Park Hyatt. The hotel reception isn’t as striking as some hotels in the Middle East but it is stylish, as is the rest of the hotel. There is development taking place near the front of the hotel and the land next door appears to have been earmarked for a new Shangri-La Hotel. But once you are inside the hotel you would be none the wiser.

Saadiyat Beach Golf Club is next door and we saw hotel guests being collected, along with their clubs, on golf buggies.

The room was great and personally, we liked the wet room area with the large free standing bath and shower.

Breakfast was what you would expect for a five star hotel and at this time of year it was comfortable to sit outside in the morning (and during the evening for dinner). We enjoyed three meals at the Beach House restaurant. The setting is lovely but don’t get carried away ordering lots of tapas dishes. They are more substantial than you realise!

Saadiyat Island is not far from the centre of Abu Dhabi. It takes about 15-20 minutes by taxi and it costs approximately £5.00-£6.00 each way (based on 6 dirhams to the pound).

We had a great meal at Quest on the 63rd floor of Etihad Towers. It’s expensive but worth it for the view alone. We also had afternoon tea at the Emirates Palace which was a great and relatively inexpensive treat if you share. (There is more than enough for lunch for two).

We visited the Central Market for a more traditional shopping experience and wished we hadn’t bothered. We jumped in a taxi and five minutes later we were in the Marina Mall which ought to satisfy even the hardcore shoppers.

We visited the Grand Mosque which is impressive. Just bear in mind it is a bit further out of the city so allow 30 minutes or so to get there. We also did the half day desert safari (wadi bashing, camel farm, Bedouin camp etc). We were picked up at 3.30pm and dropped back about 9.00pm. It was just under £50.00 each which included food at the drink and we felt it was good value.

We wished we had known about the Family Friday buffet at the hotel on Friday lunchtimes. It is incredible. Don’t miss this! We wish we hadn’t. Swap your meals around and have this at lunchtime and have something lighter in the evening.

The pools were lovely. Some of them are shallow but still great for relaxing in. (Who goes on holiday wanting to do lanes)?! The beach is lovely and the sea is just great. On some days you might have to walk across pebbles to get into the sea but unless you have feet like an over ripe peach this won’t be an issue. A few steps and you are in! Dolphins can sometimes be seen from the beach early in the morning. They didn't turn up at all whilst we were there (and we didn't get a discount)!

If you are looking for a week in the sun then you will be hard pushed to find better for the money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ReapWhatYouSow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in a sea view room with the 2 children (8 and 10). The beach was pristine, the sea inviting. The pool while looking large is a very small deep area. Most is 3 inches deep!
The foyer was impressive but there were more than a few issues with service in my view.
The range of food at the buffet dinner was small compared to other similarly rated hotels in the region. No grill station, no appreciation that children may want different things. They should go to the al waha shangrila in Oman and learn a thing or two!
The flooding bathrooms frOm the showers (as other reviewers have mentioned) didn't worry me though led to a degree of slip issues.
Not perfect but it could be with some tweaking.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wide and beautiful beach, warm sea, very comfortable sunbeds, but there is no changing room on the beach, which is not typical and disadvantage for a hotel such level. Beware of the location of the room to avoid night noise from the construction side.. Good rooms are on the 3th floor and above. There is no bus station or shuttle to Abu Dhabi, easier to rent a car or to take HB or FB option.

Thanks Ash , reception manager, he was very helpful and supportive.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albertbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
10.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
8.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,336 reviews
9.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,226 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas

Address: Jazirat As Saadiyat Sheikh Maktoum Bin Rashid Rd, Abu Dhabi 52007, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $255 - $850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel And Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing