We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully designed property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #29 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stunning property, outstanding room design and fittings etc. Wonderful rain showers, nice balcony etc. Pool areas were wonderful.
Good choice of restaurants. Excellent choice for breakfast as you'd expect from a solid 5* hotel. Nice welcome fruit and dates tray.
Access to a fully equipped health club with gym and pool was a big plus - this is a few minutes walk away but well worth
Not in central Abu Dhabi but hey you get the beach. Its probably about 15-40 minutes drive away depending on time of day and traffic.

TO IMPROVE admittedly these are all first world problems ...)
- Had to pay for water on the beach when it was freely available in the gym and the rooms. Why? Jumeirah even provide free chilled towels and frozen watermelon so this is certainly lagging ...
- No tea and coffee making facilities - never liked the "signature" butler service where someone had to make your tea and coffee for you. Give me a Nespresso machine anytime.
- Inconsistent turn down service - e.g. forgetting chocolates a couple of times.
- Didn't provide a complimentary upgrade despite gold card status - the hotel was busy when I checked in due to a conference but after the conference was over, they still didn't want to upgrade me.

Room Tip: Go for the seaview rooms if you can afford it - you may not get a free upgrade due to the popularity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonoglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear bonoglobetrotter,

Thank you for your honest review and it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the resort's facilities. Your feedback on areas of improvement have been well noted and shared with the team. We diligently work towards making every guests' stay the best possible and your comments are truly valuable.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,396 - 1,402 of 2,526 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel is only 10 min by car from Abu Dhabi City for those who might think that it is too far away. We stayed there for a special occasion and the whole team, especially butler SIVAKUMAR and MAURO made the best out of it! It is a must to stay there. Even if you just go there for the week-end or a short vacation you come back home more than relaxed. Everybody is more than attentive and very very friendly. I stayed in plenty of hotels and worked in hotel industry a couple of years but what we experienced at the St. Regis exceeded our expectations! For those who don't want to spend the night there it is a must to go to one of the restaurants just to see the surrounding and feel the relaxing atmosphere.
We will come back for sure and I hope very soon.
THANK YOU St. Regis Saadiyat

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NGF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear NGF01,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments on Trip Advisor and for choosing us as for your special occasion. It is indeed a delight to read that Shivakumar and Mauro's effort was much appreciated and contributed to your memorable weekend-getaway.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another opportunity to deliver an experience beyond expectation.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Such an amazing and enchanting retreat. The place is beautiful and relaxing. The rooms are simply outstanding. Thanks to the management for their top notch customer service, especially to their Butler program. Special thanks to "Siham" for exceeding expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear N A,

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation about the facilities as well as about the team. It is a moment of pride to read that you enjoyed our Butler Signature Service and we do appreciate your recognition for Siham's effort.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another indelible experience.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

What an amazing property! The building was so beautiful and the rooms were incredible. I've stayed in premium hotels before but this was my favorite hotel room yet. The property itself is decorated both tastefully and dramatically. There is a lot to impress but it is not over done at all. The rooms had wonderful textures including marble, teak, and leather appointments. All the furniture in the rooms was both comfortable and visually appealing. If I could afford it I would vacation here all the time. The breakfast buffet was included for us and was exceptional. Even the staff were all beautiful. I'm not sure how St Regis does it but I was one of the least attractive people in the place (that may not be saying much) because everyone working there looked like the stepped right out of the catalog.

Only a few drawbacks. As our trip was "winter" and around 70 degrees during the day there were flys all over us at the pool sometimes. The staff said they had sprayed but they could not offer us anything else. No bug repellant was available. We just had to go out to the beach where it was a bit breezier and more difficult for the flies to, well, fly.

Also the food is terribly expensive. If you're staying at a St Regis money probably isn't your main concern. Everything we ate was great but it was also at a supreme premium.

That's about all I can think of as far as drawbacks go. Book it. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DustinKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear DustinKane,

Thank you for your positive comments and for rating us so highly. It is a delight to read that you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms as well as the breakfast in Olea venue. We appreciate your feedback concerning the flies which we try to manage with our pest control company but has it limitations outside.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another opportunity to deliver a memorable experience.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The quality of the accommodation and the service were first class and the facilities are excellent. We were fortunate enough to stay over a period of beautiful weather. The grounds are beautiful and the fact that they have an adult pool area where children aren't allowed is fantastic. Staying on resort would have been an expensive exercise for us as we only booked bed and breakfast and the in house dining is not cheap. Taxis are, however, plentiful from just outside the front door and it costs less than £4 to get down town where there is an enormous assortment of different cuisines to be had. The taxis are metered, charge dependent on distance travelled, and are a standard fare which is on display to the right of the driver. Do specify where you want the taxi to go to as the city is large and you can expend a lot of energy crossing the very wide roads, and complex intersections, to find somewhere if they just drop you at a random point. The Corniche is also not somewhere to go to thinking you might find a restaurant there; its without any at the top end! You can have a very good dinner for 2 for £25 downtown without too much effort. This is the sans alcohol price, of course!

Room Tip: The higher the better, 6th floor and above. These give you great views. Rooms numbered -40 to -50 ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ollerbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Ollerbarrow,

Thank your for sharing your kind feedback and for rating us so highly. It is a true delight that our team delivered first class service and you enjoyed our facilities to the fullest.

We eagerly look forward to your return very soon for another memorable experience.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Even though I live a 10mins drive away from this resort, I felt like I was in a different part of the world. Breathtaking views, amazing F&B options, impeccable service and so many activities to participate in. Perfect for couples, those travelling solo or those on a group package. This resort is cementing Abu Dhabi's place on the world map!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Noura,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience globally. Feedback like yours is motivating and inspires us to keep delivering on the promise of an experience beyond expectation and it was our pleasure to read that our team made you feel like home away from home.

We eagerly look forward to your return very soon.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

this is a very nice, new hotel offering a lot of facilities. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom fantastic. They have very nice restaurants (try the steak) ,but very, very expensive. The restaurants just outside the hotel are also very good and you should try them.
one negative point (that is why i rate it very good instead of excellent). On one morning i wanted to swim around 8h45 in one of the heated outdoor (fantastic) pools. Hotel brochure clearly indicated the pools openend at 8h30. But the staff was cleaning the pools and did not allow me to swim. Especially one staff member (the pool cleaning guy) was quite rude. The other morning (around the same time and different staff members) there were no issues. A pity. It can be aswell quite busy at the concierge desk, so choose your time to go. The safari tours on offer do not match the quality of the hotel

Room Tip: choose a room with a seaside vue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kachtem8870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear kachtem8870,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience and it is a delight to read that you enjoyed our facilities to the fullest, including our well-appointed rooms and our venues. Your constructive feedback is well appreciated and will be reviewed.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
8.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,377 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $297 - $1,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing