We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Beat - Flawless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hard to Beat - Flawless”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I travel a lot through business and I usually stay at very good hotels. I have just organised a conference at the St Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, which brought me into contact with a lot of people at the hotel.So I know a good hotel when I see one.

I looked hard, and tried and tried to find something to fault this hotel on. But I could not find anything at all to complain about!

All the staff from front desk, to the banqueting team, to the butlers, to the cleaners, the gardeners and beach attendants were polite, smiley and very attentive.

The bedrooms, even the 'standard' ones are spacious and extremely comfortable and well-appointed. They are also very homely.

The cuisine, in all outlets is amazing (and not necessarily too expensive). The buffet breakfast each morning is excellent and extensive. The Turquoiz restaurant on the beach is a lovely setting and always has a 'catch of the day' on the menu. The 55th and 5th is the upscale restaurant and exquisite, but the jewel in the crown is the Sontaya, the south east Asian restaurant. Oh my lord! I had to keep going back. The food is like nothing else I have tasted and the service was superb.

I have stayed at and visited may hotels in Abu Dhabi and Dubai. This is easily the best, with the best service and setting, being surrounded by a golf course and a wide long, white sandy beach with the bluest seas.

In addition, unlike many hotels in the Middle East, the decor and quality of the fixtures and furnishings is very high and 'understated', i.e. it is not the typical gaudy 'bling fest'. It's tasteful!

Across from the entrance to the hotel there is a new mini-mall of shops and restaurants opening up, for the residents of the serviced apartments and villas. This will give you a bit more variety in terms of food outlets and there is a supermarket there which is very useful if you run low on essentials. Plus you can have a bit of retail therapy, so that adds another dimension to the property.

And the conference centre is incredible.

Really, this hotel is flawless. Highly recommended! (can't wait to return)

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking the pools and sea that would be advised. Some rooms overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear SwissP123,

Thank you for sharing your feeedback from the point of a connaisseur. It is very motivating and we do appreciate very much for recommending us so highly. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and deliver a bespoke St.Regis' experience beyond expectation.

We look very much forward to your return and cannot wait to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,609
    465
    176
    72
    55
See reviews for
759
947
76
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The St Regis on Saadiyat is a beautiful hotel and is truly a five star resort. They have proper, geographically separate family and adult pools which means that you can be happy whether their as a couple, family or on your own.

The rooms are very plush and the quality of all furnishings is amazing. Great big bath big enough for two adults (or a bundle of children!). Couldn't ask for more in the rooms.

The food did let the hotel down for me. I thought the buffet breakfast buffet was pretty terrible for a place of such quality. It looks as if it should be amazing, however they have tried to offer way too many options and have not don any of them very well. Instead we opted for paying the extra for having breakfast on the balcony; that experience was beautiful and the food was better, but still not great considering the additional cost.

The other food in pretty much every outlet is the same story for me; should be good, reads well form the menu but under delivers in the end result. This is a shame as it should be amazing to match the decor and quality of furnishings.


The customer service was also inconsistent across the hotel; the 'butler' who showed us to our room was a lovely young lady from Asia and could not have been better, the check in was professional, the pool service at the adult pool was good but lacked proactivity (waiting for you to go to the bar instead of looking for people in need).

The bar by the ocean was very strange and didn't seem to want any customers if they already had people sitting down; we asked if there was a spare table and we were just told 'no'; there was no searching for us or an explanation that we could sit at the bar and they would keep the next available table for us.

Unfortunately those things took the shine off the experience, however we have no regrets as the facilities were so great. My concern for the hotel is that the elements that make it great are the ones that came with the initial build and the elements that let it down are the operational ones; will this great hotel go further downhill because of slipping standards in it's operation?

Room Tip: You have to get a sea view or whats the point!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimJammer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear James,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Although you enjoyed our facilities I am thankful for your feedback about the areas of improvement and will pass on the team as our guest satisfaction is very important to us. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the St Regis for a weekend getaway, and what a great choice?!?! From the valet service, to your personalised butler and the life guard at the beach/sand castle children area, the service and the product were of pristine quality. We stayed on the 7th floor (8 floor in total) with the pool/beach view ... The view was spectacular both day and night. The suite comes with a study table and a lounge, before you enter the luxurious bedroom. Then there is the walk-in wardrobe with shower, toilet and deep bath tub. We were in awe ... Then we were told about our 24h personal butler.... How exciting! It was also our anniversary so of course there were chocolates to welcome us.
We requested for a baby cot for our 2 year old and that came promptly with a child-sized towel and a 5-piece toiletries kit for her. They have thought of everything! Our turn down service included a bottle of water and chocolate on both sides of the bed, bins were emptied, amenities replenished. Our slippers by our bed and the temperature was also adjusted to make it right. They pay attention to every little detail. We didn't have to do, ask or think. They have done the thinking for us.

The breakfast buffet was to die for, and the view and service made it even more memorable. We didn't get a chance to use the adult pool area which is equipped with floating sun beds and jacuzzi coz our little girl couldn't get enough of the sandcastle kingdom which includes a splash pool, a play area with dedicated child care. If yours are over 4 years, you can leave them there for the day. The beach is exclusive with a clear horizon. A rare sight in the Gulf; there is always a building or construction cranes to spoil tour view.
We had a issue with our stay where we had to shorten our 2 nights package to a day. The staff tried their level best to help us...and just under 2 hours, the problem was solved, we could check out and use our 2 nd night on another occasion. It is worth mentioning that we tried to work this out 2 weeks prior to our arrival with no success. But the Director of Rooms Mr Kamel eased the whole process like a piece of cake. Special thanks as well to one of our butlers Josh Aranda, Eduardo at Reception and Emilia Cosbuc from St Regis Doha.

We cant wait for our next stay at St Regis. Highly recommended if you are looking for a luxurious stay in abu Dhabi. Best place so far.... Also recommended for UAE residents/expats who needs a weekend escape. We feel so refreshed like we've been on a short holiday. Worth every penny.

We will be back :)

Room Tip: Choose the suite with the sea view. Get to the beach and pool early, They are very busy by 10am. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheriza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear justsb,

Thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to share your experience about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort globally. It honors us to read that Kemal, Eduardo, Josh and the rest of the team exceed your expectation and flawless service has been offered. We look very much forward to welcoming you again for another weekend getaway very soon in the future.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a very special stay... The staff were wonderful and so happy to be of service. The kids club is one of the best we've seen. Our 3 year old had a blast. The food was also great at the the outlets we chose to dine in. We look forward to going back!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fshawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Fshawa,

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation about our impeccable service and complimenting on Kids’s Club. We enthusiastically look forward to your return for another uncompromising and bespoke experience.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

It was wonderful get away stay with family...
We enjoyed the luxury of the place, the peaceful surrounding environment, the beach and the pools area.
They are so special in the warm welcoming, the hospitality and smiling faces all around…

We felt so special throughout our stay :):):)

We enjoyed our stay and more visits will be done for sure....

Room Tip: Corner suites are wonderful located as you can have pool and beach view... lover levels are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbdulAziz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear AbdulAziz,

Thank you for choosing The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort for your family getaway and sharing your wonderful feedback. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable and bespoke experience.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I can not praise the St Regis, Saadiyat Island enough. We had a lovely sea view room which had great views of the fabulous beach and hotel grounds. The hotel décor was totally to my liking and the service and attentiveness from staff was outstanding! Nothing was too much trouble. Going out of there way to make sure you have everything you require. Facilities were amazing. Particular the adults pool area. Plenty of choice when it came to dining. We tried the sea food restaurant, Turquoise and the Asian restaurant Sontaya. Will definitely be visiting again! Thank you for an amazing holiday!

Room Tip: Sea view room was great. Amazing views across hotel grounds and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the resort’s Mediterranean ease. We eagerly look forward to your return to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort for another amazing holiday.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

booking into the St Regis resort in Abu Dhabi was great with experience starting off with extremely helpful reservation staff . The surprise however is the resort itself . Absolutely stunning with accommodation to die for at prices that would amaze anyone. Its affordable and the luxury at the price point is amazing . Food is really good , the beach and access to the near by golf course is a wonder.

Its ideal for a get away and the wonder of this beauty is the desert is surreal. Straight flights from the Uk into abu Dhabi . Its a lovely sedate location , so it is away from the hussle and hassle ... Great for a luxury laid back holiday with the opportunity to nip into Dubai for some great shopping :) . Loved it .

NB: It is quite hot , so bring some sunscreen and keep in the shade as much as possible , also always have some water with you. You need to keep hydrated .

Room Tip: I loved staying on the 1st floor easy to reach the restaurant, gym and the beach area :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Ade,

Thank you for your compliments. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you again for another bespoke experience at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, Abu Dhabi.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,180 reviews
8.5 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,112 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Property: The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing