We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exellent weekend getaway and 5 stars service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #29 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“exellent weekend getaway and 5 stars service”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 days with the family last eid vacation ! an hour driving from Dubai .
i dont recommend august ! but it wasnt that bad just find a shelter from 12 to 3 pm :)
very nice pool , nice rooms , good beach perfect for kids
they have a shaded kids pool with water games
i would do it again but in December or January

Room Tip: standard rooms are the same ! if you want to put some extra money for sea view u 'll enjoy it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amr N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you this winter for another memorable stay.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,595
    459
    174
    72
    54
See reviews for
749
937
76
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here for 9 nights early August. First impressions are v good, looks new, impressive entrance, smells great. The rooms are lovely and large, we had interconnecting rooms for the kids and we had lots of room ie, 4 sinks, 2 baths, 2 showers etc, Nice chocolates for the kids in-room on arrival, all good. The buffet restaurant Olea which we had with half board is generally good, lots of barbecued meat so I can't complain but some further choices would have been good, I missed a decent curry section and often different countries food is mixed with other countries but these are minor complaints as all mostly good. On our first night when we got back to the room after dinner the power was out in our bedroom which was handled fairly efficiently ie we had power back in about an hour and a half and we were OK as we had the kids room to use, no point trying to move as we were all unpacked although this was offered, I spoke to the night manager and although helpful I would have offered a bottle of wine or at least a couple of comp glasses (small touches).

The pool area is great with a shallow kids pool leading to slightly deeper then deeper still and then the adult only pool around the corner, a good layout with nice free cabanas to lie in (again great for the kids to chill)...very hot at 45 degrees ish each day but the pools are a good temperature, more comp water around the pool would be a nice touch, you do get 1 free lemon water by the pool (mostly ice!) which is nice but come on. The kids club is good if a little corporate feel, my kids didnt like it, dissapointing.

The gym is very good with lots of new equipment a nice lap pool and good showers,sauna, steam room etc. There is also a Spinneys supermarket on site which is a real bonus for tonic etc and those extra bits that half board doesnt quite cover, Once all the other restaurants on the Collection are open its going to have quite a nice vibe about the place.

The beach is good with nice white sand, its a bit compacted at the waters edge where vehicles have travelled so its not a beautiful beach but nice enough, the pool area is better. We hired a car and drove to Dubai one of the days (about 1hr 30 mins) and Abu Dhabi marina mall is about 20 mins in a taxi.

The one issue that I didnt like was that not every restaurant seems to know what the other is doing, ie on arrival you are advised that you get a 100 dirham dredit per person to eat in other restaurants on site (which we used at Sontaya, v nice by the way), we also used this at Turqoiz but they had not heard of this being allowed ?, there was confusion at Sontaya also. There was confusion also at check out when I queried why the credit hadnt been applied, my parents who also had a room had the same problem. In Turqoiz one evening my wife was poured such a meagre glass of wine that we almost complained and at £10 plus a glass its a little annoying but in Olea the next night the measure was far more generous.

All in all this is a really nice hotel with good service a good beach and a lovely pool area that just needs to tighten up on a few things.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Jim,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us, but it is indeed disappointing to read that your children didn’t enjoy their time at our children’s club as that is most often the highlight of families staying with us.

I’m happy to see that you enjoyed some shopping time in Abu Dhabi and Dubai and look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the St. Regis Saadiyat Resort for a weekend getaway in Abu Dhabi. We had a smooth check in after getting our car valet parked (free valet parking). The staff was very attentive and wanted to make you feel that you were getting 5 star service. After check in, the butler took us to our room and showed us all amenities and made sure we did not need anything before leaving. We headed to the beach and enjoyed the attentive staff making us comfortable with beach chairs, umbrellas and towels. The beach is not the best we have been to in the region since there are many large stones mixed in the sand. The sand in clean and white, but the stones were a surprise. The next day we stayed at the pool (adult pool) where we had a great time and once again had the staff working to meet all our expectations. The highlight of our stay was dinner at 55&5th. This steakhouse had excellent food although a bit pricy, but if you want to splurge, this is the place to do it. We both had excellent steaks, great wine and awesome desert (chocolate soufflé). The sommelier was a little cold but one he found out we spoke French, he loosened up and was very friendly and attentive. I would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant to all my friends looking for a break in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Ken,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am happy that you had an excellent weekend getaway with us, and truly enjoyed your dining experience at our signature venue 55&5th, The Grill.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Just spent two days at the St Regis and found the service to be at Five Star level and beyond. From the time we arrived at the Porte Cochere, through check in, being shown to our room, and the personal introduction to our floor butler, the staff is courteous, helpful, and wanted to make our experience delightful. ALL achieved with great success. The room was very nice in size, very functional, beautifully decorated, and has a bathroom that is over the top. The butler checked in with us daily for any needs, and the food, both at the buffets and in the Seafood restaurant were exceptional. The chef prepared our Dover Sole to perfection. Our only regret was only having two days to spend here. The good thing is, if we move to Abu Dhabi, the hotel during the hot season, has weekend special rates for the locals and we will very likely be spending many weekends at the St. Regis. Thank you staff and management for a wonderful visit with you and job well done.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Ray,

Thank you for your kind review. Your feedback and words of appreciation have been shared with our teams.

We look forward to your return and to delivering another experience beyond expectation.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Fortunately for me, the Sheraton was full, so stayed here for 3 days while working at EMAL, and wow , what a great hotel, very new, good staff who are happy to help but it was busy at the weekend - which I guess is a good sign ! Nice choice of food/restaurants and it was great to able to pick the family pool, or the adult only pool or just walk onto the sandy beach - briliant, across the road there is a good gym and other pool (indoor), there are also some local shops just opening up. Good supply of taxi's around to get into town (only £2) so nice to be away from high rise construction and noise - great venue, spa along side too with some good prices, this simply a fantastic placed to stay - recommend you visit here ! Fab !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaufontboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words of praise. It is motivating to read comments like yours and we look forward to welcoming you for another memorable stay with us

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

St Regis(Abu Dhabi) was a fantastic resort.
Lovely hotel with great facilities and a fantastic gym(sad to say)

The food was outstanding,well presented,fresh and a good variety of worldwide dishes
This was my fourth time in Abu dhabi and I do recommend this hotel.
Fantastic natural beach,nice staff,nice layout of the hotel and very nice rooms, spacious with large bathroom and shower room.
Loved the Manhatten bar

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Jay,

Thank you for your kind words and look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this property. The first Year it had just opened and had serious problems with getting everything ready plus construction noise and service problems. This time most of this was solved and we had a wonderful holiday. Of note was the service arround the pool (they really could not have been nicer), the spa and hairdressers - all were excellent. The steak restaurant was wonderful and great service - we ate there 4 times or more. The Asian restaurant is also very good.
It is a big property for a St Regis but wonderful as long as not fully booked (we expereinced this when it got busier at the end of our second week).
The only real issues we had with the maintenance of the rooms (electrics all over the shop and lots of stuff not working, even after we had asked for it to be fixed several times) and housekeeping staff, most of whom were nice but not very useful. Also the butler service was not really working and if you called for anything the chances of it being sorted were random, even after calling up to three times. The concergie desk was also random service with many of them contradicting themselves depending on whom you were talking to. The breakfast restaurant is very busy in the morning and service is rather hit and miss there. The fish restaurant on the beach was good but service hit and miss also.
Bottom line: a wonderful hotel which could be great with a bit more attention to detail and service in some areas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100daysperyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with again and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear that your overall stay with us was pleasant, comfortable and even nicer than before. Feedback from returning guests is always valued and rest assured that it will be addressed to the related departments.

We look forward to the opportunity to be your choice for another family getaway again.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
8.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Property: The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing