We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #26 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is the worst 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in. Staff in the reception are not trained how to deal with people and are not respectful. Food is not good, no taste at all. House keeping is horrible they don't knock the door before they open the room and they ran away when we tried to speak to them!! In brief ( never again ). There are many other good hotels in Abu dhabi where you can really feel the luxury but this one NO.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nkr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I am sorry that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations.
I would welcome the opportunity to discuss these issues with you and can be contacted at StRegis.Saadiyat@stregis.com or should you visit the city in the weeks ahead, please do contact me directly and I will be happy to meet with you. Our sincere apologies and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again and attempt to change your view.

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,491)
There are newer reviews for The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,728 - 1,734 of 2,492 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Worst 5* resort we ever stayed in and we will make sure we never ever choose any Starwood property anywhere in the world.
BREAKFAST - service is slow, dirty plates are not cleaned from tables, birds all over plates left on the side next to eating customers. Seat cushions are wet because they are not put away overnight. Confirms lack of management.
ROOMS - size is great, but HOUSEKEEPING is the worst ever - our floor and carpet was not hoovered once in 4 days!!!! The outside corridor carpet was ever dirtier. Beds are not prepared properly and turn down service is a joke - see pictures. Apparently rooms are serviced only when you ask! Nonsense in a "luxury" resort!!
If you think you will be sleeping with open window and hear the sea then forget it - you will hear restaurant noise, restaurant music was left on overnight, gardeners wheeling equipment around and shouting employees. View from the upper floors is beautiful. Rooms are well designed.
WiFi - this inept hotel company can't even sort WiFi properly around the resort!
FOOD - that is the biggest joke from our stay - they served us fish that came frozen and imported from Europe!!! After our first night's bad food experience we always ate outside the resort in the neighboring luxury resort, where fresh fish was always available and the service was perfect.
Service staff is friendly in general, but they clearly receive no guidance or training. There was no sign of management staff anywhere in the hotel. Complaints were not rectified at all and the only person to properly contact us about complaints was the floor butler.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanekontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Vlastimil,

As mentioned in person, our sincere apologies for the shortfalls in service.
During your hosted stay, I hope to change your opinion of us. In the interim, should you have anything further, do not hesitate to contact me directly, and I will be happy to assist.

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The location is great as its 5 minutes for downtown but isolated on the next island... A beautiful secluded beach and pool, but you still have access to amenities in a few minutes. The grounds and roomes are well kept and the entire hotel is well fitted out and decorated. My only major negative is that every room is decorated with a coral skeleton that was clearly removed from a reef somewhere... And there are more than 300 rooms. Reefs have enough problems without hotels sourcing decorations from them!

I found the food good and the service fine. Prices are high, as per all 5 star hotels. My only gripe on service is that we had two rooms booked and one was only made available several hours after check in... But we amused ourself at the beach in the meantime and they allowed late checkout the next day.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Pomacentrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.
I am happy to read that the resort delivered a relaxing getaway with its pools, beach and turquoise blue waters and that you truly enjoyed dining at our venues.
I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Befitting the occasion, we spent three very special days at the StRegis. At our Suite, with grand view of the sea and the port, we were greeted by our butler with champagne, fruits and chocolate cream cake. The 55&5th restaurant professionals took care of us in grand style: the flower bouquet, the elegant table, the meals and amuse-bouches, the live piano music. We enjoyed the sports facilities, particularly the 25 meter pool & steam bath and the gym. We strolled along the beach and watched the sundown. Dinner at the Sontaya restaurant was savoury in charming surroundings. The breakfast buffet was impeccable, while sitting at the terrace with view of the beach and sea. Another luxury we indulged in was reading cosily in our room. Splendid and up to the occasion!

Room Tip: We were looking for quiet, therefore preferred sea view instead of pool view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariaa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Maria,

Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, Abu Dhabi and thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us.
I am glad to read your stay with us was beyond expectation in every aspect and truly enjoyed your time with us, right from our food and beverage venues, to our leisure facilities and to simply spending quiet time in-room.
Thank you for taking the time to post your recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing break.

Warm regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

The transfer from the airport was perfectly organised. The hotel is very big, however it never feels crowded. The 5 restaurants are all extremely good and you often see locals going there. The beach is nice and the very alert staff is always looking after you. For our day trip to Dubai the hotel staff organised a transfer and everything went smoothly.

Sporty people who enjoy waterskiing wont find that in St.Regis, however there is a sports centre 30 min away where all your wishes are fulfilled. And the advantage is that you don't have the noise around the hotel.

The only thing I found a little annoying was the terribly bad wifi connection around the pool area and in some parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julesfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Jules,

Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, Abu Dhabi and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.
I am glad to read that our staff was attentive and catered to your every need, making your stay with us memorable.
The beach on Saadiyat is an environmentally protected stretch where Hawksbill Turtles nest and Bottlenose dolphins are often seen playing along the shoreline. To allow this natural and pristine surroundings evolve and maintain, the beach doesn’t offer any motorized sport.
Thank you again for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing break.

Warm regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is modern without any features could be anywhere in the USA.

Food is awful, cold buffet and 55& 5th is an expensive joke. An American hotel that can't cook steak and chips and then charges you nearly £150 for 2 steaks and 1 glass of white and 2 glasses of red

Service is hit and miss sometimes superb but usually very slow.

The hotel is looking a bit tired already and it is not yet finished. carpets are mucky, the outside walks are covered in black blodges and streaks, bird mess everywhere never cleaned up.

However the beach is absolutely stunning, some complain of stones in the sand but we didn't find it a problem, we loved it. The outside area around the garden and pools is excellent.

The constant drilling and sawing etc from 8.00am to 7pm was a pain, hopefully finished now but check if you think it may be a problem.

Would we go again, in a blink of the eye, because of the setting and we came home some 7 lbs lighter,but we will not pay half board up front again as we ate very little.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gettingitspent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.
I am really sorry to read that your experience with us didn’t live up to your expectations.
I would welcome the opportunity to meet you should you be visiting the city again or staying with and hopefully reassure you that this was an isolated incident. In the interim, I can be contacted at StRegis.Saadiyat@stregis.com.

Kind regards,
John Pelling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I must say up front that my wife and mines stay here was very brief, we arrived around 10:00 PM and left around 7:00 AM the next morning, just a quick overnight stay on our way from the US to the Maldives. The only reason I can't give this resort 5 stars is because since we were staying here as a transfer stay, we couldn't fully experience the resort. I must say the the standard King room is perfect, with a very large bathroom and very neatly appointed. We ordered room service and it arrived promptly and was very tasty. All in all, I can't wait to return when we can stay longer!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.
I am glad you enjoyed your time at the resort during your very brief time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back and next time with more time to fully experience our Mediterranean-inspired living and service excellence.

Kind regards,
John Pelling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
8.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,328 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: $257 - $842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing