We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful new hotel with potential to be extraordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful new hotel with potential to be extraordinary”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel on the beach then St Regis could be the answer to all your dreams. It is a massive property but many of the rooms have a superb ocean view. The photographs of the turquoise water and white sand are accurate although there are quite a few stones.
My wife and I are SPG gold members and so we given an upgrade to a superior room with sea view. The room was fabulous and the bathroom was magnificent. The bed was very comfortable and all the expected services and facilities were available except in room tea and coffee. The butler service will bring complimentary tea on request along with attending to your every whim.
The quality of the fixtures and fittings throughout the hotel are exceptional, particularly the light fittings. The Iridium Spa is very good but the b/attitude Spa in Grosvenor House is in a different class.
The food is excellent. Breakfast buffet in Olea is as good as anywhere and better than most. The service is very attentive. An equally superb lunch and dinner buffet is available in Olea. Sontaya is a south-east asian restaurant which serves delightful food and where the staff are so pleasant and helpful. The 55 and 5th Grill is very expensive but it does provide a marvelous culinary experience. Again the staff are superb and the sommelier is appropriately knowledgeable. The wine list on an iPad is interesting. The costa in these restaurants is high but worth it...value can be had in Olea if you are hungry. Drink prices are very high.
The pool areas are beautiful and well attended by staff and lifeguards.
The hotel would benefit from a shuttle service which I am told is in the pipeline. Taxis can booked with 15 minutes notice but are reliable.
The staff in general are very good, particularly at the front desk and in the restaurants. As for the reminder of the staff, some are very good and others are trying very hard.
There is a super golf course around the hotel if you need a break from the beach.
Given that this is a brand new hotel with some obvious teething problems I am already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APE73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort and thank you for kind comments.
I am glad to hear your stay with us was wonderful and you took the time to truly experience our resort and our culinary offerings.
I will be happy to share your positive comments with our team and will certainly take your suggestion into consideration.
On behalf of the team, thank you again for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Warm regards,

John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,609
    465
    176
    72
    55
See reviews for
759
947
76
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at the St. Regis when visiting Abu Dhabi for a conference. Even though the hotel is not the closest to the Exhibition Centre, we brought our two kids with us, so for us this was the perfect spot.

The beach at the St. Regis is exactly what we had hoped it would be. Sandy, with turquoise waters and the most beautiful seashells one can possibly find. Since it is February the sea water was not very warm, however it was warm enough for us to go for a swim, including our 2-year old who loved it and didn't want to get out.

The pool selection was quite limited, with one big pool being closed for the winter and one being for adults only, we were left with the choice of one deep pool and the little splash pool at the kids club. It was enough to provide hours of fun though.

The kids club (called Sand Castle) is the best we have seen. The staff was incredibly attentive and patient, equally interested in face painting, sandcastle building or playing ball. Their splash pool has a big shade that covers about half of it, so one can stop worrying about the kids burning while spending hours playing in the water. Everything is enclosed, no option of escaping or getting lost.

Service at the St. Regis is perfect. Every request gets taken care of immediately. Our room was cleaned as soon as we left in the morning (it was ALWAYS done before we came back from the beach after about two hours). The rooms are incredibly soundproof; even when we could hear from the aisle that our neighbours were being very noisy, as soon as we walked into our room, we could no longer hear a single sound. Very impressive. Makes for GREAT sleep.

We ate at all the restaurants in service (there will be more opening soon) and everything was always great. Room service was prompt and food was very good as well. We loved the desserts and tea offered in the lobby, truly delicious.

Overall, we can only say good things about the St. Regis on Saadiyat Island. Our stay was perfect in every way. Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bringing_the_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort.
I appreciate you taking the time to post the review and thank you for your positive feedback. I am glad to hear you truly enjoyed your stay with us and that your children enjoyed their time at Sandcastle Club, our dedicated facility for our little guests.
Just to let you know, the family pool in addition to our fully functional three outdoor pools, is now also open.
On behalf of the team, thank you again for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Warm regards,

John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm Sweden
Level Contributor
203 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We picked st regis to try something new from the dubai beach hotels. Family with 2 young children so we were after something luxurious, relaxing with great food while a fun, safe and happening place for e kids. St regis saadiyat provides all that. I can really recommend it. Probably one of the three best places we've been to (in terms of beach resorts).

One thing to highlight, the hotel has only been open for three months. So, they are still working on it (main pool not yet open etc), there are plenty of small niggles they are fixing and the staff is not yet a well run machinery - BUT - assuming they progress in true st regis style over the next 6-12 months this should cement a place as a true world class beach resort for any traveller.

So my review takes the fact that a lot of work is still going into account but I havent discounted for it. Especially as we knew about it and didnt have much problem with it during our stay (although the kids drooled over the new main pool that wasnt open..)

Resort: fabulous mediterreanenan architecture. Massive place with hotel, villas, apartments and shopping centre. Right on a natural beach with great beach club and dolphines swiming aroun in the persian gulf.

Pools: two pools open and we spent all our time in the west pool which is great. Built on two levels and is almost like a club in itself. Restaurant, lounge, 3 pool sections and private cabanas. 34 degrees in the water, very good service..heaven!!

Rooms: excellent standards, spacious and very nice open plan bathrooms. We had a deluxe room, with balcony facing the ocean and this was def big enough for four of us. Go for an ocean suite if you want a separate room besides the bedroom.

Restaurants: generally very good. Een the buffe restaurant was good, sontaya the asian one we thought had excellent thai food. 55 and 5th (new york style steak house) on a different level. Super fine dining with great food and wine list. Try the short ribs..you will be surprised. Comes at a price but worth it.

So, all in all a great place that we will come back to. I think it wil get even better with time. The only negative thing i have to say is the cleaning wasnt 5 star but like other niggles i am sure the management will sort that out quickly.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RichardU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Richard,

Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort. I thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review which I will be happy to share with the team. Glad to read about your experience at our restaurants which we are very proud of.
While your visit with us was during our first few weeks of operation, it is no excuse that certain spaces within our hotel were not up to the standard that we aim for it to be. I do apologize but I’m certain you will see all the changes when you visit us next.
Thank you again for the recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Hotel only just opened, and the greenery needs time to bed in, but the St Regis will be a pretty decent add-on to the Abu Dhabi hotel scene.

Cute Lil golf course actually at the hotel, biggest bathrooms I've seen in a hotel....(with a sea view as well!), and very attentive staff give this property an advantage over several other hotel groups in the UAE.

Excellent, safe, attractive beach with clear sea water and white sands.

Top end steak-house restaurant bit pricy, but quality good.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Radiowallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort and thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The golf course you mention is an 18-hole course designed by golfing legend Gary Player, which is a beautiful addition to the surrounding landscaping of the hotel. The gardens of the hotel are looking greener by the day and I’m sure you will see the same when you visit us next.
Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Our arrival started very bad. We booked a seaview room, but were appointed a non seaview room just above an extremely loud generator. Inacceptable loud noise, which i never experienced before, although i have stayed at many hundreds of hotels...and this being a brand new st regis hotel !!! I demanded a sea view room without the truck engine noise which took some time.next day we were offered a bottle of mediocre wine to make up for it, nice gesture, but insufficient. Rooms are very nice, luxurious, large semi open shower in big bathroom, rainshower.separate toilet.bed comfortable. Public spaces beautiful, still very new, not quite finished, but nice, two pools, very nice with good service and lunch option. Beach service nice with cabanas and beds. Restaurants good to excellent. 55 and 5 th grill spectacular and very good food and service, at a price of course, but worth it. Sontaya restaurant is asian, food quality variable but ok. Staff in general friendly, but not yet at sufficient level. Location in brand new part of abu dhabi, 30 min away from centre, but still quiet and nice for relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort and I thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Firstly, my sincere apologies on the fact that your stay with us didn’t start on the best note. It is however great to read that you have had a good experience in our food and beverage venues and on the beach.
I do hope you will provide us with the opportunity to give you a superb experience upon your next return. I look forward to welcoming you back at our resort.

Warm regards,

John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed at the St Regis on a layover on my way to North Africa from Asia.
Surprisingly great service considering how new the property is, well trained and up to St Regis standards.
The rooms are well designed, spacious and finishes are high quality, again upto St Regis standards. Free wi-fi internet in the room was fast enough.
Still some works being done around the resort (ie, patching up pool tiles/pathways/some rooms etc), but to be expected being only 8 weeks old.
A fantastic option for those looking to chill out and relax but still be a $10 cab ride from downtown Abu Dhabi's attractions, malls.
Saadiyat Island pretty empty and not much around, but I think that adds to the seclusion and the beach is isolated other than hotel guests.
Great food options (6 or 7 on site restaurants) and even better afternoon tea in the Drawing Room. Breakfast as good as any other high end Middle Eastern five star hotel, I think the cereal and health food selection could be more varied but that is merely my personal preference.
Yes there is construction nearby and on the property still, but double glazing sliding doors onto the balcony means you can't hear it at anytime of the day. You also can't hear anything other than the waves lapping on the beach which I was originally worried about.
Will be interesting to see how Saadiyat looks in 5 years after the Shangri-La and Mandarin Oriental along with the museums and galleries are open (read locally in the paper this not to be completed until roughly 2017).
Was tough to decide between the St Regis and Park Hyatt when I booked as I prefer more contemporary architecture and modren hotels (Park Hyatt is very modern and minimalist), but the rooms, service and beach made the decision the right one and I was more than happy with my stay.
See photos for a resort overview.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderlust_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Wanderlust,
Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort. I thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review. It is true that a brand new property is somehow different in terms of operations than a hotel that is running for a long time, hence thank you for your considerate and well balanced review.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back at the resort soon.

Warm regards,

John Pelling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed here for New Year. From the arrival to the departure of our stay at The St Regis Hotel, we were given excellent service and attention the like of which we have never experienced before. We were shown to our room by a very courtious member of staff to be introduced to our very own butler. Our deluxe seaview room was fabulous, the views over the sea and hotel were amazing. Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom, the bath was one of the biggest baths I had ever seen not to mention the lovely rainforest shower.

The service on the private beach, was also lovely, while we were enjoying relaxing in the sun we were asked by the beach attendants if we would like a complimentary fruit skewer, fruit juice & cold hand towels, heaven!

We dined in the hotels buffet restaurant for one of the evenings, we were amazed by the quality, the quantity and varity of outstanding food. Our breakfast was served in the same restaurant to which the same standard and choice were given.

Overall this has to be the best hotel we have every stayed in to provide excellent friendly service and quality, we would definately reccommend this hotel !!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Gill,
Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, our team will be delighted to read your feedback.
Our bathrooms are surely unique and extend the resort experience, and I can see you appreciated the design details.
I look forward to welcoming you back at our resort.

Warm regards,

John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,180 reviews
8.5 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,112 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Property: The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing