We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic- thanks Bassel & party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown
Ranked #54 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic- thanks Bassel & party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is a cut above other hotels in Abu Dhabi. It may not be at the beach but splashes if fun can be experienced at Vertical bar any day. So many Themes- Spanish night every Wednesday and Singles night every tuesday and Thursday make it special.and food is yummy. I have not seen such caring staff at any hotel in few years. This stay of two weeks at Cristal was fabulous and it was hard to miss home in Australia while I was in the hotel. Thanks to Bassel El Kontar, the food and beverage director and his team who spares no effort to provide a world class experience. Forgot to mention Valentine day celebration was superb at Crustal.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prakashfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    202
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
79
155
83
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Cristal Salam hotel is a first class hotel with first class staff. Unfortunately, our stay was just for one night but I would recommend a stay for anyone considering a stay in Abu Dhabi. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food was one of the best meals I've had in a long time. The room was of a standard that some 5 star hotels would envy. I would not look beyond the Cristal Salam for my next trip to Abu Dhabi. Well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eldel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristal H, General Manager at Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments.
I am indeed lucky to have what you describe as a "first class" team who are indeed "exceptionally" friendly & helpful. That urge to look after our valued guests comes from deep within, at least for a good majority of us! Thank you for noticing, & sharing your experience.

Our Kitchen team is beginning to win over fans with their tasty creations at Vertical Wine Bar & restaurant as well as at our Korean restaurant called SURA.
Try Chef Feras' lamb shoulder or Creme Doryfish at Vertical, & I promise that you'll be back for more!
And as the review prior to this states, our rooms are better than most 5 star hotels. And our price is definitely at 4 star levels. Which simply means that, YOU, our guest are spoilt for value at both Cristal Hotels in Abu Dhabi !

Come & experience the difference, & our value proposition again.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Sid Sattanathan
Cluster General Manager
Cristal Salam
Cristal Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Fantastic service - staff were very friendly and very attentive. The manager was monitoring check in, and he was very involved in making sure everything was OK. The hotel itself is fantastic - room quality was beyond 4* in my opinion, much nicer than many 5* I have stayed in. We ate in the Vertical bar and both the food and service were outstanding.
All in all great hotel, great room, great service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConorD1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Cristal Salam , get location in the 'tourist club' area , Like others say it really is a 4 star hotel with 5 star service , The staff are all very welcoming , friendly , helpful yet professional . The food at Sura was very yummy and also authentic korean . The bar (Vertical ??) is cute and a little quirky but nice with a good wine selection , and fantastic city views , the bar manager was really nice and had a good knowledge on wines . Over all i very much enjoyed my stay at both Cristal Salam and at their sister hotel Cristal and would recommend it with out a doubt .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristal H, General Manager at Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments on our central location, & our restaurants & bars.
Sura, our Korean restaurant, is getting increasingly popular. You clearly enjoyed our extensive wine selection at Vertical, & on your next visit, do try our steaks, & other dishes. Wednesday's are our Spanish Night, and you can enjoy delicious tapas & paella & relax to the tunes of our flamenco guitarist.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Sid Sattanathan
Cluster General Manager
Cristal Salam
Cristal Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I found the Cristal Salam hotel to be perfect for me on my 2 day stopover on a trip from Australia to the UK. It is a centrally located business orientated hotel that is fairly new. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are clean, functional and of a decent standard as expected for a 3 - 4 star hotel. The taxi driver from the airport knew the place, it took about a 30 minute drive and cost 60 dhs. I would definetly recommend this hotel for a stop over or a business traveller. If I was staying for longer as a tourist, I would possably look at a more tourist type hotel, but they are much more expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mcloupet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Cristal Salam is a 4 Star hotel with 5 Star service. A real hidden jewel. Very reasonably priced relative to other Abu Dhabi properties. Every aspect of this hotel got my highest marks. Staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. Reception, room service, restaurant, Spa Fitness Center, Bell Captain and Concierge service were all outstanding. Rooms were modern, clean, well layed out and stocked with amenities for the experienced traveler. The shower is especially nice. After I left, I realized I had left some items in the in-room safe. I immediately called the hotel and asked them to retrieve them. At about the same time, I got an email from the hotel telling me they had my items, which were carefully listed in detail in the email. I will definitely stay at this hotel again, and highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Abu Dhabi.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the Amber rooms, which were very nice. The hotel is not on a main thoroughfare, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler94510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristal H, General Manager at Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive, & encouraging review.

You touched upon a few points which are areas of focus for us: staff going out of their way, & providing good value. And yes, we do hear the term, "hidden gem," which keeps us striving even harder to delight our guests.

On your next visit, do try our Vertical Wine Bar & Restaurant, & Sura ( Korean restaurant) & I am sure you would have left with even happier.

Kind regards,

Sid Sattanathan
Cluster General Manager
Cristal Salam
Cristal Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This morning I returned from 2 nights at Cristal Salam hotel. I was reminded several times by staff there to review it on Tripadvisor, so here we go.

First, a few words about getting there. Whilst in UAE I found that taxi drivers don't have a great deal of knowledge as to where hotels are located. When you arrive in Abu Dhabi you might want to have a map with the location of Cristal Salam identified.

Cristal Salam is a fine hotel. At check in there was a bit of encouragement to upgrade to a larger room for 'only' £24 a night (which we did) and a run down of what we will be getting 'free' with the room (which is all on their website). The rooms are a good deal, with very fast wifi (and you don't get knocked off) and very quiet.

As for food, we went to the Beach Rotana hotel next to Abu Dhabi mall, about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. It has multiple dining and drinking options in a large courtyard and you can walk back to Cristal Salam.
Would stay again. Good luck!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank davidtinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
1.0 mi away
Ramada Abu Dhabi Corniche
Ramada Abu Dhabi Corniche
#63 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
#6 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#7 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Abu Dhabi City Centre
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
#16 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Seasons Al Hamra Hotel Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown

Property: Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown
Address: 8th Street | Tourist Club Area, Opposite Abu Dhabi Municipality, Abu Dhabi 107523, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Cristal Salam Hotel)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Downtown Abu Dhabi an exciting new hotel in the heart of the downtown banking district. Our 112 rooms & suites have been designed with contemporary luxury in mind. Enjoy Korean cuisine or beverages at Sura, let your hair down at our Karoake rooms & savour specially selected cuts of Meat from our Steak menu at Vertical, the city's only Wine Bar & Restuarant while you take in the panoramic views of Abu Dhabi's skyline at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing