We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Worth the visit”

Manarat al Saadiyat
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.00*
and up
Create Your Own Private 4-Hour Abu Dhabi City Tour
Ranked #25 of 141 things to do in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Manarat Al Saadiyat is the first art and culture centre of the Saadiyat Cultural District, the future home of Louvre Abu Dhabi, Zayed National Museum and Guggenheim Abu Dhabi. Meaning "Place of Enlightenment" in Arabic, Manarat Al Saadiyat offers a wide variety of exhibitions, performances, productions, conferences, talks and workshops throughout the day and all year-round. From the Manarat Al Saadiyat plaza visitors can admire the Norman Foster-designed UAE Pavilion, home to Abu Dhabi Art, which takes place every November. At Manarat Al Saadiyat visitors can also enjoy a gift shop, library and FANR restaurant.
India
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Well Worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have been visiting this place for more than 3 years for the Abu Dhabi Art exhibition. The last two years have been excellent and this year it was just good. Organisers ensure they have a special art space just for children, which is simply excellent and my daughter loves it.
Its a different feeling when Im at this place, very vibrant, multi-cultural, alive and most of all creativity abound.
I will continue to go every year and the restaurant, AL Fanr is also great, but be prepared to wait to be seated and wait again to be served during busy periods, but worth the wait for the good food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank timmyjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    148
    47
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“superb exhibitions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

they get amazing roving exhibitions from all over the world and superb workshops are organized at a very reasonable cost.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CATraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great artists space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love this place, I go regularly as am currently living on Saadiyat Island, it is bright, light and unpretentious a relaxed venue to see an exhibition. It features permanent displays as well as the visiting exhibitions and I have not seen a bad exhibition there. The cafe is lovely as well if a little pricey but the service is great and the outside space divine. Parking is easy and if a big exhibition is on they add extra parking. During these events it is a great place to people watch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kushty500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“some advertising with your art....and history”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Manarat al Saadiyat is first and foremost a promotional tool for the budding local Emirati artists as well as an educational platform for visitors to explain the vision for the city's cultural center and future. There are some very good pieces on display and some of the galleries feature interesting art work.
The "Saadiyat Experience" was nice and informative and although I enjoyed the film, I did feel like i was being advertised to. This past weekend there was a free art exhibition which attracted many visitors. It is still a work in progress and with the wet weather, I felt it was poor to have people parking in mud and wet sand while attending an art exhibit. Oh, "Inshalla" I suppose.
I took some friends to this location and they enjoyed the exhibits and felt it was a worthwhile visit. I will take my family when they are in town and hope the parking will be better for us.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ernbo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous building, great layout, intereresting exhibits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our trip here which ended with coffee and cakes at their fabulous organic café.
They had a local UAE artist exhibition which was really interesting as well as the Saadiyat story. Definitely worth another visit at the end of the November for the latest exhibition

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kariesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manarat al Saadiyat also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Manarat al Saadiyat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing