We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait a few months more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Ranked #8 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wait a few months more”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Now I am I lucky enough to travel the world (business and pleasure) and new to reviewing on TA but needed to write this so the hotel gets the message and others don't head to the hotel untill they get their act together. Which I expect to be a few months.

Now I want to state early that I am a Sofitel fan and also really liked this hotel, its rooms and staff but they are all on training wheels.
Now the hotel is only been finished a few months but expect that a chain the size of this should be better in training their staff.
I respect that everyone has to start somewhere but I am writing this review in this tone not to slam the hotel but to help them get everything sorted so everything comes together.
I am sure that everything comes together for this grand opening.
So wait until then to stay there in my opinion.
First off all we bought a club room and there was no club it wasnot finished, so they compensated with a corner suite upgrade which was nice. ( but never should of been advertised and sold as a club room)

Then we had no hot water the first morning, then no water at all as we were about to go to Hakkasan for dinner to have a shower that night.
The staff were fantastic in damage control, but would expect that a brand new hotel, a world chain and the price we were charged we would of had a better experienced.
We did get a late check out and a bottle of wine as compensation which we are satisfied with the overall response and stay but will say it's going to take the inexperienced team a few months of training and time in business to get the service experience in all other Sofitel hotels world wide.
So take this as a glass half filled review.

Room Tip: Suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Damorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your loyalty to the Sofitel brand and for taking the time to share your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate any and all feedback from our guests, as this is the best way to understand which areas to focus on as we continue to strive improvement. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay.

We understand your disappointment as we did not provide the degree of service you expected at Sofitel. Rest assured that I will arrange the necessary measures and trainings accordingly in order to ensure that our service levels are brought back to the Sofitel standards.

Once again I truly thank you for your feedback and loyalty. We hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Please continue to send us your feedback at customer.service@sofitelabudhabicorniche.ae

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche.

Sincerely,

Nael El-Wary, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,074
    472
    124
    48
    26
See reviews for
496
980
179
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We visited the Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche around the end of April.

We arrived later in the evening and were welcomed with delicious lime/mint juice and cold towels to freshen up during check-in.

Although the Club Millesime was not yet opened we were impressed by the hotel. Breakfast was consquently taken at the Corniche in the form of a buffet. Service needed just a slight tweeking but the quality of food was that one would expect from Sofitel French chefs. We had the buffet dinner one night and one of the chefs gave us the best shwarma we have ever eaten ... one will never eat street shwarma again.

The gym and pool were spotless and the best part : almost no other guests.

The room : what to say ? Flawless with an excellent view of the Corniche.

We will look forward to returning when all services are available and the staff have that much more experience to provide that impeccable French touch one expects from Sofitel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airchristophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the very nice post on Trip Advisor.

It was nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff accommodating to your needs.

It was also very pleasing to read you enjoyed the breakfast, dinner and views over the Corniche

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nael El-Wary, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I enjoyed my time at this hotel. I booked a suit for a VERY reasonable price. I had a lounge access but unfortunately the lounge was not opened at that time. Staff was exceptional and loved their service despite lack of hotel facilities. I would recommend waiting until September when the Hotel is fully opened.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche. We have shared your comments with our team already.

Most of the hotel facilities are now open, and the last one (the Club Millesime), is due to open by the early beginning of September. Access to the Executive Lounge is possible when one books a Suite or a Club Room.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Nael El-Wary, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my wife and our 3 years daughter for 5 nights. The hotel is new and the location is quite good. it's part of a mega complex. The room size was good and I liked the high tech room with big TV and and nice bathroom and the well appointed amenities. The staff were excellent and they go the extra mile to make sure you are happy and everything is fulfilled. The swimming pool was nice and not busy and they have small one for kids also.

This is by all means a business hotel and not for pleasure. The lobby most of the time was very busy and the hotel being close to a major companies complex means the hotel were full of people and it takes a long time for them to bring the car. Two major negatives that I have with this hotel:

1- Internet is free however, it's very very slow (256 kb) and shouldn't even be called free internet. if you are thinking of relying on internet to do any work then forget it. There is not option for a faster (paid) either.

2- The food was 40% higher than any hotel in the same range. some of the items price is very ridiculous compared to the tiny quantity you get.

I really tried to like this hotel and if you are here for business then yes it quite good, however, I couldn't justified the poor internet and the extremely high menu/ food prices in the hotel.

Room Tip: noise can be heard from the room so go for high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank borouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and give your feedback about Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche.

We are glad you enjoyed your room, its equipment and our smiling employees, who all work very hard to satisfy guests.

Thank you as well for your feedback regarding the WiFi. We acknowledge it is not high speed when it is free; however it still enables to do basic tasks on the Internet, such as checking e-mails or surfing the Web. It is possible to pay for a high-speed internet with which you can do all the on-line major tasks.

With regard to your concerns about the restaurants, our market studies showed those concepts were lacking in the Abu Dhabi city. Our fine dining restaurants try to satisfy guests with the best quality of food at an average price.

Our constant endeavor to create memorable experiences for our guests depends on your valuable feedback. Please continue to send your feedback at customer.service@sofitelabudhabicorniche.ae

Should you give us the opportunity, we look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche.

Sincerely,

Nael El-Wary, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I had the pleasure to stay with my family (2 adults + 2 children) at Sofitel Abu Dhabi in May 2012!
Reception Staff was very well trained and knew how to make us feel comfortable from the 1st second we entered the hotel. During check in, they bring you fresh towels and a fresh juice!
Rooms are very comfortable and very elegant! Very nice bathroom amenities for kids.
We had dinner in the main restaurant and service was fantastic! No need to ask for anything, they just deliver the service before you requires it! Food on the buffet was pretty amazing! Good mix between Western, Oriental and Asian cuisine! Most difficult is to make a choice! Same comments for the breakfast, AMAZING!
Nice pool area and very quiet!
All together, I would definitely recommend this hotel!
!

Room Tip: If driving from Dubai, rather go through Yas Island freeway so you don't need to drive through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otombeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche on your visit to Abu Dhabi. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your valuable feedback. We share all the feedback with our team.

Thank you for your encouraging words and recognition. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Sincerely,

Jean-Philippe Bittencourt,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
4.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#9 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,640 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,347 reviews
3.8 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#17 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
2,231 reviews
10.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche

Property: Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Address: Corniche Corniche Rd, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in the first quarter 2012, the Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche (part of Capital Plaza building) is ideally situated in the heart of the city, close to the seafront and the business and financial center. It enjoys a privileged location on Corniche Road, one of the most prestigious district. The maritime centre Port Zayed, the Souk, famous for its rugs and Dhow Harbour, home to the traditional transport and fishing boats which still take to the waters of the Arabian Gulf, are all a short distance from the hotel. The hotel offers all the services of a world-class French establishment, blending its origins with the best of the Oriental influences: butler service and executive lounge access (Club Millesime) for club rooms and suites, and the famous MyBed concept and Bose wave in all rooms. Each of the rooms offer breathtaking views over city and Arabian Gulf. Additionally, the hotel offers 3 signature restaurants and 3 bars, a pool, a spa and wellness space and 9 meeting rooms. A ballroom can also welcome up to 1000 visitors and therefore host any kind of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing