We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money”

Amerigos Mexican Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #212 of 2,072 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Price range: $15 - $75
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dubai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Value for money”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family really enjoyed our meal, recommend their Nacho's to start your evening off. Great children's menu. Great location and service was good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KerryLeeUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    74
    32
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just had dinner here and feel like I have been mugged...got to be one of the worst restaurants in Abu Dhabi.

No atmosphere - feels like a temporary restaurant, and nothing to suggest a Mexican theme, but very spacious. Not a bottle of hot sauce to be seen... Menu very limited and a small selection of different fajitas and enchiladas, with some mains of steak and fish to choose from, but not great.

We chose nachos to start and were presented with a tiny bowl to share, the kids meals (quesadillas) were small tortillas with a bit of melted cheese and chicken scraps on - that was it! Main course of fajitas was not bad portion size, but just stir fired - not very tasty. Served with about a tablespoon of guacamole and the same of chopped tomato & onion (pico de gallo this was not), and 4 small tortillas....other main course of enchiladas was tiny and was so spicy as to be inedible - we did ask for a 'bit of spice' but they just poured the whole bottle of hot sauce in there.

On the plus side the waitress was very good indeed and was quick, efficient and polite. Changed our enchiladas without any fuss and brought complimentary chips and salsa after the meal - not sure if this was normal or just because we had complained. Kids were happy as they were still hungry.

For 'all' of this and a bottle of local still water, the bill came to around USD90. Daylight robbery.

For Mexican/Tex-mex food in AD best place to go is Cantina Laredo in Khalidya Mall - although no alcohol served there. Don't go to Amerigos.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voight-Kampf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

the very best calamari i've had. period. amerigos also offers a plethora of entrees, each cooked to perfection and served piping hot. great food and a good value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank brandon_sebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agadir
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went here for my husband's birthday eager for some authentic Mexican food. What a huge disappointment. The decor was boring and the interior shabby and dirty. Crumbs were all over the scratched tables. When we arrived, they couldn't even be bothered to look up and seat us. We finally made our way to a table and then had to wait even longer for menus. We ordered fajitas, enchilada and nachos. The servings were all very small.The nachos had velveeta instead of real cheese. The enchiladas tasted like tomato paste, and the fajitas tasted ok, but didn't come with enough tortillas. We were told more tortillas would cost extra, this for a dish that already costs more than 80 dirhams. When we found hair in our nachos, there was no apology, or offer to replace the dish. I was really hoping for something more for our celebration. Won't ever be going back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agasas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent food but poor service”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Good was decent and the atomsphere was nice especially outside by the pool but the service was very poor. Took forever to get menus and then to order. Drinks came out in a timely manner and the kids meals were brought our first and promptly which was appreciated however the service was not impressive throughout the rest of dinner. Maybe it was an off night, would visit again if wanting decent Mexican food in AD.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amerigos Mexican Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Amerigos Mexican Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing