We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A colossal lounge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Arabia

Cafe Arabia
Ranked #99 of 2,040 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Arabia is a cultural venue, with three floors featuring Middle eastern culture, Art, English and Arabic library, open roof top terrace with seasonal events, grills, and The first floor Gallery. Food is freshly made to order ,family style meals, fusion and traditional hand me down recipes from family and friends. Our drinks are all made to order. We have perfect space for both business events and personal events . Cafe floors can be fully reserved for functions, we have a catering department ready to cater for all your events. Casual dinning
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
320 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“A colossal lounge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

The cafe is actually a villa. A residential villa transformed into a cafe. They didn't really change the layout though.
So you could very well be sitting in a bedroom or a bedroom terrace.

The interior design is nice too. A bit busy but tastefully done.

The food selection is good too. Mixing Arab gulf country cuisine (karak tea for example) with both western and Mediterranean cuisine.

Location is excellent. Its on a main street across a public green area (private ground, so its not a public park).

There's also seeing on the roof (third floor) that's very very nice at night, especially when the weather is cooler.

Like this if you found it beneficial.

All in all the proprietor achieved the laid back lounge ambience she wanted.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorruptedSanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithAida, Owner at Cafe Arabia, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear "corruptedsanity" !
I am speechless, you are a top contributor with an outstanding 79 helpful votes for 86 reviews!!!! You nailed it!!! Cafe Arabia is a converted villa with minimal changes to original features, I knocked down all the walls to create open space & invite all the.natural light in, to create roomy, airy & fresh surroundings with natural light. The decor changes constantly as you would change your home decor depending on mood and season /:) . Thank you for your lovely review & for visiting, we hope you continue to support Cafe Arabia & would love to benefit from your extensive experience... Pls do contact me personally for suggestions, ideas you might have...
Warmest regards always,
Aida Mansour,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    102
    27
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
155 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Enjoyable place but service could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice interior and average to good food. We ordered two starters and three main courses but unfortunately everything came at the same time. The service was slow and the staff not very helpful. The coffee machine was out of order and they didn't have the desserts on the menu. Rather expensive compared to other cafes. It's a nice place to try something different but the service should improve.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kybtur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithAida, Owner at Cafe Arabia, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Kyptur,
Thank you for enjoying your visit, pity we had an electrical short. We found that our guests are raving about our daily , freshly baked home cakes. Our puddings are home-made fresh, and sometimes we run out of them. We always try and introduce something new, unexpected, and seasonal.... We have many art exhibitions during November, pls stay in touch, Hope to see you soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The kind of cafe that becomes a second home...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have to admit, I really don't think the food here is all that good. The halloumi salad is about all I can order again an again. And hummus. And lemon mint juice. It's enough, though, that the place is great for getting on the internet, reading a book (your own or from the ever-growing lending library), or just visiting with friends. They're making a commendable effort to build community by hosting art fairs, music and poetry events, and meetup groups. It's a lovely space with a charming energy, and the staff is really ernest about helping. I wish they would open the upper levels more often.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mixchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithAida, Owner at Cafe Arabia, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Michelle,
Thank you for making Cafe Arabia your second home... It certainly is meant to be so.. :)
We hope you continue to try new dishes, authentic to UAE cuisine as well as the middle eastern specialities, .you can experience these during lunch time, as well as on our Friday Brunch. Pls stay in touch with our FB page to learn more about our seasonal dishes...thank you for taking the time to write a review on Cafe Arabia. We highly appreciate it.
Aida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The staff, the service and the food are No.1. We always feel welcome and leave feeling satisfied. It also has a class about it that is not felt in other cafes

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KiwiinAlAin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithAida, Owner at Cafe Arabia, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi, we are delighted and very proud to know we were able to meet up to your expectations ... We all appreciate your review ... Thank you for seeing our passion which grows with your support and encouragement.

We have just opened our roof top terrace , the weather is just perfect, and would be honored to invite you with a friend to enjoy any of our hot speciality beverages on the house, as a way to say thank you for taking the time and care to write and share your experience with TripAdvisor readers.
Many happy visits to come,
Warmest regards,
Aida Mansour
Owner,
Cafe Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best cafe in Abu Dhabi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

A hip, casual, laid back cafe restaurant in Abu Dhabi with limited outdoor capacity but amazing hip interior.. The decor is amazing and the art is totally stunning...
The food is home made and is not really wow, but will do. We got Lebanese mezze which apparently were made by non Lebanese chef.. Edible but not fancy.
The cakes are also home made, large selection and good..
The place is packed with families and groups and would make a really great place to hang out..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank masss11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WithAida, Owner at Cafe Arabia, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Mass,
Thank you for taking the time to write your highly appreciated review on Tripadvisor, we are honored, and very happy you loved it... ! You will be delighted to know, that through out the year we have non stop Art exhibitions, many of which come from overseas especially to be on show at Cafe Arabia. As for the open areas, we have a huge al fresco terrace, Arabian style on the roof top, which is located on The third floor open through out the day during the good weather :) ! You will be most welcomed to come and enjoy our morrocan tea or our speciality Chai, complimentary on the house, in the open terrace overlooking the garden , Sheikh Mohammad Mosque and St. Andrews church.
Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Aida Mansour
Owner and Manager
Cafe Arabia,
Home of Arabia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Arabia also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Cafe Arabia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing