We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carefully prepared food in a popular shop”

Jones the Grocer - Al Mamoura
Ranked #158 of 2,087 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Carefully prepared food in a popular shop”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Jones the Grocer has excellent sandwiches, salads, and soups and amazing desserts! If you love carrot cake, this is the place for you! I prefer the Jones in Khaladiya which feels cozier, but the food is just as good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HeatherEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    74
    34
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“....average oasis...”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Been here several times. A great find and a good venue to have in the neighbourhood. But it is somewhat over rated. I think the service is what lets this restaurant down. I left London three weeks Ago and was hungering for a real English Breakfast - whilst not bad, it was rather ordinary. Fish and chips were good - not great.

The interiors is crisp, trendy and v modern. I like it. The tables tho are all sticky and bad for the iPad cover. The pepper mills at the tables rarely work.
I'll return, try the burgers and pies. But this is no "great" place.

It should be called "jones the condiment shack" not grocer !!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a burger!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The wagyu beef burger is a must!!! Service good, choice excellent and the chance to taste some samples is a great touch!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Slates68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Meh....Not what it's cracked up to be.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I heard great things about this place, so you can imagine that I had high expectations.
I orderd the burger that everyone say's is supposed to be out of
this world. I do agree it was probably from some dumpster in outer space since I took one
bite and didn't finish it. The fries were good but I'm not sure how you can mess those up.
Even after telling the server I couln't eat it, the sure charged me and didn't ask me if I wanted
a substitute.

I think this is one of those expensive places people go just because it's cool.
The place was clean, the service was good but when you are a resturant, you are in the food
business. I may go again and give it a second shot and try something else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Slow, cold & average hand outs”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I tend to agree with previous reviewers. We dined last weekend and can say for sure that the service at the Jones @ Abu Dhabi is indeed slow...really slow. Same for the food, my wife's lasagna & my 'freshly' grilled chicken burger were served quite cold. One can't even blame the airconditioning since we were seated outside. Service levels were well short of expectation, the guys mixed up my order and got us 2 lasagna. This made sure I waited for more than 30 minutes for a simple chicken burger.

Not really a great eat out place, many more options available in the city.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek_Saha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jones the Grocer - Al Mamoura also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Jones the Grocer - Al Mamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing