We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing find in the middle of nowhere!”

Emirates National Auto Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.00*
and up
Emirates National Auto Museum Admission with Private Round-Trip Transfers from...
Ranked #31 of 144 things to do in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
India
Level Contributor
286 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 746 helpful votes
“Astonishing find in the middle of nowhere!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We passed the ENAM several times on our way to the Rub Al Khali desert from Abu Dhabi. From the road, you can see a huge jeep jutting out onto the highway, and a real aircraft parked in the desert behind the museum ..... it looked quite fascinating.

On our last trip, we got around to visiting the museum. It was fairly early in the morning and had not opened yet so while the watchman was getting his act together, we admired the gynomous globe - car, the mother of all caravans and an old model Mercedes stuck on bigger than truck tyres ... all in the parking lot. Another huge jeep was in the back, along with the aircraft. The aircraft is the Loch Fyne. I have no idea how it got itself stuck in the Abu Dhabi desert, but I recognised it in the Bollywood movie Hijack on TV last week!

All the above is free to see. To enter the museum hangar, you have to pay AED50. It is not really worth it unless you are an automobile enthusiast. The best vehicles are outside and can be seen for free. Inside are an assortment of bespoke vintage luxury cars. The piece de resistance is obviously the gargantuan sized Dodge pick up truck, absolutely and unashamedly larger than life. I found it a bit boring looking at the rest of the cars after a while. Men might find it more interesting I am sure.

This is fairly close to Abu Dhabi city, about a 45min drive. You can see it enroute to Hameem, Qasr Al Sarab or Liwa. The free exhibits are worth looking at once, especially the Globe, the jeep and the aircraft at the back.

A must see for auto enthusiasts.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gita-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    102
    52
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth the trip out there!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

It's hard to imagine what has been collected by the "Rainbow Sheikh". There are so many vehicles in his specially designed museum.... many of them created especially for him. Highlights include the biggest caravan in the world, an 8WD and a monster ute. I loved the mix of old vehicles and new. Costs 50AED to enter but well worth it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nellamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangute, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

If you have kid and you have time in your hand spend some time there. Kids will enjoy to giraffe feeding, zoo staffs are help full.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RajibRini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Such a gem,It's incredible!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Such a funny concept,a pyramid in the middle of the desert filled with the worlds most exotic rare and vintage automobiles!Even the road to get there is breathtaking!You do pass a workcamp and it's definitely a sight seeing them all load onto a bus but that's irrelavent...around 40 mins from Abu Dhabi where we were staying,the roads were quiet and the only sight is massive American style 18-wheelers carrying piping and other construction equipment from Saudi Arabia I assume.Amongst the dunes you spot this pyramid and you see the 1:1000000 scale of the earth if I remember correctly aswell as the worlds largest motor home!Inside it's just astonishing every car imaginable with rares and collections aswell as the gigantic truck and the walkways are designed as car lanes which I thought was cool!Couldn't see the plane as the gates were locked :(! Its a Lockheed L-1011 Tristar but theres an abandoned water tower I believe just to the right with some steps and you can see the 3rd engine (a good photo oppurtunity!).Worth the Dirhams and trip out!

Quick tip:The massive jeep appearing to be hanging over a dune beside the road is actually a shop and their ice creams are ice cold unlike the ones sold in the shop directly beside the pyramid!

Another tip:Bring your own water and lots of it because we were there in June and the humidity is something else compared to Irish heat!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keenan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good one!!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

U can spend a 3 hours here to see all the vintage cars!
There are a lot of cars! U will love it!
But the 50 dhs fees seems littile bit expensive! There is an airplane and a custom made guiness world record jeep also there!
Thn the british queens rolls royce!

Its worth if u are an automobile fan!
One time to see!!

Helpful?
Thank GeordyVarghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emirates National Auto Museum also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Emirates National Auto Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing